U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Https

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites..

J’ai demandé une aide. Et ensuite ?

Vérifiez votre demande

Vérification d’identité

Soumettez les documents

Inspection à domicile

Si vous avez une assurance, vous devez déposer une demande d'indemnisation auprès de votre compagnie d'assurance dès que vous demandez l'assistance de la FEMA. En déposant une demande de remboursement auprès de votre compagnie d'assurance dès que possible, vous contribuerez à éviter les retards dans la réception de l'aide de la FEMA. La FEMA ne peut pas aider pour les pertes déjà couvertes par l'assurance. Si votre assurance ne couvre pas toutes vos pertes ou est retardée, vous pouvez avoir droit à l'assistance de la FEMA concernant vos besoins non satisfaits.

Vous pouvez être retenu pour une inspection à domicile. En fonction de vos préférences de communication au moment de votre demande, vous recevrez soit une lettre, soit une correspondance électronique. La lettre vous expliquera si vous avez droit à une aide, le montant de l'aide que vous recevrez, la manière dont l'aide doit être utilisée et comment faire appel de la décision de la FEMA si vous n'êtes pas d'accord avec celle-ci.

Votre assistance sera déterminée en comparant les pertes essentielles et les besoins sérieux que vous avez enregistrés aux types d'assistance disponibles dans le cadre des programmes et services de la FEMA. L'assistance de la FEMA n'est pas la même que celle d'une assurance. L'aide fédérale de la FEMA ne finance que les réparations de base pour qu'un logement soit sûr, salubre et habitable. Vous pouvez être également dirigé vers l'administration américaine des petites entreprises, ou SBA, pour obtenir des prêts catastrophes à faible taux d'intérêt afin de vous aider.

Vérifiez votre demande sur DisasterAssistance.gov

Vous pouvez créer un compte en ligne sur le FEMA Disaster Assistance Center (DAC) en vous connectant à  DisasterAssistance.gov. Il vous sera demandé de créer un numéro d'identification personnel (PIN) unique pour un accès sécurisé aux informations de votre demande d'aide en cas de catastrophe.

Dans votre compte en ligne, vous pouvez:

  • Consultez les informations relatives à votre demande d'aide en cas de catastrophe
  • Fournir des mises à jour concernant vos coordonnées personnelles et vos besoins
  • Voir les lettres et messages envoyés par la FEMA
  • Voir les détails sur des documents dont la FEMA a besoin pour traiter votre demande
  • Envoyer des documents pour votre dossier
  • Vérifier les informations que vous avez envoyées à la FEMA

Vérification d’identité

Si la FEMA n'est pas en mesure de vérifier votre identité pendant la procédure de demande, vous devrez présenter des pièces justificatives.

Pièces justificatives pour la vérification de l'identité

Documentation de vérification d’identité

  • Documentation de l’administration de la Sécurité Sociale, ou autre entité fédérale, contenant votre numéro en entier ou les derniers 4 chiffres de votre numéro de Sécurité Sociale (SSN)
  • Carte de sécurité sociale si elle est envoyée avec une pièce d'identité délivrée par le gouvernement fédéral ou l'État
  • Document de paie de l'employeur contenant les quatre derniers chiffres de votre SSN
  • Document d’identification militaire
  • Certificat de mariage pour confirmer votre nom de jeune fille
  • Passeport américain

Si vous avez demandé une assistance au nom d'un mineur (enfant) citoyen américain pour votre foyer, vous devez envoyer à la FEMA ce qui suit:

L’un des documents listés à gauche, au nom de l’enfant, OU

L'extrait de naissance de l'enfant ET une copie de la carte de Sécurité Sociale de l'enfant ou un document de l'administration de la sécurité sociale ou d'une autre entité fédérale contenant les quatre derniers chiffres du numéro de sécurité sociale (SSN) de l'enfant.

Soumission de documents

Vous pouvez consulter DisasterAssistance.gov pour soumettre des documents et vérifier le statut de votre demande en ligne.

Réalisant bien qu’un système en ligne peut ne pas à lui seul répondre aux besoins des survivants, la FEMA a également mis en place des Centres de dépôt de documents où les survivants peuvent demander une aide, poser des questions, faire scanner des documents pour leur dossier et les récupérer sur place. Les centres fonctionnent selon des protocoles COVID-19 stricts. Des masques sont nécessaires et les survivants restent dans leur voiture pendant qu'un spécialiste de la FEMA répond aux questions et s'occupe des documents à remplir.

Trouver un Centre de dépôt de documents en cas de catastrophe

Vidéo: Les centres de dépôt de documents de la FEMA aident les survivants de catastrophes dans le Michigan

Regardez une vidéo (en anglais): exemple de l'un de nos centres de dépôt de documents, mis en place pour pouvoir continuer à fournir en toute sécurité des services aux demandeurs qui n'ont peut-être pas accès à Internet durant cette pandémie.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kzucjdujalk

Inspection à domicile

Après votre demande auprès de la FEMA, votre demande d'assistance est examinée afin de déterminer si une inspection de votre domicile est nécessaire pour vérifier les dommages causés par la catastrophe à votre domicile et à vos biens. Pour protéger la santé des survivants et des inspecteurs dans un environnement de COVID-19, la FEMA a commencé à effectuer des inspections à distance.

Si vous avez déclaré lors de l'enregistrement que vous avez subi des dommages minimes et que vous pouvez vivre dans votre logement, une inspection de votre domicile ne sera pas automatiquement programmée. Mais vous recevrez une lettre expliquant comment appeler le service d'assistance téléphonique de la FEMA pour demander une inspection si vous constatez des dommages importants causés par une catastrophe dans votre maison après avoir fait votre demande.

Inspections à distance

Pour les inspections à distance, les inspecteurs de la FEMA contactent les demandeurs par téléphone pour répondre aux questions sur le type et l'étendue des dommages subis.

Les inspections à distance offrent un nouveau moyen d'évaluer les dommages ; et le processus à distance accélère en fait la fourniture de l'aide aux survivants.

Téléchargez la fiche d’information d’inspection à distance.

Graphic
J’ai demandé une aide. Et ensuite ?

Informations à réunir pour votre inspection

Vous devez disposer des informations suivantes au moment de l'inspection:

  • Votre document d’identité avec photo
  • Preuve de propriété/occupation de la résidence endommagée
  • Documents d’assurance pour votre maison et/ou véhicule
  • Liste des occupants du foyer vivant au domicile au moment de la catastrophe
  • Tous les dommages causés par la catastrophe aux biens immobiliers et personnels

Les inspecteurs de la FEMA sont formés pour reconnaître les dommages causés par une catastrophe, mais ils ne décident pas si vous allez recevoir de l'aide. Ils observent et enregistrent les dommages éligibles au Programme pour individus et foyers, qui est différent des évaluations faites par les experts en assurance ou autres programmes d’assistance en cas de catastrophe, comme l'administration américaine des petites entreprises (SBA). N'oubliez pas que les inspecteurs de la FEMA n'auront pas accès physiquement à certaines zones de votre maison, comme les vides sanitaires, les greniers et les toits.

Dernière mise à jour August 31, 2021

U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Https

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites..

I Applied for Assistance. What's Next?

Review Your Application

Identity Verification

Submit Documentation

Home Inspection

If you have insurance, you should file a claim with your insurance company immediately when you apply for FEMA assistance. Filing a claim with your insurance company as soon as possible will help to prevent delays in receiving FEMA assistance. FEMA cannot aid with losses already covered by insurance. If your insurance does not cover all your losses or is delayed, you may be eligible for FEMA assistance regarding your unmet needs.

You may be scheduled for a home inspection. Based on your communication preference at the time of your application, you will receive either a letter or electronic correspondence. The letter will explain whether you are eligible for assistance, how much assistance you will receive, how the assistance must be used, and how to appeal FEMA’s decision if you do not agree with it.

Your assistance will be determined by comparing your recorded essential losses and serious needs to the types of assistance available within FEMA programs and services. FEMA assistance is not the same as insurance nor can it make the survivor whole. Federal assistance from FEMA only provides funds for the basic repairs for a home to be safe, sanitary and livable. You may also be referred to the U.S. Small Business Administration, or SBA, for low-interest disaster loans to further assist with your recovery.

Reviewing Your Application on DisasterAssistance.gov

You can create an online FEMA Disaster Assistance Center (DAC) account at DisasterAssistance.gov. You will be instructed to create a unique Personal Identification Number (PIN) for secure access to your disaster assistance application information.

Within your online account, you can:

  • Review your disaster assistance application information
  • Provide updates pertaining to your personal information and needs
  • View letters and messaging sent to you by FEMA
  • Get details on additional documents that FEMA needs to process your assistance
  • Upload documents your file
  • Review information that FEMA has received from you

Identity Verification

If FEMA is unable to verify your identity during the application process, you will be required to submit supporting documents.

Supporting Documents for Identity Verification

Documentation to verify your identity

  • Documentation from the Social Security Administration, or other federal entity, containing full or last four digits of your Social Security Number (SSN)
  • Social Security card if sent with federal or state-issued identification
  • Employer’s payroll document containing full or last four digits of your SSN
  • Military identification
  • Marriage license to confirm proof of maiden name
  • U.S. passport

If you applied for assistance on behalf of a U.S. minor (child) citizen for your household, you must send FEMA the following:

Any of the documents listed to the left, if in the child’s name OR

Child’s birth certificate AND a copy of the child’s Social Security card or documentation from the Social Security Administration, or other federal entity, containing the full or last four digits of the child’s SSN.

Submitting Documentation

You can visit DisasterAssistance.gov to submit documentation and check the status of your application online.

Realizing an online system alone may not meet the needs of survivors, FEMA also set up Documentation Drop-off Centers where survivors can apply for assistance, ask questions, have their documents scanned into their case file and returned to them on-site. The centers operate under strict COVID-19 protocols. Masks or face coverings are required for service and survivors remain in their cars while a FEMA specialist answers questions and handles paperwork.

Find a Disaster Recovery and Document Drop-off Center

Video: FEMA’s Document Drop Off Centers Assist Michigan Disaster Survivors

Watch a video to see an example of one of our document drop-off centers, which have been set up to be able to continue to safely provide services to applicants during this pandemic who may not have access to internet.

Home Inspection

After you apply with FEMA, your request for assistance is reviewed to determine if a home inspection is needed to verify disaster-caused damage to your home and property. To protect the health of survivors and inspectors in a COVID-19 environment, FEMA began conducting remote inspections.

If you reported during registration that you received minimal damage and can live in your home, you will not automatically be scheduled for a home inspection. Instead, you will receive a letter explaining how to call the FEMA Helpline to request an inspection if you find significant disaster-caused damage to your home after you applied.

Remote Inspections

For remote inspections, FEMA inspectors contact applicants by phone to answer questions about the type and extent of damage sustained.

Remote inspections provide a new way to evaluate damage; and the remote process actually expedites the delivery of recovery assistance to survivor.

Download the remote inspection fact sheet.

Graphic
What to Expect After You Apply for FEMA Assistance

Information to Gather for Your Inspection

You should have the following information ready at the time of the inspection:

  • Your photo identification
  • Proof of ownership/occupancy of damaged residence
  • Insurance documents for your home and/or auto
  • List of household occupants living in the home at the time of disaster
  • All disaster-caused damages to both real and personal property

FEMA inspectors are trained to recognize damage caused by a disaster, but they do not decide if you will receive assistance. They observe and record damage that may be eligible within the Individuals and Households Program, which is different from assessments made by insurance adjusters or other disaster assistance programs, such as the U.S. Small Business Administration. Please keep in mind that FEMA inspectors will not physically access certain areas of your home, such as crawl spaces, attics and roofs.

alert - info

If you receive a letter stating that you are ineligible for assistance or that your application is incomplete, you can still complete the application or appeal the decision within 60 days of receiving a decision letter. Learn more.

Last updated November 18, 2020