تحذير من تزايد عمليات الاحتيال بعد الكوارث!

Release Date:
أكتوبر 4, 2021

بعد وقوع أي كارثة، غالبا ما يحاول المحتالون المهرة ولصوص الهوية وغيرهم من المجرمين الاستفادة من الناجين من الكوارث. يحثّ مسؤولو إدارة الطوارئ الفيدراليون والمحليون السكان على مراقبة أي نشاط مشبوه والإبلاغ عنه.

عند وقوع كارثة، قد يحاول الأشخاص عديمو الضمير الاستفادة من الناجين من خلال التظاهر بأنهم عمال إغاثة معتمدون في حالات الكوارث أو حتى كأقارب يحاولون مساعدة الناجين في إكمال طلباتهم.

تشمل ممارسات الاحتيال الشائعة بعد وقوع الكارثة ما يلي:

العروض الوهمية للمساعدات الحكومية أو الفيدرالية: لا يطلب العاملون الفيدراليون وموظفو الولاية الأموال ولا يقبلونها. ولا يفرض موظفو الإدارة الفيدرالية لإدارة الطوارئ – فيما (FEMA) وإدارة الأعمال الصغيرة الأمريكية (SBA) مطلقا أي رسوم على المتقدمين للمساعدة في حالات الكوارث أو عمليات التفتيش أو المساعدة في استكمال الطلبات.

مفتشو الممتلكات الزائفة: عند وقع الكارثة، قد يقع المتقدمون بطلبات المساعدة عرضة لمن يدعون زيفا أنهم مفتشو إسكان، يمثلون FEMA لفحص الضرر. اطلب رؤية شارة هوية المفتش. جميع موظفي وكالة إدارة الطوارئ الفيدرالية (FEMA) والمقاولين لديهم بطاقة هوية رسمية مصفحة تحمل صورة. مفتشو الإسكان لديهم رقم التسجيل الخاص بمقدم الطلب لدى FEMA والمكون من تسعة أرقام. قد يستخدم المفتشون الميدانيون أنواعًا مختلفة من طرق الاتصال للاتصال بالمتقدمين. يمكن للمفتشين الاتصال من الهواتف التي تصدرها الحكومة أو الهواتف المحمولة الشخصية، وهكذا فقد يتلقى المتقدمون مكالمات من رموز منطقة مختلفة. كما يمكن للمفتشين أيضا الوصول عن طريق الرسائل النصية ورسائل البريد الإلكتروني، باستخدام معلومات الاتصال التي يقدمها مقدمو الطلبات في طلب FEMA الخاص بهم. لكن المفتشين لا يطلبون أي أموال لإتمام عملية التفتيش.

قد تكون هناك مناسبات، يقوم فيها ممثل FEMA بالاتصال بك للتحقق من البيانات الشخصية. يجب عليك طلب رقم تعريف FEMA. إذا لم تكن متأكدا من هوية المتصل أو كنت تشكّ فيمن يقول إنه مفتش سكن أرسلته FEMA، فاتصل بالخط الساخن لـ FEMA على الرقم 800-621-3362  أو (TTY 800-462-7585) من 7:00 صباحا إلى 11:00 مساء بالتوقيت الشرقي للولايات المتحدة. ويمكن للعاملين توصيلك بأخصائي يتحدث لغتك. إذا كنت تستخدم خدمة ترحيل مثل خدمة ترحيل الفيديو أو خدمة الهاتف المكتوبة أو غيرها، فامنح FEMA رقم تلك الخدمة.

العاملون الحكوميون المزيفون: قد يتم الاتصال بك من قبل محتالين مهرة يتظاهرون بأنهم من عمال الكوارث الذين يسعون للحصول على المال مقابل الخدمات. لا يطلب عمال الكوارث الفيدراليون والولائيون والمحليون المال أو يقبلونه. ولا يعد موظفو الكوارث الفيدرالية بتقديم منحة كارثة إلى أي أحد.

الجمعيات الخيرية الاحتيالية: تتوفر قائمة بالمؤسسات الخيرية ذات السمعة الطيبة والمعتمدة من قبل تحالف Wise Giving التابع لـ Better Business Bureau على موقع Give.Org. يستغلّ المجرمون الناجين من الكوارث عن طريق إرسال اتصالات احتيالية عبر البريد الإلكتروني أو وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي حتى ومن خلال إنشاء مواقع إلكترونية زائفة مصممة لطلب المساهمات.

  • لمزيد من المعلومات حول تجنب عمليات الاحتيال على العطاء الخيري، يرجى زيارة موقع https://go.usa.gov/xM5Rn 

العطاءات الخيرية الاحتيالية: تتوفر قائمة بالمؤسسات الخيرية ذات السمعة الطيبة التي تمت الموافقة عليها من قبل منظمة Better Business Bureau's Wise Giving Alliance على موقع Give.org. يستغل المجرمون الناجين من خلال إرسال اتصالات احتيالية عبر البريد الإلكتروني أو وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ومن خلال إنشاء مواقع ويب زائفة مصممة لطلب المساهمات.

ينصح التحالف بأن "لا ترد على رسائل البريد الإلكتروني غير المرغوب فيها. احترس من المسوقين عبر الهاتف المندفعين والجمعيات الخيرية المزيفة التي تبدو حقيقية باستخدام أسماء شبيهة بأسماء جمعيات حقيقية." لمزيد من المعلومات حول تجنب عمليات الاحتيال على العطاء الخيري، يرجى زيارة موقع الويب الخاص بلجنة التجارة الفيدرالية "تنبيهات الاحتيال"على الرابط التالي: https://go.usa.gov/xM5Rn.

عمليات الاحتيال في قوائم الإيجار: لدى لجنة التجارة الفيدرالية معلومات حول كيفية عمل عمليات الاحتيال في قوائم الإيجارات. على سبيل المثال، يعرف المحتالون أن العثور على شقة مناسبة أو استئجار عطلة يمكن أن يكون عملاً شاقاً، فيقدمون لك عرضا بصفقة يصعب تفويتها. تعرف على المزيد في موقع الإيجارات الخادعة.

احذر من المقاولين غير المرخص لهم أو المؤمن عليهم: في كثير من الأحيان بعد وقوع الكارثة، يتقدم بعض الأشخاص لك بصفتهم مقاولين مسجلين. اسأل عن أعمالهم السابقة واطلب أرقام زبائنهم السابقين، وكن حذرًا بشأن المدفوعات المتقدمة، وتأكد من أنهم مرخصون فعلا ولديهم التصاريح المناسبة. قبل استئجار أي مقاول لتصليح المنزل، تحقق مما إذا كان المقاول مرخصًا ومسجلًا في مقاطعتك:

إذا علمت بحالة احتيال أو هدر أو إساءة الاستخدام، يمكنك الإبلاغ عن هذه الحالات، على مدار 24 ساعة في اليوم، وسبعة أيام في الأسبوع، على الخط الساخن للتبليغ عن التزوير الكوارث في FEMA على الرقم 866-720-5721 1 أو إرسال بريد إلكتروني إلى Disaster@leo.gov.

إذا كنت تعتقد أنك أو أحد أفراد أسرتك قد أصبح ضحية لعملية احتيال أو سرقة هوية، فأبلغ عن ذلك على الفور إلى الشرطة المحلية أو قسم العمدة (الشريف)، أو اتصل بمكتب المدعي العام لولاية نيويورك:

للإحالة إلى الوكالات التي تدعم الاحتياجات الخاصة بالمجتمع، اتصل بالرقم 211 أو قم بزيارة https://www.211nys.org/contact-us. لسكان مدينة نيويورك، اتصل على 311.

للحصول على معلومات رسمية حول جهود التعافي، قم بزيارة www.fema.gov/disaster/4615 أو تابعنا على Twitter على twitter.com/femaregion2 وعلى فيسبوك على www.facebook.com/fema.

.

Tags:
آخر تحديث أكتوبر 6, 2021

U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Https

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites..

Beware of Fraud and Scam Artists

Release Date:
October 4, 2021

After a disaster, scam artists, identity thieves and other criminals often attempt to take advantage of disaster survivors. Federal and state emergency management officials urge residents to watch for and report any suspicious activity.

Unscrupulous people may try to take advantage of vulnerable survivors by posing as official disaster-aid workers or even as relatives trying to help survivors complete their applications.

Common post-disaster fraud practices include

Fake offers of state or federal aid

Federal and state workers do not solicit or accept money. FEMA and the U.S. Small Business Administration personnel never charge applicants for disaster assistance, inspections or help in completing applications.

Phony housing inspectors

When a disaster occurs, applicants may be vulnerable to phony housing inspectors claiming to represent FEMA to inspect damage. Ask to see the inspector’s identification badge. All FEMA personnel and contractors will have official laminated photo identification. Housing inspectors have every applicant’s nine-digit FEMA registration number. Field inspectors may use different types of communication methods to contact applicants. Inspectors may call from government-issued phones or personal cell phones so applicants may receive calls from different area codes. Inspectors can also reach out by text messages and emails, using contact information applicants provide in their FEMA application. But inspectors never request money to complete an inspection.

There may be occasions when a FEMA representative must contact you to verify personal data. You should request a FEMA identification number. If you are unsure of the caller’s identity or you are suspicious of someone who says he or she is a housing inspector sent by FEMA, call the FEMA Helpline at 800-621-3362 (711/VRS). Lines are open from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. seven days a week, and operators can connect you to a specialist who speaks your language. If you use a relay service such as video relay service, captioned telephone service or others, give FEMA the number for that service.

Phony government workers

You may be contacted by scam artists posing as disaster workers who are seeking money for services. Federal, state and local disaster workers do not solicit or accept money. Nor will federal disaster employees promise a disaster grant.

Fraudulent charitable solicitations

A list of reputable charities that are approved by the Better Business Bureau’s Wise Giving Alliance is available at Give.org. Criminals exploit survivors by sending fraudulent communications through email or social media and by creating phony websites designed to solicit contributions.

The Alliance advises: “Do not respond to unsolicited emails. Watch out for pushy telemarketers and fake charities that sound real by using similar names.” For more information about avoiding charitable giving scams, visit the Federal Trade Commission’s website at Scam Alerts.

Rental listing scams

The Federal Trade Commission has information on how rental-listing scams work. For instance, scammers know that finding the right apartment or vacation rental can be hard work, and a seemingly good deal is hard to pass up. Learn more at Rental Listing Scams.

Beware of unlicensed/uninsured contractors

Often after a disaster, individuals will represent themselves as legitimate contractors. Ask for references, be cautious about advanced payments, and make sure they are licensed and obtain the proper permits. Before you hire a home-improvement contractor, check whether the contractor is licensed or registered in your county:

If you have knowledge of fraud, waste or abuse, you can report these tips -- 24 hours a day, seven days a week – to the FEMA Disaster Fraud Hotline at 866-720-5721 or email Disaster@leo.gov.

If you believe you or a loved one has become a victim of a scam or identity theft, report it immediately to your local police or sheriff’s department, or contact the office of the New York state Attorney General:

For referrals to agencies that support community-specific needs, call 211 or visit https://www.211nys.org/contact-us. For New York City residents, call 311.

For the latest on New York’s Hurricane Ida recovery efforts, visit fema.gov/disaster/4615. Follow us on Twitter at twitter.com/femaregion2 and facebook.com/fema.

Tags:
Last updated November 29, 2021