alert - warning

This page has not been translated into Español. Visit the Español page for resources in that language.

Advisory Committees

Interagency Committee on Dam Safety

National Dam Safety Review Board

This page describes the Interagency Committee on Dam Safety (ICODS) and the National Dam Safety Review Board (Review Board), including members lists for these two groups.

Interagency Committee on Dam Safety

The Interagency Committee on Dams Safety (ICODS) was founded in 1980 to encourage the establishment and maintenance of effective federal programs and policies, and guidelines to enhance dam safety and security. The committee serves as the permanent forum for the coordination of federal activities in dam safety and security. FEMA also chairs the committee.

This committee was founded in 1980 to encourage the establishment and maintenance of effective federal programs, policies and guidelines to enhance dam safety and security. The committee serves as the permanent forum for the coordination of federal activities in dam safety and security. FEMA also chairs this committee.

Interagency Committee on Dam Safety Members

Kayed Lakhia – Acting Chair
kayed.lakhia@fema.dhs.gov
Director, FEMA National Dam Safety Program
Federal Insurance and Mitigation Administration

Jacob Davis
jacob.davis@usace.army.mil
Dam Safety Program Manager
U.S. Army Corp of Engineers

David Capka
david.capka@ferc.gov
Deputy Director, Division of Dam Safety and Inspections
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

Kenneth R. See
kenneth.see@nrc.gov
Senior Hydrologist/NRC Dam Safety Officer
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

Jennifer L. Dodd, PE
jldodd@tva.gov
GM, River Operations – Dam Safety
Tennessee Valley Authority

Maurice B. Haygood
maurice.haygood@hq.doe.gov
Safety Engineer
Department of Energy - Office of Worker Safety and Health Policy

Kevin Farmer
kevin.farmer@wdc.usda.gov
Acting Director
Engineering Division ‑ USDA/NRCS

Craig Dufficy
Dufficy.Craig@epa.gov
Environmental Protection Agency, Office of Land and Emergency Management

Robert Pike
rpike@usbr.gov
Chief-Dam Safety Officer
U.S. Bureau of Reclamation

Xochitil Aranda
xochitil.aranda@ibwc.gov
U.S. Section, International Boundary and Water Commission

Eric Gottheld
Gottheld.eric@dol.gov
DOL - Mine Safety and Health Administration (MSHA)

Kelly Brom
kelly.brom@usda.gov
Eastern Region Dams Program Manager
U.S. Forest Service

Richard (Ed) Everaert
reveraert@blm.gov  
Dam Safety Officer
Bureau of Land Management

VACANT
National Weather Service, NOAA, DOC

Michelle Yezierski
michelle.yezierski@cisa.dhs.gov
Chief, Critical Lifelines Branch
Sector Outreach and Programs Division
Office of Infrastructure Protection

Matthew Young, PE, CFM
Matthew.Young@bia.gov
Safety of Dams Engineer; Inspection & Risk Analysis
U.S. Bureau of Indian Affairs

National Dam Safety Review Board

The Review Board advises FEMA’s Administrator in setting national dam safety priorities and considers the effects of national policy issues affecting dam safety. Review Board members include FEMA, the Chair of the Board and representatives from four federal agencies (U.S. Departments of Agriculture, Commerce, Homeland Security, and Interior) that serve on ICODS, five state dam safety officials, and one member from the private sector.

The Review Board advises FEMA’s Administrator in setting national dam safety priorities and considers the effects of national policy issues affecting dam safety. Review Board members include FEMA, the Chair of the Board and representatives from four federal agencies that serve on the Interagency Committee on Dam Safety (ICODS), five state dam safety officials and one member from the private sector.

National Dam Safety Review Board Members

Kayed Lakhia – Acting Chair
kayed.lakhia@fema.dhs.gov Director, FEMA National Dam Safety Program Federal Insurance and Mitigation Administration

David E. Capka
david.capka@ferc.gov
Deputy Director, Division of Dam Safety and Inspections
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

Jacob Davis
Jacob.Davis@usace.army.mil
Safety Program Manager 
USACE

Kevin Farmer
Acting Director, Engineering Division
kevin.farmer@usda.gov
USDA/NRCS

Robert (Bob) Pike 
Chief, Dam Safety Office
U.S. Bureau of Reclamation
rpike@usbr.gov

Ariya Balakrishnan, Ph.D., P.E., G.E. -State Rep
Division of Safety of Dams
Ariya.Balakrishnan@water.ca.gov

Wendy C. Howard Cooper-State Rep
Director, Dam Safety and Floodplain Management
wendy.howard-cooper@dcr.virginia.gov

Yohanes Sugeng- State Rep
Engineering Manager, Planning & Management Division
Oklahoma Water Resources Board
yohanes.sugeng@owrb.ok.gov

Lucas A. Trumble, P.E.- -State Rep
Michigan Water Resources Division, EGLE
trumblel@michigan.gov

John S. Wolfhope
United States Society on Dams
jsw@freese.com

William Sturtevant
Dam Safety Engineer Colorado Springs Utilities
bsturtevant@csu.org

Jose Lara, CPP
Dam Safety Planning Division
California Governor's Office of Emergency Services (CalOES)
jose.lara@caloes.ca.gov

Kyle Burke Pfeiffer
Director, National Preparedness Analytics Center
Argonne National Laboratory
kpfeiffer@anl.gov

Meg Galloway
Association of State Floodplain Managers
meg@floods.org

National Dam Safety Review Board Workgroup Chairs

Sherry Hunt (Federal)
sherry.hunt@ars.usda.gov
Research Leader; Agricultural Research Service
United States Department of Agriculture

Michele Lemieux (Non-Federal Co-Chair)
mlemieux@mt.gov
Section Supervisor
MT Dept. of Natural Resources & Conservation

Steve Hocking (Chair – Public Safety)
Steve.hocking@ferc.gov
FERC, Chief Environmental and Project Review Branch

Rebecca Ragon (Chair-NID)
rebecca.ragon@usace.army.mil
National Inventory of Dams; U.S. Army Geospatial Center
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Jason Sheeley (Federal Co-Chair – EAP)
jason.t.sheeley@usace.army.mil
Chief, Mapping Branch, MMC Production Center
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Preston Wilson (Chair – Training)
preston.wilson@fema.dhs.gov
Technical and Policy Advisor
National Dam Safety Program
Federal Emergency Management Agency

Joanne Brandani (Non-Federal Co-Chair)
joanne.brandani@caloes.ca.gov
Chief, Dam Safety Planning Division

Steve Hocking (Chair Public Safety)
Steve.hocking@ferc.gov
FERC, Chief Environmental and Project Review Branch

Rebecca Ragon (Chair-NID)
rebecca.ragon@usace.army.mil
National Inventory of Dams; U.S. Army Geospatial Center
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers