U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.

Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on a federal government site.

Https

The site is secure.

The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Advisory Committees

Interagency Committee of Dams

National Dam Safety Review Board

This page describes the Interagency Committee on Dam Safety (ICODS) and the National Dam Safety Review Board (Review Board), including members lists for these two groups.

Interagency Committee of Dams

The Interagency Committee of Dams (ICODS) was founded in 1980 to encourage the establishment and maintenance of effective federal programs and policies, and guidelines to enhance dam safety and security. ICODS serves as the permanent forum for the coordination of federal activities in dam safety and security. FEMA also chairs ICODS.

This committee was founded in 1980 to encourage the establishment and maintenance of effective federal programs, policies and guidelines to enhance dam safety and security. The Interagency Committee on Dam Safety (ICODS) serves as the permanent forum for the coordination of federal activities in dam safety and security. FEMA also chairs this committee.

Interagency Committee of Dams Members

Edward Laatsch – Acting Chair
edward.laatsch@fema.dhs.gov
Planning, Safety and Building Sciences Division Director
Federal Emergency Management Agency

Jacob Davis
jacob.davis@usace.army.mil
Dam Safety Program Manager
U.S. Army Corp of Engineers

David Capka
david.capka@ferc.gov
Deputy Director, Division of Dam Safety and Inspections
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

Jennifer L. Dodd, PE
jldodd@tva.gov
GM, River Operations – Dam Safety
Tennessee Valley Authority

Craig Dufficy
Dufficy.Craig@epa.gov
Environmental Protection Agency

Noller Herbert
noller.herbert@wdc.usda.gov
Director of Engineering
U.S. Department of Agriculture/Natural Resources Conservation Service

Cliff Munson
clifford.munson@nrc.gov
Dam Safety Officer
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

Maurice B. Haygood
maurice.haygood@hq.doe.gov
Safety Engineer
Department of Energy

Robert (Bob) Pike
rpike@usbr.gov
Chief, Dam Safety Office
U.S. Bureau of Reclamation

Stanley J. Michalek
michalek.stanley@dol.gov
Dam Safety Officer
U.S Department of Labor

Victor Hom
victor.hom@noaa.gov
Program Services Leader
National Weather Service

Lorena Soriano
Lorena.Soriano@ibwc.gov
Civil Engineer
U.S. Section, International Boundary and Water Commission

FEMA Staff - Interagency Committee of Dams

Edward Laatsch – Acting Chair
edward.laatsch@fema.dhs.gov
Planning, Safety and Building Sciences Division Director

Alfred “Wade” Boykin
alfred.boykin@fema.dhs.gov
Mitigation Division

James E. Demby, Jr.
james.demby@fema.dhs.gov
Assessment and Planning Section Branch; Risk Analysis Division

Gokhan Inci
gokhan.inci@fema.dhs.gov
Assessment and Planning Section Branch; Risk Analysis Division

Kathleen Smith
kathleen.smith2@fema.dhs.gov
Planning, Safety and Building Sciences Division

Preston Wilson
preston.wilson@fema.dhs.gov
National Dam Safety Program

National Dam Safety Review Board

The Review Board advises FEMA’s Administrator in setting national dam safety priorities and considers the effects of national policy issues affecting dam safety. Review Board members include FEMA, the Chair of the Board and representatives from four federal agencies (U.S. Departments of Agriculture, Commerce, Homeland Security, and Interior) that serve on ICODS, five state dam safety officials, and one member from the private sector.

The Review Board advises FEMA’s Administrator in setting national dam safety priorities and considers the effects of national policy issues affecting dam safety. Review Board members include FEMA, the Chair of the Board and representatives from four federal agencies that serve on the Interagency Committee on Dam Safety (ICODS), five state dam safety officials and one member from the private sector.

National Dam Safety Review Board Members

Edward Laatsch – Acting Chair
edward.laatsch@fema.dhs.gov
Planning, Safety and Building Sciences Division Director
Federal Emergency Management Agency

Brian Becker
bbecker@usbr.gov
Senior Advisor; Design, Estimates, Construction; Dam Safety Officer
U.S. Bureau of Reclamation

John Bianco
john.p.bianco@usace.army.mil
Special Assistant for Dam and Levee Safety; Engineering and Construction
U.S. Army Corp of Engineers

David E. Capka
david.capka@ferc.gov
Deputy Director, Division of Dam Safety and Inspections
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

David Marble
davemarble@utah.gov
Assistant State Engineer, Dam Safety
Utah Division of Water Rights

Noller Herbert
noller.herbert@wdc.usda.gov
Director of Engineering; Engineering Division
USDA/Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS)

Nicole Kennedy
nicolekennedy@fs.fed.us
National Dams Program Manager
U.S. Forest Service

Michele Lemieux
mlemieux@mt.gov
Section Supervisor
Montana Department of Natural Resources and Conservation

Yohanes Sugeng
yohanes.sugeng@owrb.ok.gov
Engineering Manager, Planning and Management Division
Oklahoma Water Resources Board

Jim Gallagher
james.gallagher@des.nh.gov
Chief Engineer
New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services

Wendy Howard Cooper
wendy.howard-cooper@dcr.virginia.gov
Director Dam Safety and Floodplain Management
VA Department of Conservation and Recreation

John S. Wolfhope
jsw@freese.com
Central Division Manager; Freese and Nichols, Inc.
United States Society on Dams

National Dam Safety Review Board Workgroup Chairs

Michele Lemieux (Non-Federal)
mlemieux@mt.gov
Section Supervisor
Montana Department of Natural Resources and Conservation

Sherry Hunt (Federal)
sherry.hunt@ars.usda.gov
Research Leader; Agricultural Research Service
United States Department of Agriculture

Jose Lara (Non-Federal)
jose.lara@caloes.ca.gov
Dam Safety Planning Division
California Governor's Office of Emergency Services (CalOES)

David Capka (Federal Co-Chair)
david.capka@ferc.gov
Deputy Director, Division of Dam Safety and Inspections,
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

Rebecca Ragon (Chair-NID)
rebecca.ragon@usace.army.mil
National Inventory of Dams; U.S. Army Geospatial Center
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Paul Shannon (Chair – Communications and Outreach)
paul.shannon@ferc.gov
Branch Chief; Division of Dam Safety and Inspections
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

Jason Sheeley (Federal Co-Chair – EAP)
jason.t.sheeley@usace.army.mil
Chief, Mapping Branch, MMC Production Center
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Erin Williams (Chair – Training)
erin.williams@ferc.gov
Civil Engineer
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

Last updated Aug 2, 2020

Would you like to take a brief survey regarding your experience with fema.gov?