庇护所支持

为撤离者和灾害幸存者在失去住所期间提供安全、卫生和有保障的居住场所需要多个机构和组织的合作与协调。

如果发生自然或人为灾害,州、地方、部落和领地(SLTT)政府可以在发布总统宣布的紧急状态或重大灾害声明,授权采取公共援助紧急保护措施后,提出庇护支持服务请求。FEMA群众护理和紧急援助部署设备、材料、物资和人员,支持受灾管辖区在聚集和非聚集设施中提供维持生命的服务,为失去住所的幸存者提供安全和卫生的环境。群众护理和紧急援助还协调对就地庇护的幸存者、残疾人和其他有出入和功能需要、饮食限制、家庭宠物和服务性动物的支持,并且在某些情况下,可能会被要求协助在当地进行常规庇护活动。为医疗庇护所的幸存者提供支持。

残疾人和其他有出入和功能需求的人将被安置在普通人群庇护所中。如果需要,群众护理和紧急援助可以提供耐用医疗设备、消耗性医疗用品、个人援助服务等,以便在聚集庇护所提供基本水平的护理,确保只有有紧急医疗需求的幸存者才会被转介到医疗庇护所。FEMA可以通过内部能力、向其他联邦机构分配任务和/或合同能力来提供所需的资源。

授权

《罗伯特·T·斯塔福德救灾和紧急援助法》(斯塔福德法)第309、402、403、502、611和613条、公法 93-288,经 42 USC§§5152、5170a、5170b 修订和编纂、5192、5196和5196b

FEMA群众护理和紧急援助职责 灾害发生前以及响应和恢复阶段

发生前

  • 为开发多机构庇护模板提供技术援助;联邦、州、部落和地区的应急准备计划;培训教材;练习;以及其他工具来加强和提高国家支持庇护活动的能力。
  • 将国家能力扩展到传统的大众护理/紧急援助庇护所提供者之外,以满足联邦机构间运营规划(FIOP) – 响应指标。
  • 协调对就地庇护的残障人士、通道和功能需求、饮食限制以及家庭宠物或服务性动物的幸存者的支持,并根据要求为医疗庇护所的幸存者提供支持。
  • 为整个社区庇护所提供者提供培训。
  • 分析最佳实践和经验教训并将其纳入准备活动中,包括提醒庇护所经营者,服务性动物可以进入普通人群庇护所,并且不应与其饲养员分开。
  • 与各个实体制定协议,为救灾活动期间的庇护提供资源、计划和服务。
  • 为建立州/地区/部落庇护工作队提供技术援助。
  • 为实施FEMA数据系统提供技术援助,包括国家庇护所系统,该系统通过大规模护理和紧急援助规划、数据分析以及绘图和报告为州、部落和领地(STT)政府提供支持。
  • 向FEMA内部合作伙伴提供主题专业知识,包括响应、恢复、后勤和国家备灾局、公共援助部门、残疾人融合和协调办公室以及国家处理服务中心。

反应和恢复

  • 与其他联邦机构、STT政府、非政府组织(NGO) 和其他合作伙伴协调,分析和验证庇护所对人力和物力资源、计划和服务的需求。
  • 协助STT政府实施协调一致的综合庇护任务,满足撤离人员和幸存者因灾害造成的需求。
  • 促进协调和准备,支持制定满足庇护所人口需求的创新计划。
  • 在FEMA的国家响应协调中心(NRCC)、区域响应协调中心(RRCC)、联合外地办事处(JFO)、初始运营设施(IOF)、STT应急运营中心(EOC)和其他领域提供主题专业知识/技术援助设置。
  • 根据要求监控、分析、验证和支持STT要求,为庇护所居民提供安全、卫生和有保障的环境。
  • 确定资源需求、短缺和限制因素。
  • 通过确保遵循获取资源的顺序来促进请求的满足。
  • 通过FEMA后勤管理局提供资源支持,包括设备、材料、用品和设施、耐储存食品、水、婴儿床、毯子、耐用医疗设备(DME)、消耗性医疗用品(CMS)和人员,以支持STT庇护行动。
  • 通过激活预先商定的一揽子采购协议(BPA)的食物和食品供应、DME、CMS、常用庇护物品(CUSI)和其他物品的无限期交付、不定数量(IDIQ)合同,向STT政府提供撤离人员和幸存者支持需要的商品。
  • 在灾害期间,当庇护所运营需求超出国家响应框架紧急支持职能(ESF)#6附件中概述的STT政府能力时,支持STT政府。
  • 提供必要的工具和资源,以制定综合战略和流程,由FEMA联合外地办事处(JFO) 和STT政府协调员实施协调的庇护行动,以开展大规模护理活动,限制重复工作,并最大限度地利用任何STT内的资源已请求联邦援助的政府。
  • 为STT的庇护所工作组、多机构庇护过渡小组或其他团队提供工作人员支持,这些团队就庇护所管理人员的不足和可能超出其专业领域的其他问题(例如,功能和通道需求支持和美国人)提供建议和协助符合《残疾人法》)。请参阅Nationalmasscarestrategy.org了解更多信息。
  • 为FEMA工作人员进入集体护理设施提供便利,以协助登记灾害幸存者以获得联邦灾害援助。
  • 为 ESF #6支持系统提供技术援助,该系统可以通过集体护理计划、数据分析、绘图和报告来支持STT。
  • 为庇护所信息的收集提供支持,包括数据输入(根据要求)。
  • 向其他联邦机构分配任务,包括: 美国志愿队提供志愿者,以增强聚集护理点的分配和其他业务人员配置需求;美国卫生与公众服务部(HHS)为庇护所评估小组工作人员提供支持;美国农业部(USDA)在家庭宠物、服务性动物和支持性动物活动方面提供主题专业知识和技术援助;美国陆军工程兵团(USACE)提供人力和物力资源,例如设施检查小组。
  • 大多数庇护支持都是在聚集环境中进行的。然而,FEMA可能会向非聚集性庇护所提供支持,例如当聚集性庇护所不足以维持现有的庇护所需求时(例如,庇护所运营商和其他合作伙伴预计他们将无法维持聚集性庇护所的运营)。
    • FEMA的过渡性庇护所援助(TSA)是一种短期非聚集性庇护所援助,旨在为在灾前主要住所以外的紧急庇护所地点庇护的失去住所的灾害幸存者提供帮助。
  • 根据需要激活个人援助支持合同(IASC),该合同提供广泛的集体和非集体护理管理和支持资源。IASC通常被认为是最后的选择。

实施的触发因素

在总统宣布的灾害期间,大多数群众护理和紧急援助都是直接联邦援助,根据重大灾害或紧急声明的《斯塔福德法案》第403(a)(3)(B)条(通常称为B类)提供资金,联邦援助份额应不少于合格费用的75%。

工具和资源

 

Tags:
最近更新时间

Sheltering Support

Providing a safe, sanitary, and secure place for evacuees and disaster survivors to stay while displaced from their homes requires the cooperation and coordination of multiple agencies and organizations.

In the event of a natural or human-caused disaster, state, local, tribal, and territorial (SLTT) governments can initiate a request for sheltering support services after the issuance of a Presidentially declared emergency or major disaster declaration authorizing Public Assistance emergency protective measures. FEMA Mass Care and Emergency Assistance deploys equipment, materials, supplies, and personnel to support disaster-affected jurisdictions in providing life-sustaining services in congregate and non-congregate facilities that provide a secure and sanitary environment for displaced survivors. Mass Care and Emergency Assistance also coordinates support to survivors sheltering in place, people with disabilities and others with access and functional needs, dietary restrictions, household pets, and service animals, and in some instances, may be requested to assist with routine sheltering activities in support of survivors at medical shelters.

People with disabilities and others with access and functional needs are to be accommodated in general population shelters. If requested, Mass Care and Emergency Assistance can assist with durable medical equipment, consumable medical supplies, personal assistance services, etc. to provide a basic level of care in congregate shelters ensuring that only survivors with acute medical needs are referred to medical shelters. FEMA can provide needed resources through in-house capabilities, mission assignments to other federal agencies, and/or contract capabilities.

Authorities

Sections 309, 402, 403, 502, 611, and 613 of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act (Stafford Act), Public Law 93-288, as amended and codified at 42 U.S.C. §§ 5152, 5170a, 5170b, 5192, 5196, and 5196b

FEMA Mass Care and Emergency Assistance Responsibilities Pre-Incident and During Response and Recovery Phases of Disasters

Pre-Incident

  • Provide technical assistance for the development of multi-agency sheltering templates; federal, state, tribal, and territorial emergency preparedness plans; training materials; exercises; and other tools to strengthen and enhance the nation’s capacity to support sheltering activities.
  • Expand national capabilities beyond the traditional mass care/emergency assistance shelter providers to meet Federal Interagency Operational Planning (FIOP) – Response metrics.
  • Coordinate support for survivors sheltering in place with disabilities, access and functional needs, dietary restrictions, and household pets or service animals, as well as providing support for survivors in medical shelters, when requested.
  • Provide training to whole community shelter providers.
  • Analyze and incorporate best practices and lessons learned into preparedness activities, including reminding shelter operators that service animals are permitted in general population shelters and should not be separated from their handlers.
  • Develop agreements with various entities to provide resources, programs, and services for sheltering during disaster response activities.
  • Provide technical assistance for the establishment of state/territorial/tribal sheltering task forces.
  • Provide technical assistance for implementation of FEMA data systems, including the National Shelter System, which supports state, tribal, and territorial (STT) governments with mass care and emergency assistance planning, data analysis, and mapping and reporting.
  • Provide subject matter expertise to internal FEMA partners, including Response, Recovery, Logistics and National Preparedness Directorates, Public Assistance Division, Office of Disability Integration and Coordination, and the National Processing Service Centers.

Response and Recovery 

  • Coordinate with other federal agencies, STT governments, non-governmental organizations (NGOs), and other partners to analyze and validate the need for human and material resources, programs, and services for sheltering.
  • Assist STT governments in the implementation of a coordinated and integrated sheltering mission that meets the disaster-caused needs of evacuees and survivors.
  • Promote coordination and preparedness to support the creation of innovative programs that are responsive to the needs of the shelter population.
  • Provide subject matter expertise/technical assistance in FEMA’s National Response Coordination Center (NRCC), Regional Response Coordination Centers (RRCC), joint field offices (JFO), initial operating facility (IOF), STT emergency operations centers (EOC), and other field settings.
  • Monitor, analyze, validate, and support STT requirements, as requested, to provide a safe, sanitary, and secure environment for shelter residents.
  • Identify resource requirements, shortfalls, and limiting factors. 
  • Facilitate the fulfillment of requests by ensuring that the sequence for obtaining resources is followed.
  • Provide resource support through the FEMA Logistics Management Directorate, including equipment, material, supplies, and facilities, shelf-stable meals, water, cots, blankets, durable medical equipment (DME), consumable medical supplies (CMS), and personnel, to support STT sheltering operations.
  • Provide evacuee and survivor support to STT governments through the activation of pre-negotiated blanket purchase agreements (BPAs) and indefinite delivery indefinite quantity (IDIQ) contracts for food and food supplies, DME, CMS, commonly used shelter items (CUSI), and other needed commodities.
  • Support STT governments during a disaster when sheltering operation needs exceed STT government capabilities as outlined in the National Response Framework Emergency Support Function (ESF) #6 Annex.
  • Provide the necessary tools and resources to develop an integrated strategy and process for implementing coordinated sheltering operations by the FEMA joint field office (JFO) and the STT government coordinator for carrying out mass care activities, limiting duplication of efforts, and maximizing resources within any STT government that has requested federal assistance.
  • Provide staff support to the STT for sheltering task forces, Multi-agency Sheltering Transition Teams, or other teams that advise and assist shelter managers with shortfalls and other concerns that may fall outside their area of expertise (e.g., functional and access needs support and Americans with Disabilities Act compliance). See nationalmasscarestrategy.org for more information.
  • Facilitate FEMA staff’s access to congregate care facilities to assist in the registration of disaster survivors for federal disaster assistance.
  • Provide technical assistance for the ESF #6 Support System, which can support the STT with congregate care planning, data analysis, mapping, and reporting.
  • Provide support for the collection of shelter information, including data entry (upon request).
  • Mission assignments to other federal agencies, including: AmeriCorps to provide volunteers to augment congregate care points of distribution and other operational staffing requirements; U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) for shelter assessment team staff support; U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) for subject matter expertise and technical assistance on household pets, service animals, and support animal activities; and U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) for human and material resources, such as facility inspection teams.
  • Most sheltering support takes place in a congregate setting. However, FEMA may provide support to non-congregate shelters, such as when congregate shelters are inadequate to sustain existing shelter needs (e.g., shelter operators and other partners project they will be unable to sustain congregate shelter operations).  
    • FEMA’s Transitional Sheltering Assistance (TSA) is one type of short-term non-congregate sheltering assistance for displaced disaster survivors taking refuge in emergency shelter locations other than their pre-disaster primary residence. 
  • Activate Individual Assistance Support Contracts (IASC), as needed, which provide a broad range of congregate and non-congregate care management and support resources. IASC is generally considered a last option.

Triggers for Implementation

During Presidentially declared disasters, most Mass Care and Emergency Assistance is Direct Federal Assistance, which is funded under the Stafford Act Section 403 (a)(3)(B) (commonly referred to as Category B) of a major disaster or emergency declaration, and the federal share of assistance shall be not less than 75 percent of eligible cost.

Tools and Resources

 

Tags:
Last updated