Kentucky Severe Storms, Tornadoes, and Flooding (DR-1976)

Updates and Articles, Blogs, and News Releases

May 21, 2011
News Release
FRANKFORT, Ky. -- Kentucky residents should be alert for individuals trying to scam those seeking assistance following the recent severe storms and flooding. Unfortunately, after a disaster, some individuals try and take advantage of people looking for help, trying to gather personal information or to collect payment for disaster assistance.
May 20, 2011
News Release
FRANKFORT, Ky.  — Homeowners, renters and businesses in eleven Kentucky counties who suffered damages in the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding on April 22, 2011 and continuing can now begin the process of applying for federal and Commonwealth disaster assistance by phone or online. Federal assistance is available to affected individuals in Boyd, Crittenden, Graves, Hardin, Hickman, Jefferson, Marshall, McCracken, Livingston, Union and Webster counties.
May 20, 2011
News Release
FRANKFORT, Ky. -- Inspectors from the Federal Emergency Management Agency are contacting disaster survivors who suffered damage to their home or rental residence from the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding ?beginning on April 22, 2011. FEMA inspectors are not wearing FEMA clothing but will have valid identification with their name and photograph. They will not ask residents for personal financial information like social security numbers or bank account information.
May 19, 2011
News Release
FRANKFORT, Ky  — Eleven additional Kentucky counties have been added to the federal disaster declaration made on May 4, 2011. The counties of Butler, Caldwell, Calloway, Edmonson, Elliott, Graves, Logan, Lyon, Monroe, Todd and Trigg are now eligible for federal Public Assistance funds to remove debris and help rebuild infrastructure and other public facilities damaged during the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding. In addition, Fulton and Union counties are now eligible for assistance for emergency work and repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities.
May 17, 2011
News Release
FRANKFORT, Ky.  -- Working jointly with their partners from the Commonwealth of Kentucky officials from the Federal Emergency Management Agency continue assessing damages from the recent severe storms, tornadoes and flooding. FEMA and Kentucky Division of Emergency Management (KYEM) have been on the ground in affected areas for more than two weeks conducting these assessments.
May 4, 2011
News Release
WASHINGTON - The U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today announced that federal disaster aid has been made available to Kentucky to supplement the commonwealth and local recovery efforts in the area struck by severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding beginning on April 22, 2011, and continuing.


Incident period: April 12, 2011 to May 20, 2011
Major Disaster Declaration declared on May 4, 2011
Main Content


Preliminary Damage Assessment

  • Kentucky, FEMA-1976-DR (PDF 19KB)
State/Tribal Government: 
Back to Top