U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.

Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on a federal government site.


The site is secure.

The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Region 4

FEMA Region 4 office, located in Atlanta, Georgia oversees federal emergency management for six Tribal Nations and the following states:

Our Federal Regional Center is located in Thomasville, Ga.

2020 Southeast Private-Public Partner Summit

Crisis Response 4.0: Adapting & Engaging During Critical Events

Hosted by FEMA Region IV, North Carolina Emergency Management and CISA Region IV

For question regarding this event, email: FEMA-R4-Stakeholder-Relations@fema.dhs.gov

August 10 | 10 AM – 11:30 AM Lessons from our response to COVID-19 and shaping a “new” emergency plan to stabilize operations in a critical event

August 11th | 1 PM – 12 PM Adapting cybersecurity plans to the increase in technology use and in response to cyber threats.

Aug 12th | 10 AM – 12 PM Don’t get blindsided! Whether it’s a hurricane, tornado, or pandemic, a disaster can cause major supply chain disruptions. Join our panels of experts as they discuss a pathway forward.

  • Hour one is focused on the medical supply chain.
  • Hour two is focused on the consumer commodity supply chain.

August 13th | 1 PM – 2:30 PM Response Strategies are vital in preparing for worst case scenarios. Planning for simultaneous disasters must include a framework for flexibility and pivoting in a complex time.

Environmental Planning and Historic Preservation

Potential impacts to the environment and cultural resources must be considered when a community applies for FEMA funding through Public AssistanceHazard Mitigation Assistance and Preparedness Grants.

Risk Mapping, Assessment and Planning (Risk MAP)

Risk Mapping, Assessment and Planning (Risk MAP) is a national FEMA program that works with states, tribes, territories and local communities to evaluate and better understand their current flood risk, as well as the actions that can be taken to mitigate and become more resilient against future risk.

Leadership and Contacts

Gracia is standing front of of an American flag and she is smiling

Gracia B. Szczech
Regional Administrator

Appointed in February 2015. She joined FEMA in 2000 as one of the first members of the new Federal Coordinating Officer (FCO) cadre. After four years, she left briefly for a position in the private sector, rejoining the agency in May 2005.

Gracia Szczech Full Bio

Robert standing in front of an American flag

Robert Samaan
Deputy Regional Administrator

Prior to becoming the Deputy Regional Administrator in April 2014, He served as FEMA Region IV’s Federal Preparedness Coordinator and National Preparedness Division Director.

Robert Samaan Full Bio

Last updated Aug 10, 2020

Would you like to take a brief survey regarding your experience with fema.gov?