Main Content

Transitional Sheltering Assistance

FEMA's Transitional Sheltering Assistance (TSA) provides short-term non-congregate sheltering for displaced disaster survivors taking refuge in emergency shelter locations other than their pre-disaster primary residence. The intent of TSA is to provide temporary sheltering for survivors as they transition from emergency shelters to temporary or permanent housing solutions.
FEMA may provide TSA at the request of a declared state, territorial, or tribal government. When activated, TSA authorizes assistance under Sections 403 or 502, and 408, of the Stafford Act. TSA does not count toward the Individuals and Households Program (IHP) financial assistance maximum award. TSA is funded under Section 403 of the Stafford Act and is subject to PA regulations on cost-share.
When TSA is authorized for a specific disaster, FEMA provides program guidance and implementation information and tools through Disaster Specific Guidance (DSG).

Individuals and houseolds may be eligible for TSA, if:

  • They are a U.S. citizen, non-citizen national, or qualified alien;
  • They complete a valid application with FEMA for disaster assistance;
  • They pass identity verification;
  • Their pre-disaster primary residence is located in a geographic area that is designated for TSA;
  • They are not linked with another valid application for FEMA disaster assistance;
  • They pass occupancy verification; and
  • They have not voluntarily withdrawn from consideration for disaster assistance.

FEMA's mission: “Helping people before, during and after disasters.”

Last Updated: 
02/08/2020 - 16:05