Main Content

FEMA Earthquake Contacts

Below is contact information for the FEMA NEHRP team. Earthquake-specific activities at FEMA are coordinated by an earthquake program team located at FEMA headquarters, working in concert with regional earthquake program managers located in FEMA's regional offices. These personnel are known as the FEMA NEHRP team because their activities are supported through FEMA's participation in the National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program (NEHRP).


Bill Blanton
Branch Chief
400 C Street, SW
Washington, DC 20472
(202) 646-3151

David Javier
FEMA NEHRP Senior Program Specialist
400 C Street, SW
Washington, DC 20472
(202) 646-4037

Mike Mahoney
FEMA NEHRP Senior Geophysicist
400 C Street, SW
Washington, DC 20472
(202) 646-2794

Jonathon Foster
FEMA NEHRP Earthquake Program Manager
400 C Street, SW
Washington, DC 20472
(202) 212-7852

Andrew Herseth
Physical Scientist
400 C Street, SW
Washington, DC 20472
(202) 445-6129

Mai Tong
Physical Scientist
400 C Street, SW
Washington, DC 20472
(202) 646-4681


FEMA Regional Earthquake Contacts

FEMA RegionEarthquake ContactPhone / Email
(CT, MA, ME, NH, RI, VT)
Paul Morey(617) 956-7628
(NJ, NY, PR, VI)
Jose Lebron(202) 805-7712
Sonny Beauchamp
(Caribbean Division)
(787) 296-3500
(DC, DE, MD, PA, VA, WV)
Darlene Messina(215) 873-5303
(AL, FL, GA, KY, MS, NC, SC, TN)
Noriko Kibble(770) 220-8870
(IL, IN, MI, MN, OH, WI)
Daniel Ryan(312) 408-4432
(AR, LA, NM, OK, TX)
Bart Moore(940) 898-5363
(IA, KS, MO, NE)
Cheickh Koma(816) 283-7067
(CO, MT, ND, SD, UT, WY)
Sean McGowan(303) 235-4800
(AS, AZ, CA, FM, GU, HI, MH, MP, NV)
Anne Rosinski(510) 627-7172
(AK, ID, OR, WA)
Amanda Siok(425) 487-4626

Regional Earthquake Consortia

The National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program (NEHRP) pioneered the concept of regional and community hazard reduction alliances to advocate for seismic safety and place earthquakes on the public agenda. Today, FEMA supports four regional nonprofit consortia focused on raising awareness and reducing losses from earthquakes in their regions through sustained outreach, partnership-building efforts and the mobilization of public support for loss reduction.

  • Cascadia Region Earthquake Workgroup (CREW) 
    Established in 1996, CREW is a coalition of private and public representatives working together to increase the ability of Cascadia Region communities in British Columbia, California, Oregon and Washington to reduce the effects of earthquake events. CREW is headquartered in Seattle, Washington.
  • Central United States Earthquake Consortium (CUSEC)
    CUSEC is a partnership of the federal government and the states most affected by earthquakes in the New Madrid Seismic Zone: Alabama, Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Mississippi, Missouri and Tennessee. Ten adjacent states also participate as associates in CUSEC (Georgia, Iowa, Louisiana, Nebraska, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina and Virginia). CUSEC was established in 1983 and is headquartered in Memphis, Tennessee.
  • Northeast States Emergency Consortium (NESEC)
    NESEC works with federal, state and local partners to promote all-hazards emergency management activities throughout the Northeast. Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island and Vermont form NESEC, which was established in 1991. NESEC is headquartered in Wakefield, Massachusetts.
  • Western States Seismic Policy Council (WSSPC)
    WSSPC members include the directors of the geological surveys and emergency management agencies from 13 western states (Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming), three U.S. territories (American Samoa, Guam and Northern Mariana Islands), a Canadian territory (Yukon Territory) and a Canadian province (British Columbia). The membership also includes a representative from each of the seven state seismic safety councils and commissions currently operating in the western states.

State Earthquake Contacts

Many state and territorial governments include programs or positions responsible for coordinating efforts to reduce seismic risks. Earthquake programs are typically found in state emergency management agencies and state earthquake risk-reduction activities are typically led by earthquake program managers or coordinators or by state hazard mitigation officers.

This information is provided as a convenience for persons involved or interested in earthquake risk-reduction activities at the state level. FEMA updates this information as changes become known but cannot guarantee its complete up-to-date accuracy.

StateEarthquake ContactPhone / Email
AlabamaLa'Tonya Stephens(205) 280-2200
AlaskaDan Belanger(907) 428-7009
American SamoaMulivanu Aiumu(684) 699-0414
ArizonaMichael Conway(520) 209-4146
ArkansasHilda Booth(501) 683-6700
British ColumbiaRobert White(604) 660-2421
CaliforniaKevin Miller(510) 326-1141
ColoradoKaren Barry(303) 384-2640
ConnecticutIan Alexander(860) 529-6893 
DelawareStephanie Baxter(302) 831-1576
FloridaMiles Anderson(850) 413-9816
GeorgiaGinger Martin(404) 635-7202
GuamLeo Espia(671) 478- 0296
HawaiiKevin Richards(808) 733-4301
IdahoSusan Cleverley(208) 258-6500
IllinoisScott Gauvin(217) 782-2700
IndianaAllison Curry(317) 232-3980
IowaDavid Johnston(515) 725-3295
KansasJeanne Bunting(785) 291-3333
KentuckySteve Brukwicki(502) 607-5759
LouisianaDavid Schultz(225) 925-7500
MaineAnne Fuchs(207) 624-4400
MarylandChas Eby(410) 517-3600
MassachusettsSarah J. White(508) 820-2053
MichiganMatt Sobocinski(517) 336-2053
MinnesotaJenny Kane(651) 201-7491
MississippiJasmine Johnson-Divinity(601) 933-6362
MissouriJeff Briggs(573) 526-9232
MontanaAndrew Long(406) 324-4777
NebraskaMolly Bargmann(402) 471-7421
NevadaJanell Woodward

(775) 687-0314

New HampshireNick Bibeau(603) 271-2231
New JerseyChristopher Tetsa(609) 963-6963
New MexicoWendy Blackwell(505) 476-9676
New YorkJennifer
North CarolinaKevin Kalbaugh(915) 825-2500
North DakotaPaul Messner(701) 328-8259
Northern Mariana
Brien Ser Nicholas(670) 237-8000
OhioDan Baker(614) 889-7150
OklahomaBonnie McKelvey(405) 521-2481
OregonAlthea Rizzo(503) 378-2911
PennsylvaniaTom Hughes(717) 651-2726
Puerto RicoSarimar Hiraldo(787) 724-0124
Rhode IslandSamantha Richer(401) 462-7048
South CarolinaRachel McCaster(803) 737-8500
South DakotaJim Poppen(605) 773-3231
TennesseeCecil Whaley(615) 741-0640
TexasDavid Jackson(512) 424-7844
UtahBob Carey(801) 538-3784
VermontMarjorie Gale(802) 241-3496
Virgin IslandsDenise Lewis(340) 773-2244
VirginiaDebbie Messmer(804) 897-6500
WashingtonMaximillian Dixon(253) 512-7000
Washington, D.C.Donte Lucas(202) 727-6161
West VirginiaTim Keaton(304) 957-2572
WisconsinKatie Sommers(608) 242-3222
WyomingMelinda Gibson(307) 777-4914


Last Updated: 
05/11/2020 - 14:10