Region 8

FEMA In Your Community Stories

Environmental Planning and Historic Preservation

Risk Map

Flood Mapping Projects


Contact Us


FEMA Region 8 office, located in Denver, Colorado oversees federal emergency management for 29 Tribal Nations and the following states:

FEMA In Your Community Stories

FEMA Region 8 staff are working every day to support our six states and 29 tribal nations.  We provide needed support to communities that have suffered from disasters, but there are also numerous other activities you may not even know that FEMA is involved in.  Here, you can learn more about what we are doing in your community. You can also follow us on Twitter and look for the hashtag #FEMAIYC.

Oct. 18, 2021
FEMA Shares in Hart Award Win

August 23, 2021
Reading, Writing, Arithmetic... and Mitigation

View Archived FEMA In Your Community Stories

Environmental Planning and Historic Preservation

Potential impacts to the environment and cultural resources must be considered when a community applies for FEMA funding through Public AssistanceHazard Mitigation Assistance and Preparedness Grants.

Risk Mapping, Assessment and Planning (Risk MAP)

Risk Mapping, Assessment and Planning (Risk MAP) is a national FEMA program that works with states, tribes, territories and local communities to evaluate and better understand their current flood risk, as well as the actions that can be taken to mitigate and become more resilient against future risk.


FEMA Region 8 has developed a number of documents to provide useful information to the public on topics such as hazard mitigation and emergency preparedness. The region also creates reports and studies following major disaster events. 

View Publications

NFIP Flood Mapping Projects

FEMA works with communities throughout Region 8 to update and improve flood maps to provide the best flood risk information available. This allows communities and individuals to make informed decisions regarding where and how to build in a way that protects lives and property.

One of the final steps in the mapping process is a release of preliminary maps for all in the community to review.  With this release, there is a 90-day appeal period, during which community members can appeal flood hazard information that they believe is in error.

Appeal packages must be submitted during the 90-day appeal period. Appeals must have supporting scientific or engineering data that show the information on the preliminary maps to be incorrect.

Visit FloodMaps for further details on the process.

Preliminary mapping also may be viewed on FEMA’s Map Service Center.

alert - info

View 90-day appeal periods for Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah and Wyoming.


Nancy Dragani

Nancy Dragani
Regional Administrator

Read Nancy Dragani Bio

Graphic that represents placeholder that is female

Katherine Fox
Deputy Regional Administrator

Read Katherine Fox Bio

Contact Us

Upcoming Events

An open house in Dickinson will allow Stark County residents to see new proposed flood maps and ask questions of local, state and federal officials.

New flood maps have been developed for Mineral County, Montana. If residents or businesses feel there is an error in the map, they have a 90-day period to provide scientific or engineering data.

Regional News and Information

Social Security and other government benefits are not affected by any FEMA disaster assistance an applicant may receive. FEMA disaster assistance is not taxable income. Accepting a FEMA grant will not affect your Social Security benefits, Medicare, Medicaid, Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) or other federal welfare, social safety nets, or entitlement programs.
illustration of page of paper Press Release | August 17, 2022
FEMA has approved an additional $1.2 million in Public Assistance funding to help Montanans recover from severe storms that impacted five northeast Montana counties in June of 2021. The assistance was made available under a major disaster declaration issued August 13, 2021. FEMA has now provided more than $3.66 million in total Public Assistance funds for the disaster recovery effort in northeast Montana.
illustration of page of paper Press Release | August 16, 2022
Montana residents with uninsured losses resulting from June’s severe storms and flooding have until August 29, 2022 to apply for FEMA disaster assistance.
illustration of page of paper Press Release | August 15, 2022
Many residents in Carbon, Park, Stillwater, and Yellowstone counties live in designated high-risk flood zones. However, it doesn’t matter whether the flood insurance policyholders of the NFIP in these counties live in designated high-risk, low-risk or moderate-risk flood zones. Floods can occur in any zone, including those where there is not a requirement to purchase flood protection.
illustration of page of paper Press Release | August 11, 2022
Thanks to a collaborative effort between The State of Montana and The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) the Mobile Disaster Recovery Center (MDRC) at Fromberg Methodist Church in Carbon County will be extending its operating days until August 20, 2022.
illustration of page of paper Press Release | August 11, 2022
Last updated August 5, 2022