Main Content

Hazard Mitigation Plan Status

This page shares the current status of hazard mitigation plans across the nation.

As of December 31, 2019, all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and five territories (American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and U.S. Virgin Islands) * have FEMA-approved state mitigation plans. Over 20,900 local governments have current (FEMA-approved or approvable-pending-adoption) local mitigation plans and 233 Tribal governments have current Tribal mitigation plans. Eighty-seven percent (87%) of the nation's population lives in communities with current mitigation plans. States, Tribes, and communities benefit from hazard mitigation planning because it helps them understand natural hazards and develop mitigation strategies. It also provides eligibility for certain non-emergency FEMA grants.

The national status map shows local jurisdictions with approved plans (green), approvable-pending-adoption (APA) plans (light green), plans that will expire within 90 days (yellow), and expired plans (red). This static map is the authoritative source for plan status information.

national mitigation status map shows local jurisdictions with approved plans, approvable-pending-adoption plans, plans that will expire in 90 days and expired plans.
Local Hazard Mitigation Plan Status FY20 Q1 Map (As of December 31, 2019) Download Original

To view and search an interactive version of the map that is refreshed daily, click here. You can search for the current plan status for State, Local, Tribal, and Territorial governments.

As of February 21, 2020, 14 states earned FEMA approval for their enhanced state mitigation plan. These states are now eligible to receive more funds under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program following a disaster declaration. To receive approval of an enhanced plan, a state must show it has developed a comprehensive mitigation program and is capable of managing increased funding for its mitigation goals. States with enhanced mitigation plans include:

KentuckyMissouriNevadaNorth Carolina
North DakotaOhioOregonSouth Dakota


The Sandy Recovery Improvement Act of 2013 amended the Stafford Act and provided FEMA with authority to carry out provisions of the Program Administration by States (PAS) as a pilot program, including the delegation to approve local mitigation plans. 

In 2013, FEMA released the “Addendum to the Hazard Mitigation Assistance Unified Guidance Program Administration by States Pilot, Hazard Mitigation Grant Program” (April 1, 2013). This allows States, and Tribal governments that choose to be a recipient, to apply for PAS delegations for any major disaster or emergency declared after January 29, 2013.

As of December 31, 2019, states that have received the delegation to approve local mitigation plans include: 

  • Florida
  • New Hampshire
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Wisconsin

* In 2008, the Marshall Islands (RMI) and the Federated States of Micronesia (FSM) came under the jurisdiction of a compact agreement between FEMA and the United States Agency for International Development (USAID); therefore, the State mitigation plan requirement is optional for these territories.

**Data users can get direct access to a geospatial information system (GIS) mapping service through Esri applications like ArcGIS Online or ArcGIS Desktop. Users can also get access through the Open Geospatial Consortium (OGC) Web Mapping Service (WMS) HTTP interface to request geo-registered map images. Information on how to access these mapping services is available from the Mitigation Planning Portal GIS Mapping Service Quick Start Guide Fact Sheet. The Quick Start Guide also includes a complete list of available spatial and tabular data as well as layer hierarchy.

Have questions or need technical support?  Contact our Mapping Information Platform Help Desk at


Last Updated: 
02/26/2020 - 15:29