U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites..

Hazard Mitigation Plan Status

As of March 31, 2021, all 50 states, the District of Columbia and five territories (American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and U.S. Virgin Islands)* have FEMA-approved state mitigation plans.

A total of over 24,100 local governments have FEMA-approved or approvable-pending-adoption local mitigation plans. An additional 228 tribal governments have current tribal mitigation plans.

The nation's population who live in communities with current mitigation plans is 83%. States, tribes, territories and local communities benefit from all hazard planning because it helps them understand natural hazards and develop mitigation strategies. It also provides eligibility for certain non-emergency FEMA grants.

National Status Map

The national status map shows local jurisdictions with approved plans (light blue), approvable-pending-adoption plans (medium blue), plans that will expire within 90 days (dark blue) and expired plans (yellow).

Local Hazard Mitigation Plan Status FY20 Q2 Map (As of March 31, 2021)  The national status map shows local jurisdictions with approved plans (light blue), approvable-pending-adoption (APA) plans (medium dark blue), plans that will expire within 90 days (Dark Blue), and expired plans (yellow).
alert - info

View an interactive version of the map to search the plan status for state, local, tribal and territorial governments.  The data in this interactive tool are updated daily.

feature_mini img

If you have any questions on mitigation plan status, please contact the Senior Mitigation Planner in the appropriate FEMA Regional Office.

Enhanced State Mitigation Plans

As of March 31, 2021, 14 states earned FEMA approval for their enhanced state mitigation plan. These states are now eligible to receive more funds under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program following a disaster declaration. To receive approval of an enhanced plan, a state must show that it has developed a comprehensive mitigation program and is capable of managing increased funding for its mitigation goals.

States with Enhanced Mitigation Plans









North Carolina

North Dakota


South Dakota



The Sandy Recovery Improvement Act of 2013 amended the Stafford Act and provided FEMA with authority to carry out provisions of the Program Administration by States as a pilot program, including the delegation to approve local mitigation plans. 

In 2013, FEMA released the Addendum to the Hazard Mitigation Assistance Unified Guidance Program Administration by States Pilot, Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (April 1, 2013). This allows states, and tribal governments that choose to be a recipient to apply for Program Administration by States delegations for any major disaster or emergency declared after Jan. 29, 2013.

As of March 31, 2021, states that have received the delegation to approve local mitigation plans include:

  • Florida
  • New Hampshire
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Vermont
  • Wisconsin
feature_mini img

Have questions or need technical support? Email our Mapping Information Platform Help Desk.

* In 2008, the Marshall Islands (RMI) and the Federated States of Micronesia (FSM) came under the jurisdiction of a compact agreement between FEMA and the United States Agency for International Development (USAID), therefore the State mitigation plan requirement is optional for these territories.

** Data users can get direct access to a geospatial information system (GIS) mapping service through Esri applications such as ArcGIS Online or ArcGIS Desktop. Users can also get access through the Open Geospatial Consortium (OGC) Web Mapping Service (WMS) HTTP interface to request geo-registered map images. Information on how to access these mapping services is available from the Mitigation Planning Portal GIS Mapping Service Quick Start Guide Fact Sheet.  The Quick Start Guide also includes a complete list of available spatial and tabular data as well as layer hierarchy.

Last updated June 10, 2021