alert - warning

This page has not been translated into 简体中文. Visit the 简体中文 page for resources in that language.

Hazard Mitigation Plan Status

As of Dec. 31, 2022, all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and five territories including American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands*, Puerto Rico, and U.S. Virgin Islands have approved mitigation plans.  

A total of over 24,700 local governments and 240 tribal governments have approved or approvable-pending-adoption mitigation plans.

The nation's population who live in communities with current mitigation plans is almost 85%. States, tribes, territories, and local governments benefit from all hazard planning because it helps them understand natural hazards and develop mitigation strategies. It also provides eligibility for certain non-emergency FEMA grants.

National Status Map

The national status map shows local jurisdictions with approved plans (light blue), approvable-pending-adoption plans (medium blue), and expired plans (yellow).

This map shows local jurisidictions with approved plans (light blue), approvable-pending-adoption plans (medium blue), and expired plans (yellow).
Local Hazard Mitigation Plan Status
alert - info

View an interactive version of the map to search the plan status for state, local, tribal and territorial governments.  The data in this interactive tool are updated daily.

Illustration of Email icon

If you notice any data discrepancies, or identify any issues with this mapping service, please contact

FEMA does not maintain copies of plans only the plan status.  To look at a copy of a state, local, or tribal mitigation plan, contact the respective government directly.

This product does not contain Personally Identifiable Information (PII).

Enhanced State Mitigation Plans

As of Dec. 31, 2022, 15 states earned FEMA approval for their enhanced state mitigation plan. These states are now eligible to receive more funds under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program following a disaster declaration. To receive approval of an enhanced plan, a state must show that it has developed a comprehensive mitigation program and is capable of managing increased funding for its mitigation goals.

One requirement to earn enhanced status is to create a system to determine the cost effectiveness of mitigation measures.  Links below take you to state webpages to learn more about how each of enhanced states meets this requirement to assess the effectiveness of mitigation actions as well as learn more about state hazard mitigation programs, plans, and additional resources.

States with Enhanced Mitigation Plans

The Sandy Recovery Improvement Act of 2013 amended the Stafford Act and provided FEMA with authority to carry out provisions of the Program Administration by States (PAS) as a pilot program, including the delegation to approve local mitigation plans. 

In 2013, FEMA released the Addendum to the Hazard Mitigation Assistance Unified Guidance Program Administration by States Pilot, Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (April 1, 2013). This allows states, and tribal governments that choose to be a recipient, to apply for Program Administration by States delegations for any major disaster or emergency declared after Jan. 29, 2013. 

In October 2017, FEMA updated the “Addendum to the Hazard Mitigation Assistance Unified Guidance Program Administration by States Pilot, Hazard Mitigation Grant Program”. This policy now allows states without disaster declarations to apply for non-disaster Program Administration by States delegation for local mitigation plan approval.

As of Dec. 31, 2022, states that have received the delegation to approve local mitigation plans include:

  • Florida
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Vermont
  • Wisconsin
feature_mini img

Have questions or need technical support? Email our Mapping Information Platform Help Desk.

* In 2008, the Marshall Islands (RMI) and the Federated States of Micronesia (FSM) came under the jurisdiction of a compact agreement between FEMA and the United States Agency for International Development (USAID), therefore the State mitigation plan requirement is optional for these territories.

** Data users can get direct access to a geospatial information system (GIS) mapping service through Esri applications such as ArcGIS Online or ArcGIS Desktop. Users can also get access through the Open Geospatial Consortium (OGC) Web Mapping Service (WMS) HTTP interface to request geo-registered map images. Information on how to access these mapping services is available from the Mitigation Planning Portal GIS Mapping Service Quick Start Guide Fact Sheet.  The Quick Start Guide also includes a complete list of available spatial and tabular data as well as layer hierarchy.