President Joseph R. Biden, Jr. Approves Major Disaster Declaration for Oklahoma

Release Date Release Number
Release Date:
May 1, 2024

WASHINGTON -- FEMA announced that federal disaster assistance is available to the state of Oklahoma to supplement recovery efforts in the areas affected by severe storms, straight-line winds, tornadoes and flooding beginning on April 25, 2024 and continuing.

The President’s action makes federal funding available to affected individuals in Hughes, Love and Murray counties. Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

Federal funding is also available to state, tribal and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for debris removal and emergency protective measures, including direct federal assistance in Hughes, Love and Murray counties.

Federal funding is available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Benjamin Abbott has been named Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected areas. Additional designations may be made at a later date if warranted by the results of damage assessments.

Individuals and business owners who sustained losses in the designated areas can begin applying for assistance by registering online at, by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), or by using the FEMA App. If you use a relay service, such as video relay service (VRS), captioned telephone service or others, give FEMA the number for that service.  

Last updated