U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites..

South Carolina Hurricane Matthew (DR-4286-SC)

Incident Period: October 4, 2016 - October 30, 2016
Declaration Date: October 11, 2016

Map of South Carolina

Financial Assistance

Individual Assistance Amount
Total Housing Assistance (HA) - Dollars Approved $32,647,472.31
Total Other Needs Assistance (ONA) - Dollars Approved $7,053,390.20
Total Individual & Households Program Dollars Approved $39,700,862.51
Individual Assistance Applications Approved 11647
Public Assistance Amount
Emergency Work (Categories A-B) - Dollars Obligated $164,999,618.15
Permanent Work (Categories C-G) - Dollars Obligated $70,559,773.95
Total Public Assistance Grants Dollars Obligated $243,842,687.10

Disaster Recovery Centers

DR-4286 DRC Marion County

DR-4286 DRC Beaufort County

What To Expect After You Apply

What to Expect After You Apply for FEMA Aid• A call from a FEMA Inspector• A brief Inspector's visit• A decision letter

Once homeowners register with the Federal Emergency Management Agency, a FEMA housing inspector will call to schedule an inspection for those living in designated counties. Here’s what survivors need to know about the inspection process:

Everyone should know:

  • The FEMA inspector will show a photo ID badge.
  • If you are not shown photo identification, then do not allow the inspection.
  • If you suspect someone is posing as a FEMA inspector, call your local law enforcement agency.
  • You may receive visits from more than one inspector. Other inspectors may represent federal, state, parish and local government agencies, the U.S. Small Business Administration, the National Flood Insurance Program and/or insurance companies.       
  • Representatives of volunteer agencies may contact you to offer their services.

Before the FEMA inspection, it’s important that you know:

  • An adult 18 or older who lived in the residence before the disaster must be present for the inspection.
  • That person must have the following documents:
    • Photo identification;
    • Proof of ownership and occupancy of the damaged residence such as: property tax bill; mortgage payment bill or receipt, or utility service bill;
    • Homeowner and vehicle insurance documents;
    • List of persons living in residence at time of disaster that you compiled; and
    • List of disaster damage to the home and its contents that you compiled.

Most important to know:

  • You cannot get an inspection without registering with FEMA.

    • Call 800-621-FEMA (3362). For TTY call 800-462-7585. People who use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS) can call   800-621-3362.
    • You can register online at www.disasterassistance.gov.
    • You can register with FEMA at a Disaster Recovery Center.

If you have questions, FEMA’s toll-free telephone numbers operate from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m. (local time) seven days a week until further notice

What to do if you disagree with FEMA’s decision letter1. Read the letter carefully to find out why the decision was made.Do you need to provide additional information?• Insurance determination letter.• Proof of occupancy or ownership.• Proof of ID.• Applicant’s signature.Common reasons for the initial decision:• The damage was to a secondary home or a rental property, not a primary residence.• Someone else in the household applied and received assistance.• Disaster-related losses could not be verified.• Insurance covered all losses.2. Contact FEMA for help with filing an appeal or any questions.Call800-621-3362 (711 or Video Relay Service available)800-462-7585 (TTY)VisitA Disaster Recovery Center3. File a written appeal.Explain why you think the decision was not correct.• Provide supporting information and documents.• Include your FEMA registration number on all documents.• Sign the letter.Mail or fax your appeal within 60 days of the decision letter date, or drop it off at a Disaster Recovery Center.

How to Help

 How to help after a disaster. The best way to help is with cash donations to trusted organizations. · Cash is efficient, flexible to use, and requires no packaging or transport. · Trusted organizations will ensure your money goes to help those in need.

When disaster strikes, every little bit helps. To make the most of your contributions, please follow our guidelines to learn the most effective and safest ways to donate cash, goods, or time following a disaster.

  • Cash is best. Financial contributions to recognized disaster relief organizations are the fastest, most flexible, and most effective method of donating. Organizations on the ground know what items and quantities are needed, often buy in bulk with discounts and, if possible, purchase through area businesses which supports economic recovery.
  • Confirm donations needed. Critical needs change rapidly – confirm needed items BEFORE collecting; pack and label carefully; confirm delivery locations; arrange transportation. Unsolicited goods NOT needed burden local organizations’ ability to meet survivors’ confirmed needs, drawing away valuable volunteer labor, transportation, and warehouse space.
  • Connect to volunteer. Trusted organizations operating in the affected area know where volunteers are needed, and can ensure appropriate volunteer safety, training, and housing.

SOUTH CAROLINA                                                                      

Monetary Donations – The One SC Fund supports & directs funds to nonprofit organizations providing disaster relief & recovery assistance. yourfoundation.org/community-impact/one-sc-fund-sc-flood-relief/

Volunteer Opportunities – First consider volunteering within your own networks, such as churches or civic groups. If you are not affiliated with a group, please register at VolunteerSC.org to be matched with appropriate opportunities & training.

SC Voluntary Organizations Active in Disasters (SCVOADs) – Additionally, consider making a direct donation to or finding local volunteer opportunities with relief organizations listed at the SC Emergency Management Division website below.

Clothing & Food – Please take these donations to charitable organizations in your community. You can confirm most-needed food items by contacting the South Carolina Food Bank Association. scfoodbankassociation.org

For updates & additional information, please call 1-888-585-9643, or visit scemd.org/recovery-section/donations-and-volunteers.

Fact Sheets

Filing a Flood Insurance Claim

If you have experienced a flood, you can file your flood insurance claim by following these three steps.


After experiencing a flood, contact your agent or insurance company to file a claim. Make sure you have the following information handy:

  • The name of your insurance company
  • Your policy number
  • A telephone and/or email address where you can be reached at all times

An adjuster should contact you within a few days of filing your claim. If you do not hear from an adjuster, please contact your insurance agent or company again. Find your company’s toll-free phone number.


Separate damaged from undamaged property. Your adjuster will need evidence of the damage to your home and possessions to prepare your repair estimate.

  • Take photographs of all of the damaged property, including discarded objects, structural damage, and standing floodwater levels.
  • Make a list of damaged or lost items and include their date of purchase, value, and receipts, if possible.
  • Officials may require disposal of damaged items so, if possible, place flooded items outside of the home.


Your adjuster will assist you in preparing a Proof of Loss (which is your sworn statement of the amount you are claiming including necessary supporting documentation) for your official claim for damages. You'll need to file your Proof of Loss with your insurance company within 60 days of the flood. You'll receive your claim payment after you and the insurer agree on the amount of damages and the insurer has your complete, accurate, and signed Proof of Loss.

Find out more about filing your claim.

Frequently Asked Questions About Flood Insurance (Video)

News and Information

No articles have been tagged with this disaster.

Designated Counties (Individual Assistance)

  • Allendale (County)
  • Bamberg (County)
  • Barnwell (County)
  • Beaufort (County)
  • Berkeley (County)
  • Calhoun (County)
  • Charleston (County)
  • Chesterfield (County)
  • Clarendon (County)
  • Colleton (County)
  • Darlington (County)
  • Dillon (County)
  • Dorchester (County)
  • Florence (County)
  • Georgetown (County)
  • Hampton (County)
  • Horry (County)
  • Jasper (County)
  • Lee (County)
  • Marion (County)
  • Marlboro (County)
  • Orangeburg (County)
  • Sumter (County)
  • Williamsburg (County)

Preliminary Damage Assessment Documents

Last updated March 20, 2020