Disaster declaration amendment expands wildfire recovery assistance

Release Date Release Number
DR-4558-CA NR 012
Release Date:
September 15, 2020

SACRAMENTO, Calif. – The major disaster declaration for California wildfires has been amended to provide more federal assistance to affected areas via the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s Public Assistance Program.

Eligible applicants for this include state, county and local governments, federally recognized tribal governments, and some private non-profits such as educational and medical facilities. FEMA provides 75 percent of the cost of eligible projects.

Butte and San Mateo counties have been approved to receive federal aid for debris removal, joining Lake, Monterey, Napa, Santa Cruz, Solano, and Sonoma counties, which had received earlier approval.

San Mateo, Monterey, Napa, Santa Cruz, Solano and Sonoma counties are now eligible for permanent work assistance, including repairs done to roads, bridges, public buildings and utilities, water control facilities, and at parks or other recreational facilities. These counties had already qualified for assistance for debris removal and emergency protective measures.

The changes, approved Sept. 13, are for the wildfire period starting Aug. 14 and continuing. President Donald Trump approved the disaster declaration Aug. 22.


Related Links:
Last updated