U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites..

After You Apply for Building Resilient Infrastructure and Communities (BRIC) Funds

Appeal Process

Managing Your Award

After FEMA has completed its review of all BRIC subapplications, each of them will be assigned one of the following three statuses:

  • Identified for Further Review (IFFR) – This means the subapplication is eligible (or potentially eligible pending some additional information) and there is available funding under the applicable subtotals.
  • Not Selected – This means the subapplication was not selected due to a lack of available funding.
  • Does Not Meet HMA Requirements – This means the subapplication does not satisfy the eligibility or completeness requirements.

Once a status has been assigned, FEMA will make a formal announcement. At that time, FEMA Regions will conduct any additional pre-award review action necessary to make ready for award. Applicants should work with their FEMA Regional points of contact and subapplicants should work with their applicant points of contact.

alert - info

While While there is currently no concrete award date for fiscal year 2020 BRIC grants, the Pre-Award Selection notice is anticipated for summer 2021 .

Appeal Process

An eligible applicant, subapplicant, recipient, or subrecipient may request an appeal of either of the following types of actions:

  1. FEMA’s denial of its application or subapplication for mitigation projects for which there is an indication of a substantive technical or procedural error; or
  2. A remedy FEMA has taken for noncompliance with federal statutes, regulations, or the terms and conditions of the award that results in suspension or termination of all or part of the award.

Please refer to the FY20 BRIC Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) Section E.2 for detailed procedures and timelines. The applicant, subapplicant, recipient, or subrecipient will be notified in writing of the disposition of the appeal or the need for additional information. All appeal decisions from FEMA are final.

Managing Your Award

The Period of Performance (POP) is 36 months, starting on the date of the recipient’s federal award. Any subsequent amendments to the federal award, including awarding additional subawards, will not extend the POP unless explicitly stated. For highly complex projects, the applicant may submit a request for a longer POP in the application for FEMA to review and approve.

Mitigation Project Requirements

Mitigation projects must, at a minimum, be in conformance with the latest published editions (meaning either of the two most recently published editions) of relevant consensus-based codes, specifications, and standards that incorporate the latest hazard-resistant designs.

If the mitigation project is located in a Special Flood Hazard Area, it must meet both of the following conditions:

  • The project is in a jurisdiction participating in the National Flood Insurance Program that is not on probation, suspended, or withdrawn.
  • The property owner obtains and maintains flood insurance for the life of the structure, regardless of transfer of ownership, in an amount at least equal to the project cost or to the maximum limit of coverage made available with respect to the mitigated property, whichever is less.

Long-Term Monitoring Requirements

By accepting an award, all recipients agree to participate in monitoring or an evaluation of the grant, which may include analysis of the impact and providing access to program operating personnel and participants, as specified by the evaluator(s).

The BRIC program encourages investments to protect communities and infrastructure. As part of the performance evaluation and monitoring efforts, FEMA will conduct a series of grant effectiveness and cost-effectiveness case studies jointly with BRIC recipients to highlight how recipients and subrecipients have used the BRIC funds to increase resiliency from natural hazards in their jurisdictions.

Starting Project Construction

Construction activities can begin after approval. Construction activities for which ground disturbance has already been initiated or completed prior to funding award are not eligible for funding. Non-construction activities that have already started may not be considered for funding if not approved as pre-award activities.

Phased Projects

Phased projects are complex projects for which FEMA provides funding to subapplicants to prepare all the technical and environmental information, including design, engineering studies, final benefit cost analysis and permitting, before issuing a full construction approval.

Phasing is for projects that are further along in development but for which funding is lacking to complete certain technical pieces. Phasing a project allows funds to be reserved through the same grant cycle.

Phase I funds will be awarded first and if after the Phase I deliverables are reviewed and approved by FEMA, then Phase II construction funding will be awarded. If a project is shown not to be cost effective or technical feasible after Phase I completion, FEMA still funds the costs of Phase I, and funds allocated to the project then go back into the funding pot for the next grant cycle.

Last updated June 25, 2021