大流行疫情:在非医疗保健环境中满足个人防护装备的需求

Release Date:
四月 22, 2020

本指南概述了组织应如何考虑及管理其个人防护设备(PPE)的需求,同时确保在冠状病毒(COVID-19)大流行疫情响应期间保护工作人员。

目标

解决个人防护设备(PPE)短缺的COVID-19全国战略旨在通过落实以下三大做法来确保保护医护人员、急救人员和患者免受之危害:减少使用、重复使用和重设用途。使用相似的PPE(例如N95口罩)作为正常职责的一部分的行业将在获得PPE方面面临挑战,而可用供应品优先考虑配发给医护人员和急救人员。如果某些行业中关键基础设施重要工作人员需要PPE才能履行其职责,那么就应继续与供应商合作以获取所需的PPE,但应预期短缺情况会继续存在。所有行业都应立即实施战略来保存个人防护设备的现有供应,并找到替代工作方法来解决短缺问题。

非医疗保健机构的保存策略

实施PPE保存策略的关键部分是确定的PPE的适当使用水平。非医疗保健行业应仔细考虑法律或法规是否要求PPE的使用为其日常履职的一部分,或者是否需要使用PPE来减轻员工接触COVID-19的风险。

如果法律或法规要求PPE的使用为关键基础设施重要工作人员日常履职的一部分,则:

  • 延长未损坏且无明显污染的PPE的使用时间,并实施基于设施的大范围PPE重复使用策略和程序。
  • 调整并实施疾病预防控制中心(CDC)的医疗保健策略,以 优化个人防护设备及其他设备的供应最佳实践,以维持PPE的供应。
  • 实施过滤式口罩的去污和重复使用策略,作为应急和危机应对措施。
  • 了解并跟踪PPE要求和消耗率。如果您缺乏现有方法,请使用CDC的PPE消耗率计算器
  • 使用其他类型的PPE或PPE来源来支持必要的营运。使用美国国家职业安全与健康研究所(NIOSH)批准,但之前未经食品和药物管理局(FDA)批准的呼吸防护用品。随时关注FDA和职业安全与健康管理局(OSHA)网站,以获取有关放松执法和紧急使用授权的更新和公告。
  • 请参阅CDC属下NIOSH的有关制造和建筑等非医疗保健场所使用的过滤式口罩(FFR)供应短缺状况的保存、扩展和应对策略的指南

如果法律或法规未要求PPE的使用为关键基础设施重要工作人员日常履职的一部分,则:

  • 实施减少接触的措施,例如屏障控制(例如有机玻璃屏障、改进的通风系统)和安全工作实践,例如调整业务运营来增加员工之间的物理空间。请参阅CDC的企业和雇主针对COVID-19的规划和应对临时指南,以了解更多有关降低工作场所总体暴露风险的考虑因素。
  • 请勿尝试为此类员工购买医疗或工业用PPE。这种PPE可能买不到,并且是其他更高优先级别的关键基础设施人员所必需的。外科口罩或N95口罩是至关重要的用品,必须按照CDC当前指南的建议继续留给医护人员和其他医疗急救人员。
  • 替代做法是,按照CDC指南使用简单的布面罩。CDC建议在难以维持其他社会疏远措施(例如控制室、生产车间)的公共环境中,尤其是在以社区为基础的大量传播区域中,均应佩戴布面罩。 
  • 商业生产的布面罩也可能供不应求。美国人注意到美国政府最近建议使用布面罩,作为总统针对美国冠状病毒用30天时间减慢其传播的指南的补充措施,因此需求增加。如果没有商业来源的布面罩可用,也可以用价格低廉的普通材料制成。请遵循有关制作和使用布面罩CDC指南

所有行业均应遵循美国政府指南,来帮助最关键的工作人员在可能接触过COVID-19患者后且在无症状的情况下,迅速复工。

在短缺情况下获取PPE

如果通过上述策略将对PPE的需求减至最少之后,关键基础设施重要工作人员仍然需要PPE来履行其职责,则各组织应:

  • 继续与正常和替代性私营部门供应商合作来获得PPE。可能有必要为供应商确定多种选择,并优先考虑短期需求而非长期需求。
  • 如果供应商无法满足您的供货需求,并且您迫切需要PPE,请向您的当地或州紧急事务管理机构提出援助请求。如果当地紧急事务管理部门无法解决PPE短缺问题,则可以将援助请求转发给该州政府。如果州政府也无法解决问题,他们可以向其FEMA区域响应协调中心提交支持请求。

任何向地方、州或联邦机构提出的为关键基础设施重要工作人员紧急补充PPE的请求,都应提供以下准确描述:

  • 具体类型、数量(包括30天、60天和90天的需求量)以及需要PPE的地点;
  • 根据PPE消耗率估算至短缺状况影响运营的时间;
  • 短缺状况的后果及其影响的持续时间。

提出请求之前的关键问题

您是否雇用关键基础设施重要工作人员? 如果您未雇用,则目前并不需要PPE。非重要工作人员应遵循居家隔离令及保持社交距离、使用远程办公选项等。

您是否实施了所有可能的减少PPE使用策略? 如果未实施,请查阅CDC和其他指南,通过其他工程解决方案或改变业务实践来减少或消除对PPE的需求。

如果仍然需用PPE,是否有法律或法规要求? 如果无此要求,则请使用布面罩。PPE应该留给那些必须佩戴PPE才能履行其重要职责的工作人员。

您是否寻求放宽监管要求或批准的替代方案? 如果未寻求,请联系要求使用PPE的监管单位。请参阅FDA、NIOSH和OSHA公告,以获得紧急使用授权(EUA)、放宽监管要求及解决PPE需求的替代方案。

需要的PPE是否被视为“稀缺或受到威胁的医疗用品”*? 如果不是,则应通过正常的供应商市场解决这一需求;FEMA仅参与管理医疗保健机构中使用的PPE库存。 *请参阅“将某些稀缺或受到威胁的健康和医疗资源分配给家庭使用的备忘录”。受此政策约束的PPE包括:N95口罩及其他各种过滤式口罩、空气净化呼吸器、手术口罩、手术手套。

您是否正确定义了需求? 如果没有,请按照上述指南准确描述您的PPE需求。这些细节在政府机构进行考虑时必须提供。

提交援助请求。

向您的当地或州紧急情况管理机构提交援助请求。继续在正常的供应商市场中寻求PPE,因为并非所有向政府提出的援助请求都能得到满足。

Tags:
最近更新时间 三月 17, 2021

U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Https

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites..

Addressing PPE Needs in Non-Healthcare Setting

This guidance summarizes how organizations should consider and manage their personal protective equipment (PPE) needs while ensuring the protection of workers during the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic response.

Objective

The COVID-19 National Strategy for Addressing Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) Shortage seeks to ensure protection against COVID-19 for healthcare workers, first responders, and patients by implementing three pillars of practice: reduce, reuse and repurpose. Industries that use similar PPE (e.g., N95 respirators) as part of their normal duties will be challenged in obtaining PPE while available supply is prioritized for healthcare workers and first responders. Industries whose essential critical infrastructure workers need PPE to perform their duties should continue working with suppliers to acquire needed PPE, but should expect shortages to continue. All industries should immediately implement strategies to preserve existing supplies of PPE and find alternative work methods to address shortfalls.

Preservation Strategies for Non-Healthcare Settings

A critical component in implementing PPE preservation strategies is determining the appropriate level of PPE for use. Non-healthcare industries should carefully consider whether PPE is required by law or regulation as part of their routine duties, or whether it is needed for mitigating employee exposure to COVID-19.

If PPE is required by law or regulation as part of routine duties performed by essential critical infrastructure workers:

  • Extend use times of undamaged, non-visibly soiled PPE, and implement expanded facility-based PPE reuse policies and procedures.
  • Adapt and implement Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) strategies for healthcare to optimize the supply of PPE and equipment, and best practices to sustain PPE supplies.
  • Implement decontamination and reuse strategies of filtering facepiece respirators as contingency and crisis capacity measures.
  • Understand and track PPE requirements and burn rates. Utilize CDC’s PPE burn rate calculator if you lack an existing means to do so.
  • Use alternative types or sources of PPE to support necessary operations. Use National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH)-approved respiratory protection that was not previously approved by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA). Monitor FDA and Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) websites for updates and announcements on relaxed enforcement and Emergency Use Authorizations.
  • Consult guidance from CDC’s NIOSH on strategies to conserve, extend and respond to shortages in the supply of filtering facepiece respirators (FFRs) used in non-healthcare worksites, such as manufacturing and construction.

If PPE is not required by law or regulation as part of routine duties performed by essential critical infrastructure workers:

  • Implement exposure-reduction measures, such as barrier controls (e.g., Plexiglass barriers, improved ventilation systems) and safe-work practices, such as adjusting business operations to increase physical space between employees. Consult CDC’s Interim Guidance for Businesses and Employers to Plan and Respond to COVID-19 for further considerations to reduce overall risk of exposure in the workplace.
  • Do not attempt to acquire medical or industrial use PPE for such employees. Such PPE is likely unavailable and is required for other higher priority critical infrastructure functions. Surgical masks or N95 respirators are critical supplies that must continue to be reserved for healthcare workers and other medical first responders, as recommended by current CDC guidance.
  • Instead, follow CDC guidance on use of simple cloth face coverings. CDC recommends wearing cloth face coverings in public settings where other social distancing measures are difficult to maintain (e.g., control rooms, production floors), especially in areas of significant community-based transmission. 
  • Commercially manufactured cloth face coverings may also be in short supply; demand has increased as Americans heed the U.S. government’s recent recommendation for their use as a complementary measure to the President’s Coronavirus Guidelines for America, 30 Days to Slow the Spread. If commercially sourced cloth face coverings are not available, they can be fashioned from common materials at low cost. Follow CDC’s guidance on how to make and use of cloth face coverings.

All industries should follow U.S. government guidance to help the most critical workers quickly return to work after potential exposure to someone with COVID-19, provided those workers are symptom-free.

Acquiring PPE During Shortages

If after minimizing the need for PPE through strategies described above, PPE is still required by essential critical infrastructure workers to perform their duties, organizations should:

  1. Continue working with normal and alternate private sector suppliers to obtain PPE. It may be necessary to identify multiple options for suppliers and prioritize near-term versus long-term needs.
  2. If suppliers are unable to provide for your needs, and the PPE is urgently required, submit a request for assistance to your local or state emergency management agencies. If local emergency management is unable to address the PPE shortfall, they can relay it to the state. If the state is unable to address it, they can submit a request for support to their FEMA Regional Response Coordination Center.
  3. Organizations should also report to the National Center for Disaster Fraud any instances of counterfeit or fraudulently labeled PPE, as well as any instances of hoarding or price gouging relating to PPE.

Any requests to local, state or federal agencies for urgent resupply of PPE for essential critical infrastructure workers should accurately describe:

  • Specific types, quantities (include 30, 60 and 90-day demand), and locations where PPE is needed;
  • Estimated time until shortage impacts operations based on PPE burn rate; and,
  • Consequence of the shortage and duration of its impact.

Key Questions Before Making Requests

Do you employ essential critical infrastructure workers? If not, you do not need PPE currently. Non-essential workers should be following stay-at-home orders and practicing social distancing, making use of telework options, etc.

Have you implemented all possible PPE use reduction strategies? If not, consult CDC and other guidance to reduce or eliminate the need for PPE through other engineering solutions or modifications to business practices.

If PPE is still needed, is it required by law or regulation? If not, use cloth face coverings. PPE should be reserved for workers that must have it in order to perform their essential duties.

Have you sought regulatory relief or approved alternatives? If not, contact the regulator requiring PPE use. Consult FDA, NIOSH and OSHA notices for EUAs, regulatory relaxations and alternatives to address PPE need.

Is the PPE needed considered “scarce or threatened medical supplies”*? If not, this need should be addressed through normal market of suppliers; FEMA is only involved in managing inventories of PPE used in healthcare settings. *See “Memorandum on Allocating Certain Scarce or Threatened Health and Medical Resources to Domestic Use” PPE subject to this policy includes: N95 respirators and a variety of other filtering respirators; air-purifying respirators; surgical masks; and surgical gloves.

Have you properly defined the need? If not, apply above guidance to accurately describe your PPE need. These details are necessary for government agencies to consider.

Submit a request for assistance. Submit a request for assistance to your local or state emergency management agency. Continue to pursue PPE though the normal market of suppliers as not all requests for government assistance will be met.

Tags:
Last updated July 21, 2020