Main Content

Public Assistance: Local, State, Tribal and Private Non-Profit

FEMA's Public Assistance (PA) grant program provides federal assistance to government organizations and certain private nonprofit (PNP) organizations following a Presidential disaster declaration. Disaster survivors who need information on grant programs for homeowners and renters should visit FEMA's Individual Assistance page.

PA provides grants to state, tribal, territorial, and local governments, and certain types of PNP organizations so that communities can quickly respond to and recover from major disasters or emergencies.

Through the program, FEMA provides supplemental federal disaster grant assistance for debris removal, life-saving emergency protective measures, and the repair, replacement, or restoration of disaster-damaged publicly-owned facilities, and the facilities of certain PNP organizations. The PA program also encourages protection of these damaged facilities from future events by providing assistance for hazard mitigation measures during the recovery process.

The federal share of assistance is not less than 75 percent of the eligible cost. The Recipient (usually the state) determines how the non-federal share (up to 25 percent) is split with the subrecipients (eligible applicants).

Click the links below for more information on the different aspects of the program including:

Contact Information for the Public Assistance Program:
U. S. Department of Homeland Security
Federal Emergency Management Agency
Public Assistance Division
500 C Street, SW
Washington, DC 20472
Telephone: (202) 646-3834
Fax: (202) 646-3363
Last Updated: 
04/04/2019 - 14:20