Washington Communities Eligible for FEMA Public Assistance

Release Date Release Number
DR-4635-WA NR-016
Release Date:
January 28, 2022

LACEY, Wash.  – Local and tribal governments and certain nonprofit organizations in communities affected by the severe storms, straight-line winds, flooding, landslides and mudslides from Nov. 5 to Dec. 2, 2021 are now eligible for FEMA Public Assistance grants for recovery.

Clallam, Island, Jefferson, Lewis, San Juan, Skagit and Whatcom counties and the Hoh Indian Tribe, the Lummi Nation, Nooksack Indian Tribe, the Quileute Nation and the Swinomish Indian Tribal Community now come under the amended presidential disaster declaration that was issued for Washington.

FEMA’s Public Assistance program provides reimbursement to local, tribal and state government agencies and certain nonprofit organizations for the costs of emergency response, debris removal and restoration of disaster damaged public facilities and infrastructure.

Applicants that may be eligible for Public Assistance include:         

  • Local governments, special districts and any tribe or nation in the declared area
  • Certain nonprofits or institutions that conduct activities of a governmental nature and are open to the public
  • Houses of worship
  • Federally recognized tribes
  • State government agencies

For more information about Washington flood and mudslide recovery, visit fema.gov/disaster/4635. Follow the FEMA Region 10 Twitter account at twitter.com/femaregion10.


FEMA’s mission is helping people before, during, and after disasters.      

The Washington State Military Department’s Emergency Management Division leads and coordinates mitigation, preparedness, response and recovery in the state to minimize the impact of disasters and emergencies on the people, property, environment and economy.

Last updated