Survivors in Essex, Hudson, Mercer and Union Counties Can Now Apply for Possible FEMA Assistance

Release Date Release Number
NR 002
Release Date:
September 11, 2021

Trenton, NJ – Today, Essex, Hudson, Mercer and Union counties were designated for Individual Assistance. These counties will now join the previously designated counties of Bergen, Gloucester, Hunterdon, Middlesex, Passaic and Somerset.

If you have homeowners or renters insurance, you should file a claim as soon as possible. By law, FEMA cannot duplicate benefits for losses covered by insurance. If you are uninsured or underinsured, you may be eligible for federal assistance.

The fastest and easiest way to apply is by visiting or by downloading the FEMA App on the Apple App Store or the Google Play Store.

If it is not possible to apply online, call 800-621-3362. If you use a relay service, such as a videophone, InnoCaption, or CapTel, give FEMA the number for that service.

When you apply for assistance, have the following information readily available:

  • A current phone number where you can be contacted
  • Your address at the time of the disaster and the address where you are now staying
  • Your Social Security number, if available
  • A general list of damage and losses
  • If insured, the policy number or the agent and/or the company name

Disaster assistance may include financial help for temporary lodging and home repairs along with other programs to assist families recover from the effects of the event.

Non-Designated County Residents

New Jersey continues to gather data from impacted individuals outside of the ten counties where FEMA has declared the Major Disaster Declaration. The state portal will record basic information including name, location, damages, and cost, and need from impacted residents and businesses. It is accessible at and

Those submitting damages to this system must apply for FEMA assistance separately if the county they live in is designated in the future.

Disaster Recovery Centers

Three Disaster Recovery Centers are now open to help renters and homeowners affected by the remnants of Hurricane Ida.

The centers are located in the following locations:

Middlesex County

Middlesex Fire Academy, 1001 Fire Academy Drive, Cafeteria B, Sayreville, NJ 08872

Hours: 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. ET, Monday through Friday

Saturday and Sunday 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.


Passaic County

Civic Center. 19 Warren Street, Little Falls, NJ 07424

Hours: 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. ET, Monday through Friday

Saturday and Sunday 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.


Gloucester County

Mullica Hill Library, 389 Wolfert Station Road, Mullica Hill, NJ 08062

Hours: 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. ET, Monday through Friday

Saturday 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. and Sunday 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.

FEMA and NJOEM are committed to opening DRCs in each of the designated counties. These additional centers will be opening soon to support survivors in other areas.

Representatives from FEMA, U.S. Small Business Administration, New Jersey State Office of Emergency Management and other state agencies are available at these centers to explain disaster assistance programs, answer questions about written correspondence and provide literature about repairs and rebuilding to make homes more disaster resistant.

For the latest information visit Follow the FEMA Region 2 Twitter account at 

Last updated