FEMA Announces Cost Share Adjustments for all 58 Major Disaster Declarations for COVID-19 Recovery

Release Date Release Number
Release Date:
March 25, 2021

WASHINGTON -- Today, FEMA announced that President Joseph R. Biden, Jr. made additional disaster assistance available for all 50 states, the District of Columbia, five territories and three tribes.

On Feb. 2 ,2021 the President authorized an increase in the level of federal funds for all major disaster declarations that occurred in 2020 and 2021 due to COVID-19. Specifically, the President’s directive allows FEMA to amend the disaster declarations to pay 100% federal funding for the costs of activities that have been determined as eligible expenses. 

The increase provides federal funds for emergency protective measures, including direct federal assistance under the Public Assistance program, at 100% of total eligible costs for work performed from Jan. 20, 2020 through Sept. 30, 2021. 

Previously, federal funding was made available to each state, the District of Columbia, five territories (American Samoa, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Guam, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands),  and two tribes (Seminole Tribe of Florida, and the Navajo Nation) at 75% of the total eligible costs.         

Last updated May 10, 2023