President Donald J. Trump Approves Major Disaster Declaration for Tennessee

Release Date Release Number
Release Date:
July 10, 2020

WASHINGTON — Yesterday, FEMA announced that federal disaster assistance has been made available to the state of Tennessee to supplement state, tribal and local recovery efforts in the areas affected by severe storms, straight-line winds and flooding from May 3-4, 2020.

Federal funding also is available to state, tribal and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms straight-line winds and flooding in Benton, Carroll, Davidson, Decatur, Dickson, Dyer, Hardin, Henderson, Henry, Hickman, Houston, Humphreys, Lake, Lawrence, Lewis, Madison, Maury, Obion, Perry and Weakley counties.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Myra M. Shird has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. Shird said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further assessments.  



Related Links:
Last updated March 18, 2021