U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites..

About Us

Our mission is helping people before, during and after disasters. Our core values and guiding principles help us achieve it.
Illustration of the U.S. Flag on the world globe showing North America
alert - warning

This page has not been translated into Polski. Visit the Polski page for resources in that language.

At FEMA, we employ more than 20,000 people nationwide. Headquartered in Washington, D.C., we have 10 regional offices located across the country. We leverage a tremendous capacity to coordinate within the federal government to make sure America is equipped to prepare for and respond to disasters.

Mission And History

FEMA Today

Department of Homeland Security Seal

FEMA’s mission is helping people before, during and after disasters, and our guiding principles help us achieve it.

Strategic Plan

We’ve developed our 2018-2022 Strategic Plan to achieve three overarching goals:

  1. Build a Culture of Preparedness
  2. Ready the Nation for Catastrophic Disasters
  3. Reduce the Complexity of FEMA


The core values that guide our agency can be found in our capstone doctrine, “We Are FEMA.

Publication One (Pub 1) helps us understand our role in the emergency management community and gives our agency direction in how we conduct ourselves each day.

History of FEMA


FEMA was officially created in 1979 through an executive order by President Jimmy Carter. Our history can be traced as far back as 1803.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the Department of Homeland Security. Learn more about our history.


FEMA is comprised of Program Offices and Regional Offices located throughout the United States.

Our workforce can swell to over 50,000 active members during major disasters.

Learn more about joining FEMA in Careers.

States, Regions, Tribes and Territories

View disaster declarations, news and contact information by state, region, tribe and territory.

Region States/ Territory
Region 1Connecticut | Maine | Massachusetts | New Hampshire | Rhode Island | Vermont
Region 2 New Jersey | New York | Puerto Rico | Virgin Islands
Region 3Delaware | Maryland | Pennsylvania | Virginia | District of Columbia | West Virginia
Region 4Alabama | Florida | Georgia | Kentucky |  Mississippi | North Carolina | South Carolina | Tennessee
Region 5Illinois | Indiana | Michigan | Minnesota | Ohio | Wisconsin
Region 6 Arkansas | Louisiana | New Mexico | Oklahoma | Texas
Region 7Iowa | Kansas | Missouri | Nebraska
Region 8 Colorado | Montana | North Dakota | South Dakota | Utah | Wyoming
Region 9Arizona | California | Hawaii | Nevada | Guam | American Samoa | Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands | Republic of Marshall Islands | Federated States of Micronesia
Region 10Alaska | Idaho | Oregon | Washington


FEMA has several publicly available newsletters that we email to subscribers. The newsletters range from information for emergency managers to location or region specific material for the general public in that area.

Sign Up for Newsletters and See Previous Bulletins