News, Media & Events: California

Events



FEMA manages the National Flood Insurance Program which includes more than 22,600 Participating Communities. This year, FEMA’s Floodplain Management Division is conducting a survey of the nation’s Floodplain Administrators who manage local floodplains for these jurisdictions. Survey findings will inform a five-year National Floodplain Administrators Training Strategy that will be coordinated by the Floodplain Management Division.

Preparedness Tips

A few inches of water in a 1,000-square foot home could cost more than $10,000 in repairs and replacement of personal possessions. Homeowner’s insurance doesn’t cover most floods. Learn more about flood insurance.

Press Releases and Fact Sheets

The Federal Emergency Management Agency’s (FEMA) Region 9 Administrator authorized the use of federal funds on July 4 at 11:37 p.m. PDT / 2:37 a.m. EDT to assist the state of California to combat the French Fire burning in Mariposa County.
illustration of page of paper Press Release |
The Federal Emergency Management Agency’s (FEMA) Region 9 Administrator authorized the use of federal funds on July 2 at 7:13 p.m. PDT / 10:13 p.m. EDT to assist the state of California to combat the Thompson Fire burning in Butte County.
illustration of page of paper Press Release |
San Diego, Calif. — FEMA is reducing the hours of its helpline -- 800-621-3362 -- the number people can call to update their FEMA application or check its status as they continue their recovery from the Jan. 21-23 flooding.
illustration of page of paper Press Release |