残障人士或有可及性/功能需要的人士应为飓风做好准备

Release Date:
六月 9, 2022

您或您的家庭成员是否有需要特殊调整措施的残疾或其它疾病?请在飓风到来之前做好安全疏散的准备。

了解所需的设备

请记住您经常使用的设备。如果您必须疏散的话,可能会有更轻、更容易随身携带的便携式设备,例如轻便的手动轮椅。为正压呼吸机 (C-PAP) 、氧气监测仪、试纸或其它重要设备带上电源线。请不要忘记为服务性动物的用品做好准备。

组建一个团队

如果家庭成员或常规护理人员无法在场的话,请想好在紧急情况下可以提供帮助的人,例如朋友或邻居。确保他们有房子的钥匙,知道如何使用任何医疗或移动设备,并且熟悉储存药物的位置和剂量。

洗肾、物理治疗或其它全身性治疗

向通常提供服务的机构询问他们在紧急情况下的程序是什么。如果您的疏散计划需要搬迁的话,请弄清楚提供者的位置以及他们是否接受您的保险。

定制应急包

如必需的话,请确保将眼镜、助听器、电池/充电器和处方包括在内。列出一份清单,以帮助您确保不会遗忘重要物品。即使您在准备方面需要他人帮助的话,您也应参与这一过程。重要的是每个人都应当亲自参与自己的应急准备工作。每天做一点准备大有好处,可以让您更好地控制准备的结果。

以下网站列出了您疏散时需要携带的基本物品。请查看州长国土安全和应急准备办公室 (Governor’s Office of Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness) 的网站: http://gohsep.la.gov/MITIGATE/OVERVIEW/Fact-Sheet- Index/Disaster-Supply-Kit ;或查看该网站: https://www.ready.gov/disability

如需其它应急准备方面的提示,可在观看这个带有美国手语翻译的联邦紧急事务管理局 (FEMA) 视频:其它有可及性和功能需求的人士应做好应急准备 - YouTube。有关如何为飓风做好准备的更多信息,请访问网站: Ready.gov

Tags:
最近更新时间 六月 10, 2022

Hurricane Preparation for a Person with a Disability or Access/Functional Need

Release Date:
June 9, 2022

Do you or a family member have a disability or condition that requires specific accommodations? Take advantage of the time before a hurricane to plan how you will evacuate safely.

Know What Equipment is Needed

Think about the equipment you use regularly.  If you must evacuate, there may be portable equipment that will be lighter and easier to take with you such as a lightweight manual wheelchair.  Pack cords for a C-PAP machine, oxygen monitors, test strips, or other vital accessories. Supplies for a service animal will make your preparations complete.

Build a Team

Think of people who would be available to assist in an emergency such as friends or neighbors or if a family member or regular caregiver cannot be there. Make sure they have a key to the house and know how to use any medical or mobility equipment and are familiar with the location and dosage of medications.

Dialysis, Physical Therapy or Other Systematic Required Treatment

Learn from your usual provider what their procedures will be in an emergency. If your evacuation plan requires relocating, know where providers are located and if they accept your insurance.

Customize Your Kit

If you depend on them, be sure to include glasses, hearing aids, batteries/chargers, and written prescriptions. Making a list helps make sure you won’t leave important items behind. Even if you need help with preparations, be involved with the process. It is important that each person acts as their own emergency manager. Doing a little every day to be prepared is empowering and gives you better control over the outcome. 

The following websites list basic items to take if you need to evacuate. Go online to the Governor’s Office of Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness http://gohsep.la.gov/MITIGATE/OVERVIEW/Fact-Sheet-Index/Disaster-Supply-Kit or to https://www.ready.gov/disability

For additional preparedness tips, a FEMA video with American Sign Language interpretation can be viewed here: Preparing Makes Sense for People with Disabilities and Other Access and Functional Needs - YouTube. More information on how to prepare for a hurricane is available at Ready.gov.

Tags:
Last updated June 10, 2022