Calaveras County Added to Major Disaster Declaration

Release Date Release Number
Release Date:
January 24, 2023

SACRAMENTO, Calif. – Calaveras County has been added to the major disaster declaration for California’s severe storms and flooding, meaning residents who had damage or losses from the storms that began Dec. 27, 2022, may now apply for FEMA disaster assistance.

The federal disaster declaration now allows FEMA to provide direct support to individuals and households in eight counties under the Individual Assistance program: Calaveras, Merced, Monterey, Sacramento, San Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara and Santa Cruz.

Homeowners and renters in the designated counties who had damage or losses as a direct result of the storms are encouraged to apply for FEMA assistance. Disaster assistance may include grants to help pay for temporary housing and essential home repairs as well as other serious disaster-related needs such as medical and dental expenses, transportation, childcare, and moving and storage expenses.

To apply for FEMA assistance, go to, use the FEMA mobile app or call the FEMA Helpline at 800-621-3362. If you use video relay service (VRS), captioned telephone service or others, give FEMA the number for that service. Helpline operators are available from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m. daily. Press 2 for Spanish. Press 3 for an interpreter who speaks your language. For an accessible video on how to apply, got to

You can also visit a Disaster Recovery Center and meet with FEMA staff and representatives of other federal and state agencies who can provide information about disaster assistance. To find a recovery center near you, visit DRC Locator (

The deadline to apply for FEMA assistance is Thursday, March 16.

Last updated