Survivors in New Haven County Can Now Apply for FEMA Assistance

Release Date Release Number
Release Date:
December 1, 2021

Hartford, Conn.– At the request of the State of Connecticut, FEMA has designated New Haven County for Individual Assistance. The county will now join the previously designated counties of Fairfield and New London.

If you have homeowners or renters insurance, you should file a claim as soon as possible. By law, FEMA cannot duplicate benefits for losses covered by insurance. If you are uninsured or underinsured, you may be eligible for federal assistance.

Disaster assistance may include financial help for disaster related home repairs along with other programs to assist families recover from remnants of Hurricane Ida.

Help is Still Available! Apply with FEMA Today

The fastest and easiest way to apply is by visiting When you apply for assistance, have the following information readily available:

  •     A current phone number where you can be contacted
  •     Your address at the time of the disaster and the address where you are now staying
  •     Your Social Security number, if available
  •     A general list of damage and losses
  •     If insured, the policy number or the agent and/or the company name

Disaster survivors can also access disaster information and assistance the following ways: by calling 800-621-3362; (TTY:800-462-7585); or download the FEMA app available for smart phones. The toll-free telephone lines operate from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m. ET, seven days a week. If you use a relay service, such as video relay service (VRS), captioned telephone service or others, give FEMA the number for that service. Multilingual operators are available.

The deadline to apply for disaster assistance with FEMA is Dec. 29.

Last updated