FEMA Region 4 Announces New Youth Preparedness Council Members

Release Date Release Number
Release Date:
November 18, 2021

ATLANTA – 11 new members are joining the FEMA Region 4 2021-2022 Youth Preparedness Council, a group of high schoolers interested in improving the preparedness and resilience of their communities.

Youth Council members were selected based on their community involvement, public service and potential to improve community resilience.

“Engaging youth in disaster preparedness empowers them to act as change makers in their community,” said FEMA Region 4 Administrator Gracia Szczech. “They can share the preparedness message with their families and peers, and bring creative, new ideas to their communities to help them prepare for emergencies and disasters.”

The Region 4 Youth Preparedness Council cultivates leadership and life skills through a platform for members to share ideas and help build stronger and more resilient communities.

Members of the FEMA Region 4 YPC represent seven Southeast states:

  • Matthew Barfield of Florida
  • Addie Brooks of Tennessee
  • Peyton Granger of South Carolina
  • Stella Lee of Florida
  • Devika Manoj of Georgia
  • Ja'Shaylee Minor of Mississippi
  • Saachi Mody of Florida
  • Ryan Mosley of Alabama
  • Samuel Rios of Kentucky
  • Isabella Tarsitano of Florida
  • Taylor Worbington of Florida

The council is an avenue for FEMA to engage youth and hear their perspectives, feedback and opinions. Members will be mentored by agency staff, to complete a preparedness project.

To learn more about youth preparedness, visit www.ready.gov/youth-preparedness.

Last updated November 18, 2021