Disaster Recovery Center Opens in Southfield, Michigan (Oakland County)

Release Date Release Number
DR-4607-MI NR-032
Release Date:
October 5, 2021

Detroit – A Disaster Recovery Center will open in Southfield on Wednesday, Oct. 6, to help renters, homeowners and business owners affected by the June 25 – 26 severe storms and flooding.    


The center will be in the following location: 


Southfield Center (City Office Buildings Complex)

26000 Evergreen Rd. 

Southfield, MI 48076 

(Located in the Parks and Recreation building across from City Hall. Both facilities are in the same building)


Hours will be 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. ET, Monday through Saturday. The center will be closed Sunday, Oct. 10 and Monday, Columbus Day, Oct. 11.


At the Disaster Recovery Center, representatives from FEMA, the U.S. Small Business Administration, Michigan State Police, Emergency Management and Homeland Security Division, and other state agencies are available to explain disaster assistance programs, answer questions about written correspondence and provide literature about repairs and rebuilding to make homes more disaster resistant.  


Before visiting a recovery center, survivors should register for federal assistance one of the following ways: 

  • Online at DisasterAssistance.gov
  • Using the FEMA App; or 
  • Calling 800-621-3362 (including 711 or Video Relay). TTY users can call 800-462-7585. The toll-free numbers are open from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m. ET, seven days a week. Multilingual operators are available. 


Anyone requiring a reasonable accommodation (ASL interpreting, Braille, Large print, etc.) may call 800-621-3362 to request assistance in advance or ask the recovery staff at the center for assistance. 


In-person assistance from FEMA representatives remains available at Disaster Recovery Centers located in southeast Michigan. Individuals can visit any open center to get the help they need with the federal assistance process.


      To find the location and operational hours of the nearest center to you, visit FEMA’s DRC locator page at fema.gov/DRCLocator.

For more information about Michigan’s recovery, visit fema.gov/disaster/4607. FEMA assistance is currently available to residents in Washtenaw and Wayne counties, and now Oakland and Macomb. The deadline for individuals to apply for disaster assistance is Nov. 12, 2021.




Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency, or economic status. Reasonable accommodations, including translation and American Sign Language interpreters via Video Relay Service will be available to ensure effective communication with applicants with limited English proficiency, disabilities, and access and functional needs. If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-3362 (including 711 or Video Relay). If you are deaf, hard of hearing or have a speech disability and use a TTY, call 800-462-7585. 


FEMA’s mission is helping people before, during, and after disasters.  

Last updated