Main Content

National Dam Safety Review Board Members

The Review Board advises FEMA’s Administrator in setting national dam safety priorities and considers the effects of national policy issues affecting dam safety. Review Board members include FEMA, the Chair of the Board and representatives from four federal agencies that serve on the Interagency Committee on Dam Safety (ICODS), five state dam safety officials and one member from the private sector.

View the list below of National Dam Safety Review Board Members and their associated agency and contact information.

National Dam Safety Review Board Members

Edward Laatsch – Acting Chair, edward.laatsch@fema.dhs.gov
Planning, Safety and Building Sciences Division Director; Federal Insurance and Mitigation Administration; Department of Homeland Security/FEMA

Brian Becker, bbecker@usbr.gov
Senior Advisor; Design, Estimates, Construction; Dam Safety Officer; U.S. Bureau of Reclamation

John Bianco, john.p.bianco@usace.army.mil
Special Assistant for Dam and Levee Safety; Engineering and Construction; U.S. Army Corp of Engineers

David E. Capka david.capka@ferc.gov
Deputy Director, Division of Dam Safety and Inspections; Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

Peter Goodmann, peter.goodmann@ky.gov,
Director, Division of Water; Kentucky Department of Environmental Protection

Noller Herbert, noller.herbert@wdc.usda.gov
Director of Engineering; Engineering Division; USDA/Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS)

Nicole Kennedy, nicolekennedy@fs.fed.us
National Dams Program Manager; U.S. Forest Service

Michele Lemieux, mlemieux@mt.gov
Section Supervisor; Montana Department of Natural Resources and Conservation

Yohanes Sugeng, yohanes.sugeng@owrb.ok.gov
Engineering Manager, Planning and Management Division; Oklahoma Water Resources Board

Jim Gallagher, james.gallagher@des.nh.gov
Chief Engineer; New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services

Ariya Balakrishnan, ariya.balakrishnan@water.ca.gov 

Program Manager/Principal Engineer, Division of Safety Dams; California Department of Water Resources

John S. Wolfhope, jsw@freese.com
Central Division Manager; Freese and Nichols, Inc.; United States Society on Dams; (Private Sector Representative);

Jose Lara, CPP, jose.lara@caloes.ca.gov, Branch Chief, Hazard Mitigation and Dam Safety; California Governor's Office of Emergency Services (CalOES)

Workgroup Chairs

Michele Lemieux (Non-Federal Chair – Research Workgroup), mlemieux@mt.gov
Section Supervisor; Montana Department of Natural Resources and Conservation

Sherry Hunt (Federal) Research Leader, sherry.hunt@ars.usda.gov       
;
Agricultural Research Service; United States Department of Agriculture

Jose Lara (Non-Federal) jose.lara@caloes.ca.gov, Dam Safety Planning Division; California Governor's Office of Emergency Services (CalOES)

David Capka (Federal Co-Chair Research Workgroup), david.capka@ferc.gov, Deputy Director, Division of Dam Safety and Inspections, Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

Rebecca Ragon (Chair-NID Workgroup), rebecca.ragon@usace.army.mil, National Inventory of Dams; U.S. Army Geospatial Center; U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Paul Shannon (Chair – Communications and Outreach Workgroup), paul.shannon@ferc.gov
Branch Chief; Division of Dam Safety and Inspections; Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

Jason Sheeley (Federal Co-Chair – EAP Workgroup), jason.t.sheeley@usace.army.mil
Chief, Mapping Branch, MMC Production CenterU.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Erin Williams (Chair – Training Workgroup), erin.williams@ferc.gov
Civil Engineer; Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

Last Updated: 
12/31/2019 - 10:23