Main Content

National Dam Safety Review Board Members

The Review Board advises FEMA’s Administrator in setting national dam safety priorities and considers the effects of national policy issues affecting dam safety. Review Board members include FEMA, the Chair of the Board and representatives from four federal agencies that serve on the Interagency Committee on Dam Safety (ICODS), five state dam safety officials and one member from the private sector.

View the list below of National Dam Safety Review Board Members and their associated agency and contact information.

National Dam Safety Review Board Members

Edward Laatsch – Acting Chair, edward.laatsch@fema.dhs.gov
Planning, Safety and Building Sciences Division Director; Federal  Insurance and Mitigation Administration; DHS/FEMA

William H. Allerton, william.allerton@ferc.gov
Director, Division of Dam Safety and Inspections; Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

Brian Becker, bbecker@usbr.gov
Senior Advisor; Design, Estimates, Construction; Dam Safety Officer; U.S. Bureau of Reclamation

John Bianco, john.p.bianco@usace.army.mil
Special Assistant for Dam and Levee Safety; Engineering and Construction; U.S. Army Corp of Engineers

James W. Gallagher, Jr., P.E., james.gallagher@des.nh.gov
Chief Engineer, Dam Bureau; New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services

Peter Goodmann, peter.goodmann@ky.gov
Director, Division of Water; Kentucky Department for Environmental Protection

David A. Gutierrez (Non-Federal Co-Chair – Research Workgroup), daveg@water.ca.gov
Chief, Division of Safety of Dams; California Department of Water Resources

Noller Herbert, noller.herbert@wdc.usda.gov
Director of Engineering; Engineering Division; USDA/Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS)

Mishelle Noble-Blair, mnoble@fairfaxwater.org
Fairfax Water; (Non-voting Member)

John S. Wolfhope, jsw@freese.com
United States Society on Dams; (Private Sector Representative); Central Division Manager; Freese and Nichols, Inc.

Workgroup Chairs

David E. Capka (Federal Co-Chair – Research Workgroup), david.capka@ferc.gov
Deputy Director, Division of Dam Safety and Inspections; Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

David A. Gutierrez (Non-Federal Co-Chair – Research Workgroup), daveg@water.ca.gov
Chief, Division of Safety of Dams; California Department of Water Resources

Rebecca Ragon (Chair – NID Workgroup), rebecca.ragon@usace.army.mil          
National Inventory of Dams; U.S. Army Geospatial Center; U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Meg Richardson (Non-Federal Co-Chair – Communications and Outreach Workgroup), mrmq@pge.com
Manager; Power Generation – Public Safety; Pacific Gas and Electric Company

Paul Shannon (Federal Co-Chair – Communications and Outreach Workgroup), paul.shannon@ferc.gov
Branch Chief; Division of Dam Safety and Inspections; Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

Jason Sheeley (Federal Co-Chair – EAP Workgroup), jason.t.sheeley@usace.army.mil
Chief, Mapping Branch; U.S. Army Corps of Engineers; MMC Production Center

Mark Slauter (Non-Federal Co-Chair- EAP Workgroup), mark.slauter@vdem.virginia.gov
IFLOWS Branch Chief; VA Department of Emergency Management

Erin Williams (Chair – Training Workgroup), erin.williams@ferc.gov
Civil Engineer; Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

Last Updated: 
06/20/2017 - 10:03