Main Content

National Dam Safety Review Board Members

The Review Board advises FEMA’s Administrator in setting national dam safety priorities and considers the effects of national policy issues affecting dam safety. Review Board members include FEMA, the Chair of the Board and representatives from four federal agencies that serve on the Interagency Committee on Dam Safety (ICODS), five state dam safety officials and one member from the private sector.

View the list below of National Dam Safety Review Board Members and their associated agency and contact information.

National Dam Safety Review Board Members

Edward Laatsch – Acting Chair, edward.laatsch@fema.dhs.gov
Planning, Safety and Building Sciences Division Director; Federal Insurance and Mitigation Administration; DHS/FEMA

Nathan Tatum, nathan_tatum@nps.gov 
 National Park Service

Brian Becker, bbecker@usbr.gov
Senior Advisor; Design, Estimates, Construction; Dam Safety Officer; U.S. Bureau of Reclamation

John Bianco, john.p.bianco@usace.army.mil
Special Assistant for Dam and Levee Safety; Engineering and Construction; U.S. Army Corp of Engineers

David E. Capka david.capka@ferc.gov
Deputy Director, Division of Dam Safety and Inspections; Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

Peter Goodmann, peter.goodmann@ky.gov,
Director, Division of Water; Kentucky Department of Environmental Protection

Noller Herbert, noller.herbert@wdc.usda.gov
Director of Engineering; Engineering Division; USDA/Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS)

Nicole Kennedy, nicolekennedy@fs.fed.us
National Dams Program Manager; U.S. Forest Service

Michele Lemieux, mlemieux@mt.gov
Section Supervisor; Montana Department of Natural Resources and Conservation

Darin L. Shaffer, PE, darin.shaffer@dep.nj.gov
NJDEP Bureau of Dam Safety; (Private Sector Representative); Manager

Sharon Tapia
Chief; Division of Safety of Dams; California Department of Water Resources

John S. Wolfhope, jsw@freese.com
United States Society on Dams; (Private Sector Representative); Central Division Manager; Freese and Nichols, Inc.

Meg Galloway, Meg.Galloway@wisonsin.gov, Supervisor; Environmental Engineer, State of Wisconsin as Private Sector Representative

Jose Lara, CPP, jose.lara@caloes.ca.gov, Branch Chief, Hazard Mitigation and Dam Safety; California Governor's Office of Emergency Services (CalOES)

Workgroup Chairs

Michele Lemieux (Non-Federal Chair – Research Workgroup), mlemieux@mt.gov
Section Supervisor; Montana Department of Natural Resources and Conservation

Sherry Hunt (Federal) Research Leader, sherry.hunt@ars.usda.gov       
United States Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service

Jose Lara (Non-Federal) jose.lara@caloes.ca.gov, Dam Safety Planning Division; California Governor's Office of Emergency Services (CalOES)

David Capka (Federal Co-Chair Research Workgroup), david.capka@ferc.gov, Deputy Director, Division of Dam Safety and Inspections, Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

Rebecca Ragon (Chair-NID Workgroup), rebecca.ragon@usace.army.mil, National Inventory of Dams; U.S. Army Geospatial Center; U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Paul Shannon (Chair – Communications and Outreach Workgroup), paul.shannon@ferc.gov
Branch Chief; Division of Dam Safety and Inspections; Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

Jason Sheeley (Federal Co-Chair – EAP Workgroup), jason.t.sheeley@usace.army.mil
Chief, Mapping Branch; U.S. Army Corps of Engineers; MMC Production Center

Erin Williams (Chair – Training Workgroup), erin.williams@ferc.gov
Civil Engineer; Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

Last Updated: 
09/10/2019 - 14:16