U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.

Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on a federal government site.


The site is secure.

The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Flood Mitigation Grant

The Flood Mitigation Assistance Program is a competitive grant program that provides funding to states, local communities, federally-recognized tribes and territories. Funds can be used for projects that reduce or eliminate the risk of repetitive flood damage to buildings insured by the National Flood Insurance Program.

FEMA chooses recipients based on the applicant’s ranking of the project and the eligibility and cost-effectiveness of the project.

FEMA requires state, local, tribal and territorial governments to develop and adopt hazard mitigation plans as a condition for receiving certain types of non-emergency disaster assistance, including funding for hazard mitigation assistance projects. For more information, go the Hazard Mitigation Assistance Guidance.

Apply for a Flood Mitigation Assistance Grant

Who is Eligible

Only use planning sub-applications to support the flood hazard portion of state, tribal or local mitigation plans. Funds are only available to communities participating in the National Flood Insurance Program.

To keep project sub-applications consistent with the goals and objectives identified in the current, FEMA-approved state or tribal (standard or enhanced) hazard mitigation plan for the jurisdiction in which the activity is located.

How to Apply

Complete and submit your mitigation and project application to eligible state and territorial agencies, local governments or local communities, tribal agencies and federally-recognized tribes.

Local communities generally sponsor applications on behalf of homeowners.

Grants are submitted through the Mitigation eGrants System.

Using the eGrants System

Learn how to use the Mitigation eGrants system to complete and submit your flood mitigation assistance application. The following courses are available:

For assistance, send an email to MTeGrants@fema.dhs.gov or call 855-228-3362.


Application - Application for federal financial assistance directly from FEMA.

Applicant acting as sub-applicant sub-application - A state agency or federally-recognized tribal government submitting technical assistance or management costs sub-applications which will be included in an application for assistance under FEMA's mitigation grant programs.

Federal Award - The federal financial assistance received directly from FEMA.

Sub-award - The federal financial assistance received indirectly from a pass-through entity (applicant to a sub-applicant).

Sub-recipient - A sub-applicant whose sub-application has been approved and a sub-award obligated.

Applicant - A state agency, territorial government, or federally-recognized tribal government submitting an application to FEMA for assistance under FEMA's mitigation grant programs.

Sub-applicant - A state agency, local government, territorial government, federally-recognized tribal government, or qualified private non-profit organization submitting a sub-application to an applicant for assistance under FEMA's mitigation grant programs.

Sub-application - Application for federal financial assistance indirectly through a pass-through entity (sub-applicant to applicant, applicant to FEMA).

Recipient - An applicant whose application has been approved and a federal award obligated.

Last updated Jun 28, 2020

Would you like to take a brief survey regarding your experience with fema.gov?