Core Capability Development Sheets

FEMA’s Core Capability Development Sheets provide tools that organizations can use to build or sustain their capabilities and close identified gaps. The National Preparedness Goal establishes 32 Core Capabilities to address the greatest risks to the nation.

Each sheet provides the following information, tailored to the Core Capability:

  • Training courses
  • Standardized capability targets
  • Nationally-typed resources
  • Planning partners
  • Validation support

The set of Core Capability icons are also available for jurisdictions to use. 

These documents may contain links or references to nonfederal products, entities, or services. Such references do not constitute an endorsement by the Federal Emergency Management Agency, the U.S. Department of Homeland Security, or any federal employee, of the information they present.

Core Capability Development Sheets

Core capability development sheets for all mission areas: prevention, protection, mitigation, response and recovery.

Core Capability Icons

There are 32 core capability icons; a unique icon for each core capability. These are included on the Core Capability Development Sheets and are available as PNG files for state, local, tribal and territorial partners to use in promoting their core capability actions and activities.

Last updated