Regional Leaders Named to Federal Wildfire Commission

Release Date Release Number
Release Date:
July 15, 2022

The Biden-Harris administration selected seven representatives from within FEMA Region 10 states and tribes to serve on the Wildland Fire Mitigation and Management Commission.

FEMA, representing the Department of Homeland Security, and the Departments of Interior and Agriculture have announced the selection of members to the Wildland Fire Mitigation and Management Commission. Of the 36 non-federal members selected, seven are located within FEMA Region 10 states and tribes.

As an increasing number of communities face wildfires each year and many continue to struggle to recover from recent active wildfire season, the Wildland Fire Mitigation and Management Commission represents a whole of government approach to tackling the wildfire crisis. Members will provide a diverse range of perspectives and expertise to develop ways to address the growing threat of wildfires across the country.

Commission members represent federal agencies, state, local, and tribal governments, and the private sector. They are tasked with developing federal policy recommendations to prevent, suppress, manage, and recover from wildland fires as well develop recommendations to more cost effectively meet aerial firefighting equipment needs through 2030. These recommendations will be submitted to Congress within a year of their first meeting.

The following members are located within FEMA Region 10:

Tim Cook, Washington State Hazard Mitigation Officer, Washington (seat: State Hazard Mitigation (alternate))

Cody Desautel, Natural Resource Director, Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation, Washington (seat: Forestry/Industry Representative)

Gary Jackson, Tribal Vice-Chairman, Cow Creek Band of Umpqua Tribe of Indians, Oregon (seat: Tribal Government Representative (alternate))

Elizabeth (Eli) King, Washington State Energy Management Director, Washington (seat: State Department of Energy or similar State agency)

Brian Kittler, Senior Director of Forest Restoration, American Forests, Oregon (seat: Forest Stewardship and Reforestation (alternate))

Kelly Martin, President of Grassroots Wildland Firefighters, Idaho (seat: Wildland Firefighter)

Mariana Ruiz-Temple, Oregon State Fire Marshal, Oregon (seat: State Fire Response)

Details on all commission members are available at the Wildland Fire Mitigation and Management Commission website.

The Commission was initially established in 2021 as part of the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law (Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act) with a call for nominations issued in March 2022. 500 applications were received, and 36 non-federal members were selected (18 primary and 18 alternates).

Contact Us

If you have any questions, please contact FEMA Region 10 Office of External Affairs:

Follow Us

Follow FEMA Region 10 on Twitter and LinkedIn and visit for more information.

FEMA Mission

Helping people before, during, and after disasters.

Last updated July 15, 2022