Mississippi Survivors Affected by Hurricane Ida Can Apply for FEMA Assistance

Release Date Release Number
Release Date:
October 26, 2021

PEARL, Miss. – Homeowners and renters from Amite, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, Pearl River, Pike, Walthall and Wilkinson counties who were affected by Hurricane Ida from Aug. 28 – Sept. 1, 2021, may apply for FEMA disaster assistance.

Survivors can apply for disaster assistance at www.disasterassistance.gov, by calling 800-621-3362 from 6 a.m. to midnight Central Time, or by using the FEMA mobile app. If you use a relay service such as video relay service (VRS), captioned telephone service or others, give FEMA the number for that service.

When you apply for assistance, have the following information readily available:

  • A current phone number where you can be contacted.
  • Your address at the time of the disaster and the address where you are now staying.
  • Your Social Security number.
  • A general list of damage and losses.
  • Banking information if you choose direct deposit.
  • If insured, the policy number or the agent and/or the company name.

Survivors may be eligible to receive assistance for uninsured and underinsured damage and losses resulting from the Hurricane Ida. If you have homeowners, renter’s or flood insurance, you should file a claim as soon as possible. FEMA cannot duplicate benefits for losses covered by insurance. If your policy does not cover all your damage expenses, you may be eligible for federal assistance.

Take photos to document damage and begin cleanup and repairs to prevent further damage. Remember to keep receipts from all purchases related to the cleanup and repair.

Disaster assistance may include financial help with temporary lodging and home repairs, along with other programs to assist those recovering from the flooding.

For more information about Hurricane Ida recovery in Mississippi, visit www.fema.gov/disaster/4626. Follow the FEMA Region 4 Twitter account at twitter.com/femaregion4.

Last updated