Main Content

NIMS Guide 0004_2008

Purpose of the Guide: This NIMS Guide provides a brief overview of five recommended standards that support NIMS implementation. Through evaluation and practitioner review conducted in 2007, the Incident Management Systems Division (IMSD) has identified and recommends that emergency management/ response organizations and private sector vendors voluntarily adopt the following five standards, which support interoper- ability among communications and information management systems: • ANSI INCITS 398-2005: Information Technology – Common Biometric Exchange Formats Framework (CBEFF) • IEEE 1512-2006: Standard for Common Incident Management Message Sets for Use by Emergency Management Centers • NFPA 1221: Standard for Installation, Maintenance, and Use of Emergency Services Communications Systems • OASIS Common Alerting Protocol (CAP) v1.1 • OASIS Emergency Data Exchange Language (EDXL) Distribution Element v1.0
SizePublication Date
Icon for file of type application/pdfNIMS Guide 0004_2008
0.04MJanuary 1, 2008