alert - warning

This page has not been translated into 한국어. Visit the 한국어 page for resources in that language.

Survivors Who Are Not U.S. Citizens Could Be Eligible for Disaster Assistance

Release Date:
9월 17, 2021

Residents of any of the designated New Jersey counties for FEMA’s Individuals and Households Assistance Program – Bergen, Essex, Gloucester, Hudson, Hunterdon, Mercer, Middlesex, Morris, Passaic, Somerset and Union counties – are encouraged to apply for assistance by going online at or by calling 800-621-3362 (TTY: 800-462-7585).

Help might be available to non-citizen nationals and qualified non-citizens. Their status will not be jeopardized by requesting disaster assistance.

A qualified non-citizen includes the following:

  •     Legal permanent resident (“green card” holder)
  •     An asylee, refugee, or an non-citizen whose deportation is being withheld
  •     Non-citizen paroled into the U.S. for at least one year
  •     Non-citizen granted conditional entry (per law in effect prior to April 1, 1980)
  •     Cuban/Haitian entrant
  •     Certain non-citizens subjected to extreme cruelty or who have been a victim of a severe form of human trafficking, including persons with a “T” or “U” visa.

A parent or guardian who isn’t eligible may register for assistance on behalf of a child under age 18 who is a citizen, non-citizen national or qualified non-citizen. No information will be gathered on the adult’s status.

If you are unsure of your eligibility, FEMA will assist you through the process when you call. Alternatively, you may consult with an immigration specialist, prior to calling FEMA, to inquire if your immigration status meets the criteria for qualified non-citizen.

For the latest information visit Follow the FEMA Region 2 Twitter account at