Property Owners - Applying for Flood Mitigation Assistance's Swift Current Initiative

This fact sheet provides detailed information for property owners interested in participating in the Swift Current initiative.

Visit the main Swift Current Initiative page for more information about the full initiative, including key definitions and full eligibility information.

Participation in Swift Current

Participation in FEMA-funded programs is strictly voluntary and interested homeowners should contact their local floodplain administrator or emergency manager for further information about FEMA programs and the application submission process. If homeowners experience issues, they can reach out to their State Hazard Mitigation Officer

The application period for Swift Current opens on April 1, 2022, and closes on Oct. 3, 2022. Check with the local government to learn about any earlier deadlines they may have.

Swift Current Project Types

The following project types are eligible1 to participate in FMA Swift Current, even if an insurance claim has been filed:

  • Property Acquisition and Structure Demolition/Relocation
  • Structure Elevation
  • Dry Floodproofing of Historic Residential Structures or Non-residential Structures
  • Non-structural Retrofitting of Existing Buildings and Facilities
  • Mitigation Reconstruction2
  • Structural Retrofitting of Existing Buildings

Insurance claims can count toward the non-FEMA cost-share portion of the mitigation project. Property owners are required to report additional information to prevent Duplication of Benefits.

Duplication of Benefits

Duplication of Benefits refers to assistance from more than one source that is used for the same mitigation purpose or activity. The purpose may apply to the whole project or only part of it. Examples of other sources include insurance claims, other assistance programs (including previous project or planning grants and subgrants from Hazard Mitigation Assistance programs), legal awards, or other benefits associated with properties or damage that is the subject of litigation.

It is the responsibility of the property owner to report other benefits received, any applications for other assistance, the availability of insurance proceeds, or the potential for other compensation, such as from pending legal claims for damages, relating to the property.

Application Process for Property Owners

If the property meets the eligibility requirements (please see eligibility requirements in the Swift Current Individual Flood Mitigation fact sheet) and the owner wants to participate in the Swift Current program, the property owner will need to contact the state or local government to start an application. The application requires input and information from the community and all interested property owners.

The local government is considered the subapplicant and will develop a subapplication with any interested property owners. The local government will submit the subapplication to the state on property owner’s behalf, and the state will submit the application to FEMA. FEMA will select projects based on eligibility and funding available in each state.

The exact process and timeline for project implementation will vary based on the project type. Once the property has been selected for mitigation, the local government will contact the property owner on how to move forward with the project.

Determination of Property Value for Acquisition

The most common approach to estimate fair market value of the real property (land and structures or land only) is for the community to hire an appraiser when the community receives an official grant award, and the homeowner agrees to sell the property. The appraisal must be conducted in accordance with the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice.

The community must coordinate with the state to determine the assumptions that will be used in the appraisal (i.e., current or pre-event market value), and the assumptions must be applied consistently throughout the project area for all properties to be acquired.

Ineligible Costs for Structure Elevation

Certain structure elevation activities and their associated costs are not eligible. Ineligible costs for structure elevation include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • Elevating structures that were not in compliance with current NFIP standards at the time of construction
  • Costs related to building additions or auxiliary structures
  • Construction of new decks or porches
  • Any improvements for purely aesthetic reasons, unless required by the Environmental Planning and Historic Preservation (EHP) compliance review
  • Costs to replace or repair utility service components that are undersized, inadequately designed, or unsafe, unless required by code (except utility rooms noted as eligible costs)
  • Exterior finish on the exposed foundation of the elevated building, unless required by EHP compliance review and/or local code 
  • Additional landscaping for ornamentation beyond what existed on the site prior to construction of the project (e.g., trees, shrubs)

Other Considerations

Once the structure has been mitigated, insurance through the NFIP is required throughout the life of the building, regardless of flood zone.

Additional Resources

The links below provide additional information related to the FMA program and resources to assist applicants and subapplicants in their development of FMA projects.


  1. If a subapplication includes a property that is not Severe Repetitive Loss, Repetitive Loss, or deemed substantially damaged after Aug. 26, 2021, FEMA reserves the right to remove the property from the subapplication prior to selection.
  2. Eligible mitigation reconstruction costs are limited to a $150,000 federal share per property. Some eligible activities, such as administrative allowances and permitting fees, need not be included in the $150,000 maximum federal share.


Last updated