U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.

Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on a federal government site.


The site is secure.

The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Tribal Declarations Pilot Guidance

The Sandy Recovery Improvement Act of 2013 (SRIA) amended the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, as amended, 42 U.S.C. §§ 5121 et seq. (Stafford Act), to provide federally recognized Indian tribal governments (tribal governments) the option to request a Presidential emergency or major disaster declaration. FEMA is implementing this authority in three phases:

  1. Use of state regulations (January 29, 2013 - January 9, 2017): To provide tribal governments the choice to use the authority provided by SRIA immediately following its enactment, FEMA began processing tribal declaration requests using state declaration regulations.  
  2. Pilot period (January 10, 2017 – TBD): The release of the Tribal Declarations Pilot Guidance marks the official beginning of the pilot period for tribal declarations utilizing the guidance.
  3. Rulemaking: Following the pilot period, FEMA will implement this authority through notice and comment rulemaking.
Last updated Jun 15, 2020

Would you like to take a brief survey regarding your experience with fema.gov?