Main Content


Training provides first responders, homeland security officials, emergency management officials, private and non-governmental partners and other personnel with the knowledge, skills and abilities needed to perform key tasks required by specific capabilities.

Organizations should make training decisions based on information derived from the assessments, strategies, and plans developed in previous steps of the Preparedness Cycle. Regions, States and urban areas conduct Training and Exercise Planning Workshops (T&EPW) to review and establish priorities for training and exercises and develop Multi-Year Training and Exercise Plans to address the priorities.

National Training Program

Preparedness Cycle - Evaluate/Improve - Plan - Organize/Equip -Train - Exercise

The National Training Program (NTP) provides an organized approach to training for emergency managers and emergency response providers across the nation that supports the National Preparedness Guidelines. The NTP will provide policy, guidance and tools that address training design, development, delivery and evaluation, as appropriate. The NTP will support the development, promulgation and regular updating, as necessary, of national voluntary consensus standards for training; and ensure that the training provided under the NTP is consistent with the standards.

FEMA Training Organizations

Center for Domestic Preparedness

The Center for Domestic Preparedness (CDP) develops and delivers advanced training for emergency response providers, emergency managers, and other government officials from state, local, tribal and territorial governments. The CDP offers more than 50 training courses at its resident campus in Anniston, Alabama focusing on incident management, mass casualty response, and emergency response to a catastrophic natural disaster or terrorist act. Training at the CDP campus is federally funded at no cost to state, local, and tribal emergency response professionals or their agency.For more information on the CDP's specialized programs and courses, visit CDP.

Emergency Management Institute

The Emergency Management Institute (EMI) serves as the national focal point for the development and delivery of emergency management training to enhance the capabilities of federal, state, local, tribal and territorial government officials, volunteer organizations and the public and private sectors to minimize the impact of disasters. Visit for the latest offering of Independent Study courses. Visit for the latest offering of resident and field courses.

National Training and Education Division

Training and Exercise Integration/ Training Operations (TEI/TO) serves the nation's first responder community, offering more than 125 courses to help build critical skills that responders need to function effectively in mass consequence events. NTED primarily serves state, local, tribal and territorial entities in 10 professional disciplines, but has expanded to serve private sector and citizens in recognition of their significant role in domestic preparedness. NTED draws upon a diverse group of training providers, also referred to as training partners, to develop and deliver NTED approved training courses. These training providers include the National Domestic Preparedness Consortium (NDPC), the Rural Domestic Preparedness Consortium (RDPC), the Naval Postgraduate School (NPS) and Center for Domestic Preparedness (CDP), among others. NTED also provides oversight to the Competitive Training Grants Program (CTGP), which awards funds to competitively selected applicants to develop and deliver innovative training programs addressing high priority national homeland security training needs.

National Fire Academy

The National Fire Academy (NFA) is the nation's premier provider of leadership skills and advanced technical training fostering a solid foundation for local fire and emergency services stakeholders in prevention, preparedness and response.  The NFA employs resident and off-campus classroom, blended and distance learning options – including national distribution systems of accredited state and metropolitan fire training systems and colleges and universities to reach America’s first responders. All NFA courses receive college credit recommendation through the American Council on Education and continuing education units through the International Association for Continuing Education and Training.

Courses offered by all of the organizations above can be located in the NTED Course Catalog.

Workforce Development Division

The Workforce Development Division (WDD) develops, coordinates, resources, and executes training, education, experiential learning, and standard qualification processes to ensure FEMA’s incident workforce is well prepared to support disaster survivors and first responders in all hazards events. WDD administers the FEMA Qualification System (FQS), coordinates course delivery and development requirements for the incident workforce in coordination with FEMA’s twenty-three cadres, and leads initiatives related to expeditionary workforce efforts.

Search for Training Information

By Audience

By Topic

Other Training Resources

Federal Law Enforcement Training Center

The FLETC serves as an interagency law enforcement training organization for more than 80 Federal agencies. The Center also provides services to state, local, and international law enforcement agencies.

Last Updated: 
04/02/2020 - 11:58