alert - warning

This page has not been translated into Swahili. Visit the Swahili page for resources in that language.

Earthquake Contacts

Headquarters Contacts

Regional Contacts

State Contacts

Many state and territorial governments include programs or positions responsible for coordinating efforts to reduce seismic risks. Earthquake programs are typically found in state emergency management agencies and state earthquake risk-reduction activities are typically led by earthquake program managers or coordinators or by state hazard mitigation officers.

This information is provided as a convenience for persons involved or interested in earthquake risk-reduction activities at the state level. FEMA updates this information as changes become known but cannot guarantee its complete up-to-date accuracy.

For resources and information on how to integrate individuals with disabilities and others with access and functional needs into hazard mitigation planning, contact FEMA’s Office of Disability Integration and Coordination.

Headquarters Contacts

Bill Blanton
Chief, Earthquake and Wind Programs Branch
400 C Street, SW
Washington, DC 20472
bill.blanton@fema.dhs.gov

Andrew Herseth, PE, SE
Structural Engineer, Earthquake and Wind Programs Branch
NEHRP Special Projects, Seismic Building Codes and Standards
(202) 445-6129
andrew.herseth@fema.dhs.gov

Christina Aronson PE SE
Civil Engineer, Earthquake and Wind Programs Branch
Seismic Guidance for Existing Buildings
(720) 626-3200
christina.aronson@fema.gov

Jon Foster
Program Specialist, Earthquake and Wind Programs Branch
FEMA NEHRP State Assistance Grant Program
(202) 212-7852
jonathon.foster@fema.dhs.gov

Maigen Wise
Program Specialist, Earthquake and Wind Programs Branch
National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program Grant Program
(202) 341-4710
maigen.wise@fema.dhs.gov

Pataya Scott, PhD, EIT
Civil Engineer, Earthquake and Wind Programs Branch
Multi-hazard Issues
(202) 212-5168
pataya.scott@fema.dhs.gov

Mai “Mike” Tong
Physical Scientist, Earthquake and Wind Programs Branch
Seismic Guidance for New Buildings
(202) 701-3727
mai.tong@fema.dhs.gov

Regional Contacts

RegionContact
Region 1
(CT, MA, ME, NH, RI, VT)
Paul Morey
(617) 956-7628
paul.morey@fema.dhs.gov
Region 2
(NJ, NY, PR, VI)
Jose Lebron
(202) 805-7712
jose.lebron@fema.dhs.gov
Region 3
(DC, DE, MD, PA, VA, WV)
Kristen Jones
(267) 896-1116
kristen.jones@fema.dhs.gov
Region 4
(AL, FL, GA, KY, MS, NC, SC, TN)
Noriko Kibble
(770) 220-8870
noriko.kibble@fema.dhs.gov
Region 5
(IL, IN, MI, MN, OH, WI)
Greg Tatara
(312) 408-5236
greg.tatara@fema.dhs.gov
Region 6
(AR, LA, NM, OK, TX)
Bart Moore
(940) 898-5363
bart.moore@fema.dhs.gov
Region 7
(IA, KS, MO, NE)
Cheickh Koma
(816) 283-7067
cheickh.koma@fema.dhs.gov
Region 8
(CO, MT, ND, SD, UT, WY)
Sean McGowan
(303) 235-4800
sean.mcgowan@fema.dhs.gov
Region 9
(AS, AZ, CA, FM, GU, HI, MH, MP, NV)
Anne Rosinski
(510) 627-7172
anne.rosinski@fema.dhs.gov
Region 10
(AK, ID, OR, WA)
Hannah Rabinowitz
(425) 487-8255
hannah.rabinowitz@fema.dhs.gov

State Contacts

State Name Email
Alabama Natasha Jackson natasha.jackson@ema.alabama.gov
Alaska Anthony Picasso anthony.picasso@alaska.gov
American Samoa Mulivanu Aiumu m.aiumu@asdhs.as.gov
Arizona Jeri Young Ben-Horin jeribenhorin@arizona.edu
Arkansas Hilda Booth eq@adem.arkansas.gov
British Columbia Robert White Robert.White@gov.bc.ca
California Yvette LaDuke Yvette.laduke@caloes.ca.gov
Colorado Karen Barry kaberry@mines.edu
Connecticut Brenda Bergeron brenda.bergeron@ct.gov
Delaware Stephanie Baxter steff@udel.edu
Florida Miles Anderson miles.anderson@em.myflorida.com
Georgia Ginger Martin ginger.martin@gema.ga.gov
Guam Ron Obispo ronald.obispo@ghs.guam.gov
Hawaii Julie Fujimoto julie.m.fujimoto@hawaii.gov
Idaho Susan Cleverley scleverley@imd.idaho.gov
Illinois Scott Gauvin scott.gauvin@illinois.gov
Indiana Allison Curry acurry@dhs.in.gov
Iowa David Johnston david.johnston@iowa.gov
Kansas Jeanne Bunting jeanne.l.bunting.nfg@mail.mil
Kentucky Steve "Bru" Brukwicki steven.e.brukwicki.nfg@army.mil
Louisiana David Schultz david.schultz@la.gov
Maine Samuel Roy samuel.roy@maine.gov
Maryland Chas Eby chas.eby@maryland.gov
Massachusetts David Bryant david.bryant@state.ma.us
Michigan Mike Sobocinski sobocinskim@michigan.gov
Minnesota Jenny Kane jenny.kane@state.mn.us
Mississippi Wilson Bell wbell@mema.ms.gov
Missouri Jeff Briggs jeff.briggs@sema.dps.mo.gov
Montana Andrew Long andrew.long@mt.gov
Nebraska John Gassman john.gassmann@nebraska.gov
Nevada Janell Woodward janell.woodward@dem.nv.gov
New Hampshire Megan Hoskins megan.a.hoskins@dos.nh.gov
New Jersey Christopher Tetsa lpptestc@gw.njsp.org
New Mexico Wendy Blackwell wendy.blackwell@state.nm.us
New York Jennifer Wacha Jennifer.Wacha@dhses.ny.gov
North Carolina Laura Youngman Laura.Youngman@ncdps.gov
North Dakota Todd Joersz tjoersz@nd.gov
Northern Mariana Islands Erin Derrington erin.derrington@opd.gov.mp
Ohio Jordan Sanderson jmsanderson@dps.ohio.gov
Oklahoma Mark Wegrzynski mark.wegrzynski@oem.ok.gov
Oregon Althea Rizzo althea.rizzo@oem.oregon.gov
Pennsylvania Tom Hughes thughes@state.pa.us
Puerto Rico Sarimar Hiraldo Principe shiraldo@dsp.pr.gov
Rhode Island Melinda Hopkins melinda.hopkins@ema.ri.gov
South Carolina Andrew Phillips aphillips@emd.sc.gov
South Dakota Jim Poppen jim.poppen@state.sd.us
Tennessee Zane Kennedy zane.kennedy@tn.gov
Texas Jim Guin Jim.Guin@tdem.texas.gov
Utah John Crofts jcrofts@utah.gov
Vermont Jon Kim jon.kim@vermont.gov
Virgin Islands Regina Browne regina.browne@vitema.vi.gov
Virginia Debbie Messmer debbie.messmer@vdem.virginia.gov
Washington Maximilian Dixon Maximilian.Dixon@mil.wa.gov
Washington D.C. Donte Lucas donte.lucas@dc.gov
West Virginia Brian Penix brian.m.penix@wv.gov
Wisconsin Katie Sommers katie.sommers@wisconsin.gov
Wyoming Ashley Paulsrud ashley.paulsrud@wyo.gov