Main Content

State Hazard Mitigation Officers

The Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMA's) Hazard Mitigation Assistance grant programs are provided to eligible applicant states/tribes/territories that, in turn, provide sub-grants to local governments. The applicant selects and prioritizes applications developed and submitted to them by local jurisdictions to submit to FEMA for grant funds. Prospective sub-applicants should consult the official designated point of contact for their applicant state/tribe/territory for further information regarding specific program and application requirements.

The State Hazard Mitigation Officers are listed below.

A

Alabama

Michael Johnson
Alabama Emergency Management Agency
5898 County Road 41
Clanton, AL  35046-2160
Phone: (205) 280-2276
Fax: (205) 280-2493
E-Mail: michael.johnson@ema.alabama.gov
Web Page: ema.alabama.gov

Alaska

Kevin Reeve
Department of Military and Veterans Affairs (DMVA)
Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management (DHS&EM)
P.O Box 5750
Fort Richardson, AK 99505-5750
Phone:  907-428-7045
E-Mail:  kevin.reeve@alaska.gov    
Web Page: ak-prepared.com

American Samoa

Lima Fiatoa
Office of Disaster Assistance
PO Box 997653
Pago Pago, AS  96799
Phone: (684) 699-6481
Fax: (684) 699-6414
E-Mail: lima.fiatoa@odapm.as.gov
Web page: americansamoa.gov

Arizona

Lucrecia "Lu" Hernandez
Arizona Department of Emergency and Military Affairs
Division of Emergency Management
5636 E. McDowell Road Buliding #M5101
Phoenix, Arizona 85008
Phone: (602) 464-6349
E-Mail: Lucrecia.Hernandez@azdema.gov
Web Page: dem.azdema.gov/

Arkansas

Lacye Blake
Department of Emergency Management
Building #9501 Camp JT Robinson
North Little Rock, AR 72199-9600
Phone: (501) 683-6700
Fax: (501) 683-7890
E-Mail: Lacye.Blake@adem.arkansas.gov
Web Page: adem.arkansas.gov

C

California

Jennifer L. Hogan
California Governor's Office of Emergency Services
3650 Shriever Avenue
Mather, CA 95655
Phone: (916) 845-8205
E-Mail: jennifer.hogan@caloes.ca.gov
Web Page: www.caloes.ca.gov

Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands

Vickie Villagomez
Emergency Management Office
P.O. Box 825
Saipan, MP 96950
Phone: (670) 322-9528
Fax: (670) 322-7743
E-Mail: vvvillagomez@gmail.com
Web Page: www.cnmihsem.gov.mp

Colorado

Steven Boand
Disaster Recovery Manager
Colorado Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management
9195 E Mineral Ave, #200
Centennial, CO 80112
Phone: (970) 385-1675 ext. 518306694
Fax: (720) 852-6750
E-Mail: steven.boand@state.co.us
Web Page: www.dhsem.state.co.us

Connecticut

Gemma Fabris, CFM
State Hazard Mitigation Officer
Connecticut Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection
Division of Emergency Management and Homeland Security
25 Sigourney Street
Hartford, CT  06106
Phone: (860) 256-0846
E-Mail: gemma.fabris@ct.gov
Web Page: www.ct.gov/despp/site/default.asp

D

Delaware

Arthur D. Paul
Delaware Emergency Management
165 Brick Store Landing Road
Smyrna, DE 19977
Phone: (302) 659-2253
Fax: (302) 659-6855
E-Mail: arthur.paul@state.de.us 
Web Page: dema.delaware.gov

District of Columbia

Nickea Bradley
Homeland Security and Emergency Management Agency
2720 Martin Luther King Jr. Avenue, SE
Washington, DC 20032
Phone: (202) 481-3058
E-Mail: nickea.bradley@dc.gov
Web Page: hsema.dc.gov

F

Florida

Miles Anderson
Florida Division of Emergency Management
2555 Shumard Oak Boulevard
Tallahassee, FL 32399
Phone: 850.413.9816
Fax: 850.488.1016
E-Mail: Miles.Anderson@em.myflorida.com
Web Page: www.floridadisaster.org

G

Georgia

Terry Lunn
Georgia Emergency Management Agency
Post Office Box 18055
Atlanta, GA 30316
Phone: (404) 635-7016
Fax: (404) 635-4572
E-Mail: terry.lunn@gema.ga.gov
Web Page: gema.ga.gov

Guam

Leo Espia
Guam Homeland Security
Office of Civil Defense
221B Chalan Palasyo
Agana Heights, Guam 96910
Phone: (671) 635-9790
Fax: (671) 477-3727
Email : leo.espia@ghs.guam.gov
Web Page: www.aahd.us/2012/03/guam-emergency-preparedness-resources/

H

Hawaii

David N. Kennard
State of Hawaii Department of Defense
3949 Diamond Head Road
Honolulu, HI 96816-4495
Phone: (808) 733-4300 x564
Fax: (808) 733-4137
E-Mail: david.n.kennard@hawaii.gov
Web Page: scd.hawaii.gov

I

Idaho

Susan Cleverley
Idaho Office of Emergency Management
4040 Guard St.Bldg. 600, Rm 222
Boise, ID  83705-5004
Phone:  208-422-6476
Email: scleverley@imd.idaho.gov
Web Page: BHS.idaho.gov

Illinois

Ron Davis
Illinois Emergency Management Agency
1035 Outer Park Drive
Springfield, IL 62704
Phone: (217) 524-1003
Fax: 217-782-8753
E-mail: ron.davis@illinois.gov
Web Page: state.il.us

Indiana

Mary Moran
Indiana Department of Homeland Security
Indiana Government Center South
302 West Washington Street, Room E-208A
Indianapolis, IN  46204-2767
Phone: 317-232-3831
Fax: 317-232-4987
E-Mail: mmoran@dhs.in.gov
Web Page: www.in.gov/dhs/

Iowa

Aimee Bartlett
Recovery Division
Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Department
7900 Hickman Road, Suite 500
Windsor Heights, IA 50324
Phone: (515) 725-9364
Fax: (515) 281-7539
Email: Aimee.Bartlett@iowa.gov
Web Page: www.iowahomelandsecurity.org

K

Kansas

Jacob Gray
Kansas Division of Emergency Management
2800 Southwest Topeka Blvd.
Topeka, KS 66611-1287
Phone: (785)274-1973
Fax: (785) 274-1426
E-Mail: jacob.s.gray.nfg@mail.mil 
Web Page: www.kansastag.gov/kdem

Kentucky

Geni Jo Brawner
Kentucky Division of Emergency Management
100 Airport Road, Third Floor
Frankfort, KY, 40601
Phone: (502) 607-5797
Email: geneva.j.brawner.nfg@mail.mil
Web page: kyem.ky.gov

L

Louisiana

Jeffrey Giering
Louisiana Governor’s Office of Homeland Security & Emergency Preparedness
7667 Independence Blvd.
Baton Rouge, LA 70806
Phone: (225) 267-2516
Email: jeffrey.giering@la.gov
Web page: Gohsep.la.gov

M

Maine

JoAnn Mooney
Maine Emergency Mgmt. Agency
72 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333
(address is for USPS mail only)
Phone: (207) 287-4437
Fax (207) 287-3178
Email: joann.e.mooney@maine.gov
Web Page: Maine.gov

Maryland

Maryland Emergency Management Agency
State Emergency Operations Center
5401 Rue Saint Lo Drive
Reisterstown, MD 21136
Phone: (410) 517-3649
Fax: (410) 517-3610
Web Page: Mema.state.md.us

Massachusetts

Joy Duperault
Department of Conservation & Recreation
251 Causeway Street
Boston, MA 02114
Phone: 617-626-1406
Email:joy.duperault@state.ma.us

Michigan

Matt Schnepp
Emergency Management and Homeland Security Division
Michigan State Police
PO Box 30634
Lansing, MI  48909
Phone: 517-284-3950
Fax: 517-284-3857
E-mail: schneppm1@michigan.gov
Web Page: http://www.michigan.gov/msp/0,4643,7-123-60152---,00.html

Minnesota

Jennifer Nelson
Minnesota Department of Public Safety
Homeland Security and Emergency Management
445 Minnesota Street, Suite 223
St. Paul, MN 55101-6223
Phone: 651-201-7427
Fax: 651-296-0459
E-mail: jennifer.e.nelson@state.mn.us
Web Page: Hsem.state.mn.us

Mississippi

Billy J. Patrick, CFM
Mississippi Emergency Mgmt. Agency
P.O. Box 5644
Pearl, MS 39288
Phone: 601-933-6607
Email: bpatrick@mema.ms.gov
Web page: www.Msema.org

Missouri

Elizabeth Weyrauch
Missouri State Emergency Management Agency
2302 Militia Dr.
Jefferson City, MO 65102
Phone: (573) 526-9375
Fax: (573) 526-9193
E-mail: elizabeth.weyrauch@sema.dps.mo.gov
Web Page: Sema.dps.mo.gov

Montana

Nadene Wadsworth
Montana Division of Disaster and Emergency Services
P.O. Box 4789
Ft. Harrison, MT 59636-4789
Phone: (406) 324-4785
Fax: (406) 324-4790
E-Mail: katwood@mt.gov
Web Page: Dma.mt.gov

N

Nebraska

Mary Baker
SHMO
Nebraska Emergency Management Agency
2433 NW 24th St
Lincoln, Nebraska 68524-1801
Phone: (402) 471-7185
Fax: (402) 471-7268
E-Mail: mary.baker@nebraska.gov
Web Page: Nema.ne.gov

Nevada

Janell Woodward
Department of Public Safety, Division of Emergency Management
2478 Fairview Drive
Carson City, NV 89701
Phone: (775) 687-0314
Cell: (775) 870-7111
Fax: (775) 687-0322
E-Mail: jwoodward@dps.state.nv.us
Web Page: Dem.nv.gov

New Hampshire

Heather Dunkerley
New Hampshire Homeland Security and Emergency Management
33 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305
Office: 603-223-3614
Fax: 603-223-3609
E-Mail: Heather.Dunkerley@dos.nh.gov
Web Page:www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/hsem

New Jersey

Sgt. Michael K Gallagher
New Jersey Office of Emergency Management
P.O. Box 7068, River Road
West Trenton, NJ 08628-0068
Phone:(609) 963-6900 ext. 6208 
Fax: (609) 530-3649
Email: http://ready.nj.gov/index.shtml
Web Page: State.nj.us/njoem

New Mexico

Wendy Blackwell
Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management, Preparedness Bureau
P.O. Box 27111
Santa Fe, NM 87502
Phone: (505) 476-9676
E-Mail: wendy.blackwell@state.nm.us
Web Page: http://nmdhsem.org

New York

Richard Lord
New York State Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Services
1220 Washington Avenue, Building 7A - Floor 4
Albany, NY 12242
Phone: (518) 292-2370
Fax: (518) 322-4983
E-Mail: Richard.Lord@dhses.ny.gov
Web Page: www.dhses.ny.gov/recovery

North Carolina

Chris Crew
North Carolina Department of Public Safety
4238 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699
Phone: (919) 825-2305
Email: jcrew@ncem.org
Web Page: www.ncdps.gov

North Dakota

Justin Messner
Division of Homeland Security, N.D. Department of Emergency Services
Fraine Barracks Lane - Building 35
PO Box 5511
Bismarck, N.D. 58504
Phone: (701) 328-8107
Fax: (701) 328-8181
Toll Free: (800) 773-3259
Email: jmessner@nd.gov
Web page: www.nd.gov/des/emergency

O

Ohio

Steven Ferryman, Mitigation Branch Chief
Ohio Department of Public Safety
2855 West Dublin-Granville Road
Columbus, Ohio  43235-2206
Phone: 614-799-3539
Fax: 614-799-3526
E-mail:  Email:  saferryman@dps.ohio.gov
Web Page: ema.Ohio.gov

Oklahoma

Matthew Rollins
Oklahoma Emergency Management Agency
2401 N. Lincoln Blvd.
Oklahoma City, OK  73152-3365
Phone: (405) 521- 3140
Fax: (405) 521-4053
E-Mail: matthew.rollins@oem.ok.gov
Web Page: http://www.ok.gov/OEM/

Oregon

Angie Lane
State Hazard Mitigation Officer
OMD/Office of Emergency Management
Physical Office Location (also for FedEx, UPS):
3225 State Street, Room 115
Salem, OR  97301
Mailing Address:
PO Box 14370
Salem, OR  97309-5062
Phone:  (503) 378-4660
Email: angie.lane@mil.state.or.us
Web Page: Oregon.gov

P

Pennsylvania

Tom Hughes
Pennsylvania Emergency Management Agency
1310 Elmerton Avenue
Harrisburg, PA 17110
Phone: (717) 651-2726
Fax: (717) 651-2150
E-Mail: thughes@pa.gov
Web Page: pema.state.pa.us

Puerto Rico

Carel Velazquez Pola
Puerto Rico Emergency Management Agency
Post Office Box 194140
San Juan, Puerto Rico  00919-4140
Phone: (787) 724-0124
Email : cvelazquez@prema.pr.gov

R

Rhode Island

Jess Henry
RI Emergency Mgmt. Agency
645 New London Ave
Cranston, RI  02920
Phone: (401) 462-7532
Fax (401) 944-1891
Email: jessica.henry@ema.ri.gov
Web Page: sos.ri.gov

S

South Carolina

Allen Fountain
South Carolina Emergency Management Division
2779 Fish Hatchery Road
West Columbia, SC 29172
Phone: (803) 413-5242
E-mail: afountain@emd.sc.gov
Web Page:  www.scemd.org

South Dakota

Jim Poppen
South Dakota Division of Emergency Management
118 West Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD  57501
Phone: (605) 773-3231
Fax: (605) 773-3580
E-Mail: Jim.poppen@state.sd.us
Web Page: oem.sd.gov

T

Tennessee

Douglas Worden
Tennessee Emergency Management Agency
3041 Sidco Drive
Nashville, Tennessee 37204
Phone: (615) 741-1345
Fax: (615) 532-9222
E-mail: dworden@tnema.org 
Web Page: www.tnema.org

Texas

For the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program and the Pre-Disaster Mitigation Assistance program:

Dave Jackson, CEM
Texas Division of Emergency Management
P.O. Box 4087
Austin, TX 78773-0226
Phone: (512) 424-5489
Fax: (512) 424-2444
E-mail: David.Jackson@dps.texas.gov
Web Page: www.txdps.state.tx.us/dem/

For the Flood Mitigation Assistance program:

Kathy Hopkins
Texas Water Development Board
1700 North Congress Avenue
Austin, TX  78701
Phone: (512) 463-6198
Email: kathy.hopkins@twdb.texas.gov
Web Page:  www.twdb.texas.gov/flood

U

Utah

Brad Bartholomew
Utah Department of Public Safety
Box 141710
110 State Office Building
Salt Lake City, UT 84114
Phone: (801) 538-3769
Cell Phone: (801) 330-4461
E-mail: bbart@utah.gov
Web Page: https://dem.utah.gov

V

Vermont

Lauren Oates
Vermont Division of Emergency Management & Homeland Security
45 State Drive
Waterbury, VT 05671
Phone: (802) 241-5258
Fax (802) 241-5556
Email: lauren.oates@vermont.gov
Web Page: http://vem.vermont.gov

Virginia

Robbie Coates, CFM
Grants Manager, Disaster Programs
Finance Division
Virginia Department of Emergency Management
10501 Trade Court
North Chesterfield, VA 23236
Phone: (804) 897-9766
Fax: (804) 897-6506
E-Mail: robert.coates@vdem.virginia.gov
Web Page: VAemergency.com

Virgin Islands

Emerito Torres
Virgin Islands Territorial Emergency Management Agency
2164 Kingcross St.
Christiansted, St. Croix, USVI 00820
Phone: (340) 773-2244
E-Mail:  emerito.torres@vitema.vi.gov
Web Page: http://www.vitema.gov/mitigation/index.html

W

Washington

Tim Cook
Washington Emergency Management
MS: TA-20, Bldg 20
Camp Murray, WA 98430-5122
Phone: (253) 512-7072
Fax: (253) 512-7207
E-Mail: tim.cook@mil.wa.gov
Web Page: https://mil.wa.gov/emergency-management-division

West Virginia

Brian Penix
1900 Kanawha Blvd. E
Building 1 Room EB-80
Charleston, WV 25305-0360
Phone: 304-957-2572
Fax: 304-965-3216
E-Mail: brian.m.penix@wv.gov
Web Page: http://www.dhsem.wv.gov/Grants/Pages/default.aspx

Wisconsin

Katie Sommers
Wisconsin Emergency Management
2400 Wright Street
P.O. Box 7865
Madison, WI 53707-7865
Phone: (608)-242-3222
Fax: (608) 242-3248
E-Mail: katie.sommers@wisconsin.gov
Web Page: http://emergencymanagement.wi.gov/mitigation/default.asp

Wyoming

Melinda Gibson
Wyoming Office of Homeland Security
Herschler Building, First Floor East
122 West 25th Street
Cheyenne, WY 82002
Phone: (307) 777-4914
Fax: (307) 635-6017
Email: melinda.gibson@wyo.gov
Web Page: http://wyohomelandsecurity.state.wy.us/grants/mitigation_grants.aspx

 

Last Updated: 
02/14/2018 - 13:44