Main Content

State Hazard Mitigation Officers

The Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMA's) Hazard Mitigation Assistance grant programs are provided to eligible applicant states/tribes/territories that, in turn, provide sub-grants to local governments. The applicant selects and prioritizes applications developed and submitted to them by local jurisdictions to submit to FEMA for grant funds. Prospective sub-applicants should consult the official designated point of contact for their applicant state/tribe/territory for further information regarding specific program and application requirements.

The State Hazard Mitigation Officers are listed below.

A

Alabama

Michael Johnson
Alabama Emergency Management Agency
5898 County Road 41
Clanton, Alabama  35046-2160
Phone: (205) 280-2276
Fax: (205) 280-2493
E-Mail: Michael.Johnson@ema.alabama.gov
Web Page: ema.alabama.gov

Alaska

Brent A. Nichols
Department of Military and Veterans Affairs
Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management
P.O Box 5750
JBER, Alaska 99505-5750
Phone:  907-428-7085
Fax: (907) 428-7009
E-Mail:  brent.nichols@alaska.gov    
Web Page: www.ready.alaska.gov

American Samoa

Lima Fiatoa
Office of Disaster Assistance
PO Box 997653
Pago Pago, American Samoa  96799
Phone: (684) 699-6481
Fax: (684) 699-6414
E-Mail: lima.fiatoa@odapm.as.gov
Web page: americansamoa.gov

Arizona

Lucrecia "Lu" Hernandez
Arizona Department of Emergency and Military Affairs
Division of Emergency Management
5636 E. McDowell Road Buliding #M5101
Phoenix, Arizona 85008
Phone: (602) 464-6349
E-Mail: Lucrecia.Hernandez@azdema.gov
Web Page: dem.azdema.gov/

Arkansas

For the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program and the Pre-Disaster Mitigation program: 

Lacye Blake
Department of Emergency Management
Building #9501 Camp JT Robinson
North Little Rock, Arkansas 72199-9600
Phone: (501) 683-6724
Fax: (501) 683-7890
E-Mail: Lacye.Blake@adem.arkansas.gov
Web Page: adem.arkansas.gov

For the Flood Mitigation Assistance program:

Veronica Villalobos-Pogue
Arkansas Natural Resources Commission
101 E. Capitol, Suite 350
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201
Phone: (501) 682-3982
Fax: (501) 628-3991
E-Mail: veronica.villalobos-pogue@arkansas.gov
Web Page: adem.arkansas.gov

C

California

Jennifer L. Hogan
California Governor's Office of Emergency Services
3650 Shriever Avenue
Mather, California 95655
Phone: (916) 845-8205
E-Mail: jennifer.hogan@caloes.ca.gov
Web Page: www.caloes.ca.gov

Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands

Vickie Villagomez
Emergency Management Office
P.O. Box 825
Saipan, MP 96950
Phone: (670) 322-9528
Fax: (670) 322-7743
E-Mail: vvvillagomez@gmail.com
Web Page: www.cnmihsem.gov.mp

Colorado

Steven Boand
Disaster Recovery Manager
Colorado Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management
9195 E Mineral Ave, #200
Centennial, Colorado 80112
Phone: (970) 385-1675 ext. 518306694
Fax: (720) 852-6750
E-Mail: steven.boand@state.co.us
Web Page: www.dhsem.state.co.us

Connecticut

Ken Dumais
Connecticut Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection
Division of Emergency Management and Homeland Security
1111 County Club Road
Hartford, Connecticut  06106
Phone: (860) 685-8151
E-Mail: Kenneth.dumais@ct.gov
Web Page: www.ct.gov/despp/site/default.asp

D

Delaware

Damaris Slawik
Delaware Emergency Management Agency
165 Brick Store Landing Road
Smyrna, Delaware 19977
Phone: (302) 659-2218
Fax: (302) 659-6855
E-Mail: Damaris.Slawik@state.de.us 
Web Page: dema.delaware.gov

District of Columbia

Nickea Bradley
Homeland Security and Emergency Management Agency
2720 Martin Luther King Jr. Avenue, SE
Washington, DC 20032
Phone: (202) 313-8768
E-Mail: nickea.bradley@dc.gov
Web Page: hsema.dc.gov

F

Florida

Miles Anderson
Florida Division of Emergency Management
2555 Shumard Oak Boulevard
Tallahassee, Florida 32399
Phone: 850.413.9816
Fax: 850.488.1016
E-Mail: Miles.Anderson@em.myflorida.com
Web Page: www.floridadisaster.org

G

Georgia

Terry Lunn
Georgia Emergency Management Agency
Post Office Box 18055
Atlanta, Georgia 30316
Phone: (404) 635-7016
Fax: (404) 635-4572
E-Mail: terry.lunn@gema.ga.gov
Web Page: gema.ga.gov

Guam

Leo Espia
Guam Homeland Security
Office of Civil Defense
221B Chalan Palasyo
Agana Heights, Guam 96910
Phone: (671) 635-9790
Fax: (671) 477-3727
Email : leo.espia@ghs.guam.gov
Web Page: www.aahd.us/2012/03/guam-emergency-preparedness-resources/

H

Hawaii

Larry Kanda
Acting State Hazard Mitigation Officer
State of Hawaii
Hawaii Emergency Mangement Agency
3949 Diamond Head Road
Honolulu, Hawaii 96816-4495
Phone: (808) 733-4301 x516
Fax: (808) 733-4137
E-Mail: larry.kanda@hawaii.gov
Web Page: scd.hawaii.gov

I

Idaho

Susan Cleverley
Idaho Office of Emergency Management
4040 Guard St.Bldg. 600, Rm 222
Boise, Idaho  83705-5004
Phone:  208-422-6476
Email: scleverley@imd.idaho.gov
Web Page: BHS.idaho.gov

Illinois

Sam M. AL-Basha
Illinois Emergency Management Agency
1035 Outer Park Drive
Springfield, Illinois 62704
Phone: (217) 785-9942
Fax: 217-782-8753
E-mail: sam.m.al-basha@illinois.gov
Web Page: state.il.us

Indiana

Torrey Glover
Indiana Department of Homeland Security
Indiana Government Center South
302 West Washington Street, Room E-208A
Indianapolis, Indiana  46204-2767
Phone: 317-234-6556
Fax: 317-232-4987
E-Mail: tglover@dhs.in.gov
Web Page: www.in.gov/dhs/

Iowa

Aimee Bartlett
Recovery Division
Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Department
7900 Hickman Road, Suite 500
Windsor Heights, Iowa 50324
Phone: (515) 725-9364
Fax: (515) 281-7539
Email: Aimee.Bartlett@iowa.gov
Web Page: www.iowahomelandsecurity.org

K

Kansas

Bryan Murdie
Acting State Hazard Mitigation Officer
Kansas Division of Emergency Management
2800 Southwest Topeka Blvd.
Topeka, Kansas 66611-1287
Phone: (785) 646-1431
Fax: (785) 274-1426
E-Mail: bryan.d.murdie.nfg@mail.mil 
Web Page: www.kansastag.gov/kdem

Kentucky

Geni Jo Brawner
Kentucky Division of Emergency Management
100 Airport Road, Third Floor
Frankfort, Kentucky 40601
Phone: (502) 607-5797
Email: geneva.j.brawner.nfg@mail.mil
Web page: kyem.ky.gov

L

Louisiana

Jeffrey Giering
Louisiana Governor’s Office of Homeland Security & Emergency Preparedness
7667 Independence Blvd.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70806
Phone: (225) 267-2516
Email: jeffrey.giering@la.gov
Web page: Gohsep.la.gov

M

Maine

Anne Fuchs
Maine Emergency Mgmt. Agency
72 State House Station
Augusta, Maine 04333
(address is for USPS mail only)
(Physical Address)
45 Commerce Drive, Suite 2
Augusta, Maine 04333
Phone: (207) 624-4466
Fax (207) 287-3178
Email: anne.p.fuchs@maine.gov
Web Page: Maine.gov

Maryland

JaLeesa Tate
Disaster Risk Reduction
Maryland Emergency Management Agency
5401 Rue Saint Lo Drive
Reisterstown, Maryland 21136
Phone: (410) 517-3617
Cell: (443) 900-0073
Web Page: Mema.state.md.us

Massachusetts

Sarah White
Massachusetts Emergency Management Agency
400 Worcester Road
Framingham, Massachusetts 02114
Phone: 508-820-2053
Email: sarah.white@state.ma.us
Webpage: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/massachusetts-emergency-management-agency

Michigan

Matt Schnepp
Emergency Management and Homeland Security Division
Michigan State Police
PO Box 30634
Lansing, Michigan  48909
Phone: 517-284-3950
Fax: 517-284-3857
E-mail: schneppm1@michigan.gov
Web Page: http://www.michigan.gov/msp/0,4643,7-123-60152---,00.html

Minnesota

Jennifer Nelson
Minnesota Department of Public Safety
Homeland Security and Emergency Management
445 Minnesota Street, Suite 223
St. Paul, Minnesota 55101-6223
Phone: 651-201-7427
Fax: 651-296-0459
E-mail: jennifer.e.nelson@state.mn.us
Web Page: Hsem.state.mn.us

Mississippi

Jana Henderson
Mississippi Emergency Management Agency
P.O. Box 5644
Pearl, Mississippi 39288
Phone: 601-933-6636
Email: jhenderson@mema.ms.gov
Web page: www.Msema.org

Missouri

Heidi Carver
Missouri State Emergency Management Agency
2302 Militia Dr.
Jefferson City, Missouri 65102
Phone: (573) 526-9116
Fax: (573) 526-9193
E-mail: heidi.carver@sema.dps.mo.gov
Web Page: Sema.dps.mo.gov

Montana

Jake Ganieany
Montana Division of Disaster and Emergency Services
P.O. Box 4789
Ft. Harrison, Montana 59636-4789
Phone: (406) 324-4776
Fax: (406) 324-4790
E-Mail: Jake.Ganieany@mt.gov
Web Page: Dma.mt.gov

N

Nebraska

Nicholas R. Walsh
Nebraska Emergency Management Agency
2433 N.W. 24th St
Lincoln, Nebraska 68524-1801
Phone: (402) 471-7205
Fax: (402) 471-7433
E-Mail: nicholas.walsh@nebraska.gov
Web Page: Nema.ne.gov

Nevada

Janell Woodward
Department of Public Safety, Division of Emergency Management
2478 Fairview Drive
Carson City, Nevada 89701
Phone: (775) 687-0314
Cell: (775) 870-7111
Fax: (775) 687-0322
E-Mail: jwoodward@dps.state.nv.us
Web Page: Dem.nv.gov

New Hampshire

Whitney Welch
New Hampshire Homeland Security and Emergency Management
(Mailing Address)
33 Hazen Drive
Concord, New Hampshire 03305
(Physical Address)
110 Smokey Bear Blvd
Concord, New Hampshire 03301
Office: 603-223-3667
Fax: 603-223-3609
E-Mail: whitney.welch@dos.nh.gov
Web Page:www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/hsem

New Jersey

SFC Bradley Waugh
New Jersey Office of Emergency Management
P.O. Box 7068, River Road
West Trenton, New Jersey 08628-0068
Phone: (609) 963-6900 ext. 6208 
Fax: (609) 530-3649
Email: http://ready.nj.gov/index.shtml
Web Page: State.nj.us/njoem

New Mexico

Wendy Blackwell
Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management, Preparedness Bureau
P.O. Box 27111
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87502
Phone: (505) 476-9676
E-Mail: wendy.blackwell@state.nm.us
Web Page: http://nmdhsem.org

New York

Anne Bink
New York State Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Services
1220 Washington Avenue, Building 7A - Floor 4
Albany, New York 12242
Phone: (518) 292-2324
E-Mail: Anne.Bink@dhses.ny.gov
Web Page: www.dhses.ny.gov/recovery

North Carolina

Steve McGugan
Division of Emergency Management
North Carolina Department of Public Safety
4238 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-4238
Office: (919) 825-2314
Cell: (919) 971-1290
Email: Steve.McGugan@ncdps.gov
Web Page: www.ncdps.gov

North Dakota

Todd Joersz
Division of Homeland Security, N.D. Department of Emergency Services
Fraine Barracks Lane - Building 35
PO Box 5511
Bismarck, North Dakota 58504
Phone: (701) 328-8261
Fax: (701) 328-8181
Toll Free: (800) 773-3259
Email: tjoersz@nd.gov
Web page: www.nd.gov/des/emergency

O

Ohio

Steven Ferryman
Ohio Department of Public Safety
2855 West Dublin-Granville Road
Columbus, Ohio  43235-2206
Phone: 614-799-3539
Fax: 614-799-3526
E-mail:  Email:  saferryman@dps.ohio.gov
Web Page: ema.Ohio.gov

Oklahoma

Matthew Rollins
Oklahoma Emergency Management Agency
Physical Office Location:
2401 Lincoln Blvd. - Suite C51
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma  73105
Mailing Address:
PO Box 53365
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73152-3365
Phone: (405) 521- 3140
Fax: (405) 521-4053
E-Mail: matthew.rollins@oem.ok.gov
Web Page: http://www.ok.gov/OEM/

Oregon

Angie Lane
Oregon Military Department
Office of Emergency Management
Physical Office Location (also for FedEx, UPS):
3225 State Street, Room 115
Salem, Oregon  97301
Mailing Address:
PO Box 14370
Salem, Oregon  97309-5062
Phone:  (503) 378-4660
Email: angie.lane@mil.state.or.us
Web Page: Oregon.gov

P

Pennsylvania

Tom Hughes
Pennsylvania Emergency Management Agency
1310 Elmerton Avenue
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17110
Phone: (717) 651-2726
Fax: (717) 651-2150
E-Mail: thughes@pa.gov
Web Page: pema.state.pa.us

Puerto Rico

William Cruz
Governor's Authorized Representative Office
Central Office of Recovery, Reconstruction & Resilience
Post Office Box 195014
San Juan, Puerto Rico  00918-5014
Phone: (787) 273-8205
E-Mail:  wcruz@cor3.pr.gov

 

R

Rhode Island

Melinda Hopkins
Rhode Island Emergency Mgmt. Agency
645 New London Ave
Cranston, Rhode Island  02920
Phone:  (401) 462-7141 
Fax:  (401) 944-1891
Email:  melinda.hopkins@ema.ri.gov
Web Page:  sos.ri.gov

S

South Carolina

Allen Fountain
South Carolina Emergency Management Division
2779 Fish Hatchery Road
West Columbia, South Carolina 29172
Phone: (803) 413-5242
E-mail: afountain@emd.sc.gov
Web Page:  www.scemd.org

South Dakota

Jim Poppen
South Dakota Division of Emergency Management
221 Central Avenue
Pierre, South Dakota  57501
Phone: (605) 773-3231
Fax: (605) 773-3580
E-Mail: Jim.poppen@state.sd.us
Web Page: oem.sd.gov

T

Tennessee

Douglas Worden
Tennessee Emergency Management Agency
3041 Sidco Drive
Nashville, Tennessee 37204
Phone: (615) 741-1345
Fax: (615) 532-9222
E-mail: douglas.worden@tn.gov
Web Page: www.tnema.org

Texas

For the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program and the Pre-Disaster Mitigation Assistance program:

Dave Jackson
Texas Division of Emergency Management
P.O. Box 4087
Austin, Texas 78773-0226
Phone: (512) 424-5489
Fax: (512) 424-2444
E-mail: David.Jackson@dps.texas.gov
Web Page: www.txdps.state.tx.us/dem/

For the Flood Mitigation Assistance program:

Kathy Hopkins
Texas Water Development Board
1700 North Congress Avenue
Austin, Texas  78701
Phone: (512) 463-6198
Email: kathy.hopkins@twdb.texas.gov
Web Page:  www.twdb.texas.gov/flood

U

Utah

Brad Bartholomew
Utah Department of Public Safety
Box 141710
110 State Office Building
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114
Phone: (801) 538-3769
Cell Phone: (801) 330-4461
E-mail: bbart@utah.gov
Web Page: https://dem.utah.gov

V

Vermont

Lauren Oates
Vermont Division of Emergency Management & Homeland Security
45 State Drive
Waterbury, Vermont 05671
Phone: (802) 241-5258
Fax (802) 241-5556
Email: lauren.oates@vermont.gov
Web Page: http://vem.vermont.gov

Virginia

Robbie Coates
Grants Manager, Disaster Programs
Finance Division
Virginia Department of Emergency Management
10501 Trade Court
North Chesterfield, Virginia 23236
Phone: (804) 897-9766
Fax: (804) 897-6506
E-Mail: robert.coates@vdem.virginia.gov
Web Page: VAemergency.com

Virgin Islands

Emerito Torres
Virgin Islands Territorial Emergency Management Agency
2164 Kingcross St.
Christiansted, St. Croix, USVI 00820
Phone: (340) 773-2244
E-Mail:  emerito.torres@vitema.vi.gov
Web Page: http://www.vitema.gov/mitigation/index.html

W

Washington

Tim Cook
Washington Emergency Management
MS: TA-20, Bldg 20
Camp Murray, Washington 98430-5122
Phone: (253) 512-7072
Fax: (253) 512-7207
E-Mail: tim.cook@mil.wa.gov
Web Page: https://mil.wa.gov/emergency-management-division

West Virginia

Brian Penix
1900 Kanawha Blvd. E
Building 1 Room EB-80
Charleston, West Virgina 25305-0360
Phone: 304-957-2572
Fax: 304-965-3216
E-Mail: brian.m.penix@wv.gov
Web Page: http://www.dhsem.wv.gov/Grants/Pages/default.aspx

Wisconsin

Robyn Fennig
Wisconsin Emergency Management
2400 Wright Street
P.O. Box 7865
Madison, Wisconsin 53707-7865
Phone: (608) 888-5292
Fax: (608) 242-3248
E-Mail: robyn.fennig@wisconsin.gov
Web Page: http://emergencymanagement.wi.gov/mitigation/default.asp

Wyoming

Melinda Gibson
Wyoming Office of Homeland Security
Herschler Building, First Floor East
122 West 25th Street
Cheyenne, Wyoming 82002
Phone: (307) 777-4914
Fax: (307) 635-6017
Email: melinda.gibson@wyo.gov
Web Page: http://wyohomelandsecurity.state.wy.us/grants/mitigation_grants.aspx

 

Last Updated: 
10/17/2019 - 07:52