Main Content

Special Flood Hazard Area

The purpose of this page is to define a Special Flood Hazard Area (SFHA), a commonly used term in floodplain management.


The land area covered by the floodwaters of the base flood is the Special Flood Hazard Area (SFHA) on NFIP maps. The SFHA is the area where the National Flood Insurance Program's (NFIP's) floodplain management regulations must be enforced and the area where the mandatory purchase of flood insurance applies. The SFHA includes Zones A, AO, AH, A1-30, AE, A99, AR, AR/A1-30, AR/AE, AR/AO, AR/AH, AR/A, VO, V1-30, VE, and V.

National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) Requirement


Related Keywords

Last Updated: 
05/23/2019 - 08:51