Main Content

Regional Earthquake Consortia

The National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program (NEHRP) pioneered the concept of regional and community hazard reduction alliances to advocate for seismic safety and place earthquakes on the public agenda. Today, FEMA supports four regional nonprofit consortia focused on raising awareness and reducing losses from earthquakes in their regions through sustained outreach, partnership-building efforts and the mobilization of public support for loss reduction.

  • Cascadia Region Earthquake Workgroup (CREW) 
    Established in 1996, CREW is a coalition of private and public representatives working together to increase the ability of Cascadia Region communities in British Columbia, California, Oregon and Washington to reduce the effects of earthquake events. CREW is headquartered in Seattle, Washington.
  • Central United States Earthquake Consortium (CUSEC)
    CUSEC is a partnership of the federal government and the states most affected by earthquakes in the New Madrid Seismic Zone: Alabama, Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Mississippi, Missouri and Tennessee. Ten adjacent states also participate as associates in CUSEC (Georgia, Iowa, Louisiana, Nebraska, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina and Virginia). CUSEC was established in 1983 and is headquartered in Memphis, Tennessee.
  • Northeast States Emergency Consortium (NESEC)
    NESEC works with federal, state and local partners to promote all-hazards emergency management activities throughout the Northeast. Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island and Vermont form NESEC, which was established in 1991. NESEC is headquartered in Wakefield, Massachusetts.
  • Western States Seismic Policy Council (WSSPC)
    WSSPC members include the directors of the geological surveys and emergency management agencies from 13 western states (Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming), three U.S. territories (American Samoa, Guam and Northern Mariana Islands), a Canadian territory (Yukon Territory) and a Canadian province (British Columbia). The membership also includes a representative from each of the seven state seismic safety councils and commissions currently operating in the western states.
Last Updated: 
05/17/2019 - 17:51