U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.

Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on a federal government site.


The site is secure.

The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.


After a period of suspension from the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) for failure to adopt or enforce floodplain management regulations or for repealing or amending previously compliant floodplain management regulations, a community may be reinstated into the Program. Certain conditions may be imposed upon its participation prior to and after reinstatement. Flood insurance is available in communities that have been reinstated. A community may be reinstated on probationary status; however, an additional charge of $50.00 will be added to the premium for each new or renewed policy for a period of at least of one year.

During a community's ineligibility if any action have been permitted to take place that aggravate existing flood hazards, FEMA may withhold reinstatement until the community submits evidence that it has taken action to remedy increased hazards to the maximum extent possible. FEMA can also place a reinstated community on probation. Also, a structure built in a Regular Program community during a period of suspension is considered new construction and, therefore, is charged actuarial rates.

National Flood Insurance Program Requirements

  • 59.24 - Suspension of community eligibility
    • (c) - Suspension for Failure to Enforce Regulations
    • (f) - General Reinstatement Requirements
Glossary Section
NFIP - National Flood Insurance Program
Last updated Jul 7, 2020