Higher Standard

Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has established minimum floodplain management requirements for communities participating in the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). Communities must also enforce any more restrictive state requirements. Any community may exceed the minimum standards by adopting more comprehensive floodplain management regulations. In some instances, community officials may have access to information or knowledge of conditions that require, particularly for human safety, higher standards than the minimum NFIP criteria. Any floodplain management regulations adopted by a state or community which are more restrictive than the criteria set forth in the NFIP regulations are encouraged and shall take precedence. Communities that exceed the minimum requirements of the NFIP may be eligible to participate in the Community Rating System (CRS).

The NFIP requires that communities at least consider additional measures in developing comprehensive management plans for flood-prone areas.

National Flood Insurance Program Requirements

  • 60.1 - Purpose of subpart
    • (d) - Precedence Clause
  • 60.22 - Planning considerations for flood-prone areas
Last updated