Main Content

Region VII

Recovery Team relies on 500 years of Engineering Experience

Lincoln, NE. -- Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) hires recently retired US Army Corp of Engineers (USACE) engineers to expand the technical capabilities of emergency managers and speed recovery from the March storms and flooding in Nebraska.


Individual Assistance Now Available Until June 19 for Nebraskans

LINCOLN, Neb. – At the request of Governor Pete Ricketts, homeowners, renters and business owners in Nebraska counties designated for federal assistance now have until June 19 to register for federal assistance.


FEMA Public Assistance Deadline Extended

LINCOLN, Neb. –The deadline to file a Request for Public Assistance (RPA) has been extended until June 20, 2019.  


Two Disaster Recovery Centers in Dodge and Sarpy Counties Will Transition to Disaster Loan Outreach Centers

LINCOLN, Neb. – The Disaster Recovery Centers in Fremont and Bellevue, operated by the State of Nebraska and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), will close at 6 p.m. May 17, and reopen Monday, May 20, as Disaster Loan Outreach Centers operated by the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA).


The Dodge County Center location will reopen at:

All Nebraska Disaster Recovery Centers Close May 17

LINCOLN, Neb. – Effective Friday, May 17, all the State of Nebraska and Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Disaster Recovery Centers (DRC) will close. 


There is always help available.  After a DRC closes, survivors can still get help by contacting FEMA in these ways:

What Happens After You Register With FEMA

DES MOINES, Iowa – Many residents of Louisa and Scott counties who sustained damage during the recent flooding realize that state and federal disaster assistance is only a phone call away. Many of those individuals, however, are unaware of what happens after they register with FEMA.

FEMA registration is quick and easy. There are multiple ways to register:

How to Register for Disaster Assistance

DES MOINES, Iowa – Residents of Louisa and Scott counties whose homes are damaged, unsafe, or inaccessible because of recent flooding have resources available to help on the road to recovery.

They join fellow Iowans in seven counties already designated for federal assistance to individuals: Fremont, Harrison, Mills, Monona, Pottawattamie, Shelby and Woodbury. The deadline for applying for assistance is July 1, 2019.

FEMA y SBA proveen casi $78 millones para la recuperación de Nebraska

LINCOLN, Neb. – Seis semanas después de la declaración federal de desastre por la tormenta invernal severa, los vientos en línea recta y las inundaciones, los residentes de Nebraska ya han recibido $77.6 millones para ayudar en la recuperación.


Avoid Another Disaster: Beware of Fraud

DES MOINES, Iowa – Scams seem to follow disasters. Don’t let your guard down and suffer another disaster such as identity theft or paying fees for services that are never provided.

Remember, FEMA never charges for services nor does it endorse any commercial business, product or service. All federal employees have an official badge/ID. Ask to see it.

The following are some common post-disaster fraud practices to avoid.

Fraudulent building contractors.
When hiring a contractor, the Iowa Attorney General suggests:

Federal Disaster Assistance Is for Nebraska Renters, Too

LINCOLN, Neb. – Renters in Nebraska counties and tribal areas whose homes and property were damaged by the March severe winter storms, straight-line winds and flooding may be eligible for federal disaster assistance.