National Dam Safety Program Resources for States

Your state is helping to protect you from dam failure. State governments regulate 80 percent of the approximately 87,000 dams listed in the National Inventory of Dams (NID). The NID is a congressionally authorized database, which documents dams in the U.S. and its territories. The database contains information about the dam’s location, size, purpose, type, last inspection, regulatory facts and other technical data. The information contained in the NID is updated approximately every two years and is maintained and published by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE), in cooperation with the Association of State Dam Safety Officials (ASDSO), the states and territories and federal dam-regulating agencies.

About 14,726 dams in the United States are classified as high-hazard potential, meaning that their failure from any means, including a terrorist attack, could result in loss of life, significant property damage, lifeline disruption and environmental damage. Visit the NID to find out if you live in an area at risk from dam failure.

State Dam Safety Programs

Although state programs vary in the scope of their authority, program activities typically provide for:

  • Evaluation of existing dams,
  • Review of plans and specifications for dam construction and major repairs,
  • Periodic inspections of construction on new and existing dams, and
  • Review and approval of Emergency Action Plans.

The Association of State Dam Safety Officials (ASDSO) is FEMA's primary partner in the National Dam Safety Program (NDSP) and serves as the official voice for state dam safety. To learn more about programs in your state, visit the ASDSO web site.

feature_mini img

Sign up for dam safety emails.

Last updated