alert - warning

This page has not been translated into Français. Visit the Français page for resources in that language.

How do I know if my area is eligible for assistance?

The disaster declaration designates which areas are eligible to receive Federal assistance. To see if your area has been declared:

  1. Visit
  2. Enter your city or zip code into the look-up box.
  3. Find your county/parish under “declared counties.”

FEMA disaster assistance applications are typically accepted for 60 days from the date of the disaster declaration, but the application deadline may be extended further in some disasters.