alert - warning

This page has not been translated into Français. Visit the Français page for resources in that language.

Recovery Support Functions

The NDRF identifies six Recovery Support Functions (RSF) as the coordinating structure for key areas of recovery assistance. Their purpose is to support local governments by facilitating problem solving, improving access to resources, and fostering coordination among state, tribal, territorial and federal agencies, nongovernmental partners, and stakeholders.

The RSFs bring together the core recovery capabilities of federal departments and agencies and other supporting organizations — including those not active in emergency response — to focus on community recovery needs.

During steady-state planning and when activated post-disaster, RSFs identify recovery challenges, contribute resources and solutions, facilitate local stakeholder participation, and promote intergovernmental and public-private partnerships.

Community Assistance

FEMA coordinates the Community Assistance RSF.

The Community Recovery Management Toolkit is designed to help communities manage long-term recovery. The toolkit guides you through a three-step process of organizing, planning and managing recovery.

The objective of the RSFs is to facilitate the identification, coordination and delivery of federal assistance to local, state, tribal and territorial governments and the private and nonprofit sectors, accelerating the process of recovery, redevelopment and revitalization.

Recovery Support Function Overviews

Learn about the objectives and coordinating agencies for each of the six RSFs.

Infrastructure Systems Recovery Support Function

The Infrastructure Systems RSF serves as a collaborative forum for federal government engagement with states, local governments, tribes, and territories (SLTT) as well as private sector representatives to focus on public engineering services that can reduce risks from disasters and expedite recovery.

Economic Recovery Support Function

After a disaster strikes, communities are often faced with a complex and difficult recovery process. The Economic RSF supports states, localities, tribes, and territories’ (SLTT) return to a state of economic health and development of new economic opportunities that result in a sustainable, economically resilient community.

Natural & Cultural Resources Recovery Support Function

The Natural & Cultural Resources RSF coordinates departments and agencies working together to provide information and assistance to communities seeking to preserve, protect, conserve, rehabilitate, recover and restore natural and cultural resources during recovery.

Health and Social Services Recovery Support Function

The Health and Social Services RSF restores and improves health and social services networks to promote the resilience, health, independence, and well-being of the whole community pre- and post-disaster. The HSS RSF implements the federal framework to support locally led recovery efforts focused on health care systems, human services, behavioral health, public health/environmental health, and education.

Community Assistance Recovery Support Function

After a disaster, communities must lead complex efforts to recover. The Community Assistance RSF supports tribes and localities by building relationships, providing training, and supporting efforts to plan, prioritize, and implement their recovery goals and objectives.

Housing Recovery Support Function

The Housing RSF works toward addressing disaster housing issues, focusing on solutions that are feasible, sustainable, and resilient. As states and communities look to the federal government for assistance in housing both disaster survivors and others who choose to live in recovering communities, the Housing RSF coordinates and effectively integrates available housing-related resources, addresses conflicting policy/program issues, and identifies gaps in service and assistance delivery.